LSE Researcher Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

LSE Researcher Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
LSE CEO Judith Rees (no image)
Judith Rees
4 Ratings
  1. "Work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Research Intern in London, England

    I have been working at LSE for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work experience and great guidance from supervisors

    Cons

    There is not much to complaint....

    LSE2019-08-16
  2. "Good experience overall with the IGC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Coordinator 

    I worked at LSE part-time

    Pros

    Intelligent people and friendly Good intellectual exchange Nice staff activities Good networking opportunities across whole school

    Cons

    Part time/ hourly paid staff have significantly fewer benefits than permanent staff, which is usually fair enough, but some of their institutes extend these kind of contracts for a very long time ( over a year) and the employees miss out on the benefits they could have had if given a permanent role Some institutes are relatively new/ short on capacity

    LSE2019-09-17
  3. "Great environment, lots of support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Researcher in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at LSE for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great working environment - Much support - Good feedback and encouragement

    Cons

    - Communication was not always clear - The salary was not very good for a research role

    LSE2019-09-17
  4. "Amazing place to study and research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Phd Student Researcher 

    I have been working at LSE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    dynamic environment, brilliant colleagues, variety of support services available, really current research

    Cons

    something is always under construction, lifts take forever, older buildings

    LSE2019-08-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Researcher 

    I worked at LSE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything: flexible working, salary, the people, events

    Cons

    There really is no cons working here in my personal experience

    LSE2019-08-01
  6. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Officer 

    I worked at LSE full-time

    Pros

    Friendly, supportive, realistic, diversity, inclusive

    Cons

    no cons, perhaps more advice for early career researchers will be helpful

    LSE2019-07-06
  7. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 

    I worked at LSE part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people , nice environment, great city

    Cons

    Low salary, politics, bad food

    LSE2019-06-04
  8. "Amazing Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Researcher in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at LSE part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Tons of world-class researchers and visitors.

    Cons

    Lack of a classic campus environment.

    LSE2019-03-27
  9. "Beware of contract delays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Graduate Research Assistant in London, England

    I have been working at LSE for less than a year

    Pros

    In general, working as a student research assistant LSE allows you to get into contact and build relationships with leading researchers

    Cons

    If you are a student that actually needs money, DO NOT WORK HERE, it takes FOREVER to get a contract which means if you actually end up working, you will probably get a check after your programme ends.

    Continue reading
    LSE2019-01-11
  10. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LSE for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work with great people.

    Cons

    None really come to mind.

    LSE2018-11-26
Found 24 reviews