LSE Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

LSE Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 215 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Judith Rees
45 Ratings
  1. "Been working here for 8 years and it’s flown by so I must be having fun."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LSE full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Family friendly and flexible working depending on your manager. 33 holidays plus bank holidays. Good pension scheme. Season ticket loan. Plenty of training opportunities.

    Cons

    Penny wise pound foolish with support staff. Salaries should be higher for professional service staff. Academic staff get priority ( a plus if you are an academic though!)

    Advice to Management

    Too many inconsistencies across different departments which need to be addressed.

    LSE2018-05-30
  2. "Student Event/Catering Role - Well Paid and Well Structured Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at LSE full-time

      Pros

      Great hourly pay for students Work was not overly demanding Supervisors were friendly as were coworkers

      Cons

      Little staff pool for my role so in many cases I had to jump in at short notice for coworkers or had no one to cover if I needed.

      LSE2018-05-09
    • "Policy consulting"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at LSE full-time

      Pros

      Flexible and interesting work. Plenty of travel.

      Cons

      Can be a bit slow at times and managers are very busy.

      LSE2018-05-08
    • "Sub-Warden"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sub-Warden in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at LSE part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Very friendly atmosphere within the sub-warden team

      Cons

      The large number of undergraduate students meant that weekend shifts could be demanding

      LSE2018-05-07
    • "Research Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at LSE part-time

      Pros

      Great working environment, exposure to high-profile researchers and political advisers

      Cons

      It is very theory based (as you would expect).

      LSE2018-05-06
    • "Assistant lecturer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at LSE part-time

        Pros

        Interesting people, work life balance

        Cons

        Salary could have been better

        LSE2018-04-24
      • "Fantastic flexibility"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at LSE full-time

        Pros

        I loved being able to work from home whenever I needed to/wanted to. If I was available online it didn't really matter where I was. The team was fantastic and I still miss a lot of them. Really proactive in how they go about management and making sure everyone is happy and healthy.

        Cons

        Not every department works like mine did. Its on a case by case basis so you'll have to figure out how good your department is when you get there.

        Advice to Management

        Keep doing you! So glad I got the opportunity :)

        LSE2018-04-04
      • "Amazing"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at LSE part-time

        Pros

        Amazing job very flexible as a student.

        Cons

        Sometimes won't get job opps as it is first come first serve.

        Advice to Management

        N/A

        LSE2018-03-22
      • "Student"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Culture & Values
        Current Employee - Student 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at LSE full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        work and study a group of brilliant students

        Cons

        Views of the whole industry might be restricted

        Advice to Management

        try to be more efficient

        LSE2018-03-31
      • "Excellent Career oriented school"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Career Opportunities
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at LSE full-time

        Pros

        Very career driven student base

        Cons

        No real downsides aside from the fact that being too career driven could take away from university life

        LSE2018-03-09
      Found 215 reviews