LV= Reviews

Updated 25 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
LV= Chief Executive Officer  Mark Hartigan (no image)
Mark Hartigan
3 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very little chance for career progression(in 11 reviews)

  • "Very large work load, can occasionally be very stressful, very few one to ones with team leaders, progression can be quite slow(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Finance: Reporting and Governance in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends

    I worked at LV= full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Culture, great people and great working environment

    Cons

    Cannot get parking due to the low staff turn :)

    Continue reading

    LV= Response

    July 9, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback, we're thrilled you've had a positive experience with LV=!

  2. "Meh"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Handler in Brentwood, England

    I have been working at LV= full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good holiday/ work hours (no weekends) Decent pension

    Cons

    Low pay- should be more considering we deal with a lot of work and brentwood is an expensive area, parking isn’t free Lack of social events / low budget Poor management- favouritism Expected to help other departments with no training Lack of rewards for good work/benefits Opportunity to progress is rare

    Continue reading

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Needs some work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Bournemouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at LV= full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice atmosphere generally, benefits ok too. Great cafe and generally friendly colleagues.

    Cons

    Salary, lack of training and development, unfair treatment from managers. Very little chance for career progression.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Ok"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fraud Specialist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at LV= full-time

    Pros

    Work from home Relaxed atmosphere when you do go to the office

    Cons

    Communication is shocking Management push on with things that clearly aren’t working

    LV= Response

    July 6, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We’re sorry to hear that you feel this way. We know how important leadership is to our success and we invest a lot into our leaders, encouraging them to inspire, collaborate and communicate effectively. We’d really like to find out more about your experience with communication and management, so that we can improve on this for the future. Please email us at resourcingGI@lv.co.uk,

  5. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Claims Handler in London, England

    I worked at LV= full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people and great benefits.

    Cons

    Old systems and sometimes building issues.

    LV= Response

    July 6, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We’re really glad you’ve had a positive experience with us. If you have any further feedback you’d like to share, you can email us at resourcingGI@lv.co.uk.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Could be better"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Claims Handler in Croydon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at LV= full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company benefits, people, social events, rewards for long service, company values

    Cons

    Salary, lack of investment in IT, lack of training and development, unfair treatment from managers

    Continue reading

    LV= Response

    July 6, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We’re glad you’ve had a positive experience with company benefits, people, social events, rewards for long service and company values. At the same time, we appreciate that you’ve not been satisfied with other areas. If you’d like to discuss this further we’d be more than happy to chat and find out how we can improve. Please just email us at resourcingGI@lv.co.uk.

  7. "Right ingredients, work needed on the recipe"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LV= full-time

    Pros

    Great values, opportunity to move within company, generally nice people, decent benefits, ideas & drive welcomed

    Cons

    Values not lived consistently at senior levels, badly designed HR processes, dated IT infrastructure, not part of the clique if outside Bournemouth HQ

    LV= Response

    July 9, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We’re glad you’ve had a positive experience with your colleagues at LV=. At the same time, we appreciate that you’ve not been entirely satisfied. We aim to create a culture at LV= where everyone feels they can achieve there potential wherever they're based in the country. We’d really like to find out more about your experience so that we can take steps to improve. Please email us at employeerelations@lv.com

  8. Helpful (6)

    "Terrible, bullying culture. External perspective is very different to the reality."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at LV= full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Really good benefits: pay, holiday entitlement, excellent pension contributions. Flexible working.

    Cons

    Approach this organisation with caution. I left LV= after 10 years of (broken) promises and a final year of reporting into a bully, who did all they all could to get me out and continually reduced me to tears with their awful behaviour. And I still don’t know why, as I had an exceptional record with absolutely no issues with my capability or conduct; helped LV= secure numerous awards and had great relationships and rapport with my peers. I am not the only employee this person has treated awfully. Or who has left because of them. My experience of line management at LV= was dismal. At worse, failure to follow basic legislation and absolutely no performance management, despite constant insistence on the importance of correct line management by HR. HR are aware of these issues (and many more), but continually turn a blind eye. There is an internal saying those who are technically competent must be good people leaders, which really isn’t the case. Some talented junior and middle management staff give sweat, blood and tears, working long hours, with promises of a promotion due to their ‘talent’. I naively believed it would happen. However, those who work at LV= are widely aware of the glass ceiling and complete lack of opportunities. Senior roles within LVFS are held by long-serving employees, who say ‘yes’, even when the situation is wrong, and ply their teams with unreasonable and excessive pressure to protect or further themselves. Speak up and you’re bullied and harassed, despite claims LV= supports mental health. I was seriously ill (requiring emergency treatment) and my manager failed to inform HR or even conduct a back to work interview. HR were aware of this when I resigned and decided not to investigate further or deal with this serious issue. Please do your research before thinking about applying for a job at LV=. Speak to those you know who work/worked at LV= and read other reviews on here. The serious cons are consistent. Forget all the ‘mutual’ fuzzy initiatives promoted on Facebook e.g. pizza for the NHS, or the alleged ‘career development’ or ‘diversity’ initiatives, as the internal reality is a complete paradox. Please approach with caution for the sake of your health and career.

    LV= Response

    July 9, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We’re sorry to hear that you feel this way and assure you we do take these concerns seriously. So that we can address this as quickly as possible, could you please email us at employeerelations@lv.com

  9. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unemployed in Hitchin, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at LV= full-time

    Pros

    Vert friendly team and managers

    Cons

    There are no cons at all

    LV= Response

    May 1, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback, we're thrilled you've had a positive experience with LV=!

  10. Helpful (2)

    "No Future prospects"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Team Manager in Exeter, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LV= full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly people working there Good perks Hard working people, everyone wants to do a great job

    Cons

    Higher management changes constantly, each with a new idea or “revolution” to turn it around. Full of hope and promises which sadly do not ever get full filled Systems are extremely out of date and cripple the customer service possible, far too much resource is spent on timely work arounds and rethinking the admin processes rather than investing in the systems and training for staff. Constant fire fighting daily / weekly to achieve the predicted service. New projects started every 6 months and very rarely finished due to service constraints. A career prospect is sold however there are limited opportunities for progression from CSR role, CSTM’s are provided little or no development. Pay is unequal between management and I feel the loyal employees are undervalued

    Continue reading

    LV= Response

    March 30, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We’re glad you’ve had a positive experience with your colleagues at LV=. At the same time, we appreciate that you’ve not been entirely satisfied. We aim to create a culture at LV= where everyone is encouraged to learn new things, grow and progress, and we also recognise that learning and development isn’t one-size-fits-all. So we offer a range of ways you can work towards your development and we offer our full support towards achieving both professional qualifications and personal and leadership skills. We’d really like to find out more about your experience so that we can take steps to improve. Please email us at employeerelations@lv.com

Found 273 reviews
</>Embed