Lake Michigan Credit Union Employee Reviews about "company culture"

Updated Jan 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 158 reviews

3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Lake Michigan Credit Union President and CEO Sandy Jelinski
Sandy Jelinski
82 Ratings
Pros
  • "Empower employees and take pride in company culture(in 12 reviews)

  • "I think it is a great company with good intentions(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I don't believe Senior Management is truly aware of the workload their staff has(in 3 reviews)

  • "Not a lot of opportunity for advancement(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "company culture"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to work

      Jan 22, 2021 - MSR I in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company, Culture based with great morals to support and educated its members

      Cons

      Very reactive based company. Changes are sometimes made as a response to loss

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company!

      Nov 1, 2020 - Teller II in Jenison, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Empower employees and take pride in company culture

      Cons

      Rate of pay may be low compared to competitors

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Finance

      Join the conversation on

      Finance

      3y

      works at 

      JPMorgan Chase

      Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

      787

      82 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Dec 14, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Managers genuinely care about employees Company culture Generous PTO for full-time employees 38 hour work week for full-time employees Ability to grow within the company

      Cons

      Pay is a bit lower than average for some positions

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent company to work for

      Nov 3, 2018 - Teller 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Weekly pay, offers chances to volunteer within the community, good company culture and vision,

      Cons

      Scheduling time off is a hassle, referral goals unrealistic for part time employees, Opportunities to advance not common within Kalamazoo area.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Teller II

      Oct 16, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company culture, support and opportunity for advancement

      Cons

      compensation could have been better

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      I AM LMCU is killing employee morale

      Apr 21, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company culture is great, real desire to give to the community. Products are competitive so not hard to sell.

      Cons

      Benefits are terrible. Too much focus on the members, not enough on the employees (I AM LMCU initiative in particular, very hard to get a 3% raise for exceeding all metrics but see the company paying peoples loans and giving random deposits to member accounts)

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great culture, poor pay.

      Apr 11, 2017 - Msr 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company culture is great here! LMCU really promotes innovation and is an enjoyable place to work.

      Cons

      While LMCU gives back to its' members, the credit union fails to stay to stay competitive with employee earnings. Raises are now capped at 3% compared to 5%, incentives are harder to qualify for, even for the best employees. Each location/department currently makes a mortgage, credit card, and loan payment every month with the new I am LMCU initiative but employees are underpaid.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Lake Michigan Credit Union Response

      Human Resource Generalist I

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us on Glassdoor.com. I'm so happy that you enjoy our wonderful culture and our initiatives like I AM LMCU. We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding our compensation and current pay scales. I can assure you that we are taking these things into consideration as we evaluate our positions. I also appreciate your comments regarding management. Continuing to empower our managers and develop all employees professionally is something our HR and Organizational Development Departments are striving for with various initiatives. Thank you again for your time and suggestions!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome Culture! Great Company!

      Dec 20, 2016 - Director Organizational Development in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The organization is a not-for-profit organization. Why is this important? We don't answer to Shareholders looking for big dividends each quarter. Employees are empowered and encouraged to always do the right thing for our Members. LMCU's profits are spent on enhancing the financial lives of our members (for example: 3% interest paid on Max Checking account). A lot of money and manpower is spent helping out the communities we serve. The Company culture is amazing. Very empowering and gratifying.

      Cons

      Because the organizational growth has been organic and fast, we have gone from being a small company, to a mid-large size company quickly. We are still figuring out how to gain organizational efficiencies, while maintaining our "member centric" spirit and focus.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Lake Michigan Credit Union Response

      Human Resource Generalist I

      Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us. You’re so right about the empowering and gratifying culture that exists at LMCU! We believe it’s so important to cultivate an awesome company culture, and to turn that outward to our members as well. It’s all part of what sets us apart, and it’s wonderful to hear that our employees feel that way, too. We also really appreciate your feedback regarding our rapid growth and leadership team. I definitely believe that there is value in investing time in proactively improving processes. Thank you again for your feedback and review!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Manager Full Time, Excellent Career Growth

      Dec 12, 2016 - Branch Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      101 best companies to work for, National and Statewide for a good reason. I have worked here for 5+ years as a teller, member service representative, and currently a branch manager. LMCU has invested many resources to make the best company culture to work in. You are family when you work for LMCU. Your opinion is heard and your future matters. Consider more than the annual salary, consider your benefits, 401 K, Pension, Health Benefits/Cost, and other family circumstances. LMCU is in the banking industry, but family life is valued here.

      Cons

      I know I could be making more annually working for another company. However, I do not feel for the companies that have approached me they would provide me the results and growth LMCU has. My con in regards to income, is a pro, as LMCU has invested into my career growth and recognized that I as an individual wanted to show the leadership capacity to serve at higher levels. Income will come in the future.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Lake Michigan Credit Union Response

      Human Resource Generalist I

      Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us. What an awesome testament to LMCU’s commitment to our company culture, and our opportunity for growth! Being a part of the 101 Best & Brightest Companies to Work For is something that we are so proud of, and we are happy that you love our family atmosphere as much as we do. We love to see our employees progressing through their career paths, moving up to different positions from Teller to Manager, such as yourself. There is so much opportunity for our employees, and we are happy that you have found your place here. We also appreciate your constructive comments regarding our current compensation model. Please know that we are going to take this into consideration. Again, we sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are happy that you have grown with us at LMCU! Thanks again.

    11. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A great organization to work at

      Dec 13, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company culture is outstanding here. Over the course of my career, I've experienced a variety of cultures, and this by far is the best. The people who work at LMCU are very friendly and personable.

      Cons

      A formerly smaller organization that at times struggles with the mindset needed of a rapidly growing organization, but progress is being made.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Lake Michigan Credit Union Response

      Human Resource Generalist I

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us on Glassdoor. We are so happy that you love our company culture as much as we do. It truly does make a difference when your co-workers are passionate about their jobs. We sincerely appreciate your comments regarding our growth, and we are happy that you can see our progress as well. Transparency is definitely something that we strive for, and I think employees like you leaving reviews on Glassdoor.com is a great place to start. Thanks again!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Work at Lake Michigan Credit Union? Share Your Experiences

    or