Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory Reviews

Updated 19 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 885 of over 1K reviews

4.6
94%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory Director Kimberly S. Budil
Kimberly S. Budil
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "My management is very supportive of work-life balance and the company benefits are great(in 218 reviews)

  • "Cutting edge work with some of the best scientists in the field(in 60 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "red tape so it takes longer to get things done(in 53 reviews)

  • "Expense of living in the Bay area(in 44 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Intern

      16 Feb 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great organization with a meaningful mission. Will not find a better government job in the country.

      Cons

      Bureaucracy and red tape, which is expected.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Time management

      9 May 2021 - Customer Service Adviser in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job satisfaction is a plus

      Cons

      Shift work is from 9 to 5 or 12 to 9

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Was a great place to work

      6 Jun 2021 - Senior Health and Safety Technologist in Livermore, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers are the best, seriously in the short 2 years I have worked here I have made life long friends even during the pandemic. Community culture on site (when site is open) Pay is good (over all maybe not so much for the area though) Communication among staff is good, everyone is willing and open to ideas to make the process better Amazing science, defiantly cutting edge Taxi service Food service

      Cons

      Poor management Will bump good staff to place mediocre staff in job roles Will not consider career goals or concerns of impacted staff when bumping Safety culture being eroded by get it done culture Upper management will reorg before discovering what is working in the existing structure Management will place people in roles they are unprepared for For some reason upper level lab management cares about the schedules of every employee on site, personal opinion no formal documentation is needed just get ok from immediate line manager and projects work whatever time best fits you and the project but LLNL requires formal lab level approvals.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Perfect balance of challenge and flexibility

      2 Jun 2021 - Computer Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is the greatest place I've ever worked. I am regularly challenged, surrounded by really smart people to learn from, and have many things to work on. My colleagues are kind. I can manage my schedule so there aren't too many meetings and I can spend most of my time programming. All kinds of contribution are valued, from contributing ideas, to code, to a fun initiative.

      Cons

      I haven't found any cons yet.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best decision of my career

      11 May 2021 - Research Scientist in Livermore, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      World-class science, great work environment, great salaries, great work/life balance. Mission driven institution with clear objectives. Accepting to join the LLNL team has been the best decision of my career! The lab is managed in a smart way, PIs and leaders (all the way to the top) regularly communicate with employees. It feels like the perfect mix between a university and a big corporation (without the cons). For young researchers, postdocs are considered as actual employees, with full benefits (retirement plan, real salary to live comfortably in the Bay Area, etc.) which creates less discrimination among the researchers contrary to what is seen at most other research institutions.

      Cons

      The lab has less visibility than other world-famous research institutions despite doing world-class science. This is because some projects are classified which prevent publications and publicity. For some researchers not being able to publish could be a deal-breaker.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Broad Capability of Expanding Career

      16 Jun 2021 - Senior Electronics Technician in Livermore, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Inclusive Laboratory focusing on its sole mission- global security!

      Cons

      Awesome Laboratory! Keep being one of the best!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Would be great if it wasn't in the Bay Area Bubble.

      25 Apr 2021 - Engineer in Livermore, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Benefits are great. - Work/life balance is stellar. - Mission. People care, and it shows. - No office politics at lower levels. - Best job security you could possibly ask for. - WFH and flexible schedules due to COVID - Easy to advance if you job hop every 2-3 years. - Weather is nice.

      Cons

      - Rising "wokeness," now bolstered by the director's office. It will probably be the reason I leave, and I consider myself a moderate. - I make less than new hires into my role because I worked my way up from hourly tech. Raises are primarily based upon your starting salary - not seniority, not performance, not value. - Despite management ballyhoos about strapping on running shoes, everything is getting slower and more bureaucratic. - Incredibly expensive cost of living. I cannot emphasize this enough. - CA taxes. I gross barely $100k and my burden is over 40%. Don't discount things like sales tax (9.25%), gas taxes, fees, etc. - The crowding is real, and people are unfriendly because of it.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fantastic Employer

      2 Apr 2021 - Senior Recruiter in Livermore, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Initially I was attracted to our strong total package including excellent benefits, strong 401(k) LLNL contributions, and a variety of other employee perks such as fitness classes, summer concert and speaker series. Now that I have worked here a handful of years, it goes way beyond these "perks". I feel personally fulfilled to have a contribution to the safety and security of our nation. I am able to work with some of the brightest and most collaborative science and engineering staff who I am honored to learn very unique and interesting things from everyday. In addition, LLNL offers a strong mix of team work and personal autonomy to be able to complete your assigned responsibilities. Leadership is very supportive but allows the right balance of space needed for growth and development while having a strong respect for work/life balance.

      Cons

      Being federally regulated, we do have a lot of policies and procedures to follow which, at first, can feel daunting. As I continue to understand the "whys" behind some of these things I have developed a respect and understanding for these elements of the job.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Place - Work Life Balance - Science is top notch

      3 Jun 2021 - Computer Scientist in Livermore, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      LLNL does things NO ONE else in the world is doing or has ever done in some cases. Supporting an organization like this is very rewarding. In addition, the work/life balance is awesome. The campus is nice and not stuffy.

      Cons

      Don't expect big bonuses but then, don't expect to work 60+ hours for weeks on end.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great job, people and work/life balance

      2 Jun 2021 - Systems Engineer in Livermore, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      LLNL offers a high quality and intellectually challenging work environment. With competitive salaries, lots of competent workers, including numerous world-class experts, and great work-life balance, it's an ideal place to work.

      Cons

      As an NNSA Laboratory, there are many restrictions you won't find in the public sector.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 885 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory? Share Your Experiences

    Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory logo
    or