LearnVest Reviews

Updated 6 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
LearnVest CEO & Founder Alexa von Tobel (no image)
Alexa von Tobel
47 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "LearnVest brand is completely gone (you are a part of Northwestern Mutual)(in 12 reviews)

  • "as mentioned above, Tech and Product seem to be battling for turf with Northwestern senior management(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LearnVest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to learn and grow

    Cons

    Fast-paced but to be expected with a startup culture

    Continue reading
    LearnVest2019-08-06
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to jump into product-side work for designers"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer NY Office in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LearnVest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can only speak for the teams that I'm on, but I've had a great working relationship with product and tech. Projects are nimble and agile, but also complex and challenging in a good way. Surprisingly, a big design dept. Everyone is friendly and approachable. Leadership does it's best to be transparent and protect the rest of the pack from any politics. Lot of former agency leadership/talent. Lot of dedicated people leading the design. Dogs, snacks, beers, cold brew on draft, game room, comfortable common areas.. a lot of the "amenities" of a start up office (nyc) Pension vests in 3 yrs

    Cons

    The heavy corporate bureaucracy is often felt. We have to use office 360 .. There's two cultures, one that of NY tech hub and one that of the MKE Hq. Starting to accept it and perhaps learn from it.

    Continue reading
    LearnVest2019-02-02
  3. "Love the culture in this office!"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at LearnVest full-time

    Pros

    Dog-friendly, flexible work time, nice co-workers, easy to commute location

    Cons

    Work pace is a little bit slow.

    LearnVest2019-01-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Nice idea, poor execution"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior CopyWriter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at LearnVest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Snacks, some cool people, flexible and relaxed office

    Cons

    It's now Northwestern Mutual, there is no more LearnVest

    Continue reading
    LearnVest2019-01-10
  5. "Meh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LearnVest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team I was on was awesome

    Cons

    Management wasn't always aligned "You must enter at least 5 words for cons"

    LearnVest2018-12-12
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Are you kidding?"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LearnVest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Snacks, games, pets in the office.................

    Cons

    Really LV employees get over yourselves! Milwaukee NM is tired of hearing your woes. You were bought for a reason and that is your new mission. Come work in Milwaukee to help transform NM & Milwaukee into a technology hub or go work somewhere else. NM is far from perfect. But, it is what it is and LV employees need to stop complaining, join your new culture or get the heck out. And, stop bragging about your expense accounts, fancy hotels, restaurants out, etc. on NM's dime including all the free airline miles so your families can go on free vacations. You have no clue about what Milwaukee home office employees have been dealing with in regards to 'strategic expense' management

    Continue reading
    LearnVest2018-10-25
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Culture is changing"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LearnVest full-time

    Pros

    The mission and work is noble, exciting, and motivating, especially if you believe in financial planning. The "front line" employees in Arizona work hard and are great teammates and colleagues. It's exciting to be tasked with transforming the way a massive company, NWM, approaches planning and engages with clients.

    Cons

    Lots of us came to LearnVest because of the value they placed on CFPs and financial planning. Well that seems to have gone by the wayside because the most recent few promotions have totally disregarded that value. We recently had an open position in AZ for an Assistant Director role. Lots of people were interested because being a small office, new opportunities don't come up often. Lots of planners were interested in applying but were told that the Sr Director said "it's really hard to "skip a level" in an organization." Basically, if you're not already in management, it'd be really hard to get this new role. So a lot ofpeople didn't apply - we figured a manager would get promoted which honestly made the most sense. They are all CFPs, they know the work, the people, and have put their time into the company. Well that's not what happened. The person who got the role went from managing no people to managing 30 people. Not only that, but he has no planning experience, no experience with the software, and no ties to the specific work that he will now be leading. I guess that when the entire operations team is considered "leadership" they automatically qualify for things like this??? This is in no way an insult to the guy who got the job but it's a huge insult to literally every other employee in the office who would actually be qualified to do the job. The future of AZ is a bit bleak because we are loosing our connection to planning and CFP values.

    Continue reading
    LearnVest2018-08-18
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Pull The Plug"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LearnVest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The free snacks, food and celebrating are endless.

    Cons

    Due to the acquisition by Northwestern Mutual, the remaining LearnVest employees live in paranoia that their jobs are going away so the culture has turned to fear and a need to justify their work. If you are looking for career growth or tenure, look elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    LearnVest2018-08-22
  9. "Financial Analyst"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at LearnVest full-time

    Pros

    Great perks, benefits and work environment!

    Cons

    High expectations but little training opportunities

    Continue reading
    LearnVest2018-08-21
  10. "Data Stewardd"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LearnVest full-time

    Pros

    Fun, Snacks, Good Management, flexible work.

    Cons

    None so far, maybe more snacks haha.

    LearnVest2018-07-03
Found 84 reviews