LearnVest Reviews

Updated 6 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
LearnVest CEO & Founder Alexa von Tobel (no image)
Alexa von Tobel
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "a lot of the "amenities" of a start up office (nyc)(in 7 reviews)

  • "work / life balance is reasonable(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "LearnVest brand is completely gone (you are a part of Northwestern Mutual)(in 12 reviews)

  • "as mentioned above, Tech and Product seem to be battling for turf with Northwestern senior management(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to jump into product-side work for designers

      2 Feb 2019 - Designer NY Office in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can only speak for the teams that I'm on, but I've had a great working relationship with product and tech. Projects are nimble and agile, but also complex and challenging in a good way. Surprisingly, a big design dept. Everyone is friendly and approachable. Leadership does it's best to be transparent and protect the rest of the pack from any politics. Lot of former agency leadership/talent. Lot of dedicated people leading the design. Dogs, snacks, beers, cold brew on draft, game room, comfortable common areas.. a lot of the "amenities" of a start up office (nyc) Pension vests in 3 yrs

      Cons

      The heavy corporate bureaucracy is often felt. We have to use office 360 .. There's two cultures, one that of NY tech hub and one that of the MKE Hq. Starting to accept it and perhaps learn from it.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Are you kidding?

      25 Oct 2018 - Business Development in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Snacks, games, pets in the office.................

      Cons

      Really LV employees get over yourselves! Milwaukee NM is tired of hearing your woes. You were bought for a reason and that is your new mission. Come work in Milwaukee to help transform NM & Milwaukee into a technology hub or go work somewhere else. NM is far from perfect. But, it is what it is and LV employees need to stop complaining, join your new culture or get the heck out. And, stop bragging about your expense accounts, fancy hotels, restaurants out, etc. on NM's dime including all the free airline miles so your families can go on free vacations. You have no clue about what Milwaukee home office employees have been dealing with in regards to 'strategic expense' management

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      6 Aug 2019 - Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity to learn and grow

      Cons

      Fast-paced but to be expected with a startup culture

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Culture is changing

      18 Aug 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The mission and work is noble, exciting, and motivating, especially if you believe in financial planning. The "front line" employees in Arizona work hard and are great teammates and colleagues. It's exciting to be tasked with transforming the way a massive company, NWM, approaches planning and engages with clients.

      Cons

      Lots of us came to LearnVest because of the value they placed on CFPs and financial planning. Well that seems to have gone by the wayside because the most recent few promotions have totally disregarded that value. We recently had an open position in AZ for an Assistant Director role. Lots of people were interested because being a small office, new opportunities don't come up often. Lots of planners were interested in applying but were told that the Sr Director said "it's really hard to "skip a level" in an organization." Basically, if you're not already in management, it'd be really hard to get this new role. So a lot ofpeople didn't apply - we figured a manager would get promoted which honestly made the most sense. They are all CFPs, they know the work, the people, and have put their time into the company. Well that's not what happened. The person who got the role went from managing no people to managing 30 people. Not only that, but he has no planning experience, no experience with the software, and no ties to the specific work that he will now be leading. I guess that when the entire operations team is considered "leadership" they automatically qualify for things like this??? This is in no way an insult to the guy who got the job but it's a huge insult to literally every other employee in the office who would actually be qualified to do the job. The future of AZ is a bit bleak because we are loosing our connection to planning and CFP values.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      humming along again

      8 Jul 2015 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful place to work - good people, good mangers, good culture, Great comp, Great mission. Alexa and other senior management care about employees literally like family. Few financial firms in the world with this kind of culture! Challenge and stakes are greater than they have ever been, creating a very positive buzz. HOLY SMOKES the new office is going to be rad! (existing digs ain't bad either). best location of start up in New York, nexus of subway (and tunnel) options.

      Cons

      Some churn under new ownership w/ several taking time off having made some $$. And a couple leaving for impossible-to-refuse offers as recruiters have been on us like four loko fueled red tailed Hawks since the acquisition hit the tapes. blessing and a curse that LV has awesome currency with other startups as Alexa has undeniably been a talent magnet over the years. By and large the goals and mission are the same, comp better, platform more secure, with key difference being a near term focus on certain integrations with NM. But medium / long term should catapult LV to maasive compnay / IPO potential status.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Love the culture in this office!

      10 Jan 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dog-friendly, flexible work time, nice co-workers, easy to commute location

      Cons

      Work pace is a little bit slow.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Unsure future

      5 Nov 2015 - Planning in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Got an office manager so we now always have great food and snacks. Free lunch once a week. Paid full time for part time work.

      Cons

      Not been stable. Constant change and no clear path. A lot of hype and talk about NM leading into the buyout and talks and promises afterwards. Still a lot of change and BS from management. They say there is transparency but not really. New management in operations and sounded good at first but now back to normal. Seems like NM is the focus and regular LV is left alone. Lost many planners to the transition team or quitting. Impact of losing lots of staff after the transition can be seen in felt. people mumble and complain a lot behind close doors but know that it goes no where with management. Not a place to grow in your career. Recommend to people in year 1 or 2 but after that go to a planning firm to grow. Company is automating the whole process. Did not come here to be a non-thinker. Treated like we don't have brains.

      Continue reading
      37 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      avoid if you actually want to make a difference

      13 Sep 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Others viewers have stated that there is free snacks and always some sort of food around that you can eat such as bagels, pizza, or sandwiches left over from a meeting. Deceit medical benefits and 401k match.

      Cons

      Don't believe what the talent team or other managers tell you. They talk about project plans and roadmaps but all you work on is bringing Northwestern Mutual into the digital age. There is no Learnvest identity any longer. During the hiring process they sell you startup and when you look at information online they say they have 50 employees when they have something like 300 and Northwestern Mutual the now parent company calls all of the shots. If you want to be a productive thinker on the Product team then go someone else. It is directed really by one person who listens to no one and has has no expertise to do the job. Don't wast your time. The whole Operations division is a mess.

      Continue reading
      24 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      2+ years and counting...

      30 Mar 2016 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been at LearnVest for over two years. The bottom line is that like every single company you could work for, things are not perfect. There are issues, gaps, challenges. However, in my time here, I have had a career-propelling experience, due in large part to the sheer tenacity of our CEO/founder. The acquisition by NM is the exit that most start-ups strive towards but cannot achieve. It's easy to sit and point out flaws, but the truth of the matter is that we are now working for an incredibly well-resourced organization, who has a long-term and strategic approach. This means that we can take the long-view and not scramble to demonstrate short-term impact. We're building industry-changing technology; we're continuing to bring on clients through d2c and our b2b channels and improving the experience; and as an employee, we are now far better compensated, equipped and nurtured.

      Cons

      To those who are writing negative reviews from the comfort of our lovely new offices in AZ and NYC, please stop being so destructive to yourself and your colleagues. It's not productive. If you're so unhappy, then it might be time to move on. Probably the best choice for your own career, and in the best interest of this company, too.

      16 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Truth

      28 Jan 2016 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are many differing opinions on this site, which adds to the confusion. However, everyone has different perceptions of the truth. In my opinion, we are stronger than we have ever been. Although, acquisitions aren't always smooth, we are in a stronger and better position then even a year ago. With our partners at NM we have the financial backing, support and ability to continue pursuing our mission, while building a a world class innovation hub and touching millions of lives. We couldn't be in a better, stronger position. We recently moved into a new building, which is amazing and supports our culture. I am excited to be here working with other incredibly talented people and can't wait to see what happens in the future.

      Cons

      There are still some employees that are having difficulty with change and therefore need to accept the changes or move on from the company if they are unhappy. At any start up, you have scale and growth problems, but the HR and Exec team have been working with us to create programs to support managers and employees. The exciting part is that we will continue to grow and change while still pursuing our mission. Growth pains are typical for any growing company, especially one that is only 6 years old.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 84 Reviews

    Work at LearnVest? Share Your Experiences

    LearnVest logo
    or