Leicester City Council Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Leicester City Council Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Leicester City Council CEO Peter Soulsby
Peter Soulsby
9 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - School Crossing Patrol in Leicester, England

    I have been working at Leicester City Council part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy of work Trusting Care for your safety

    Cons

    Not enough hours to fill a working week

    Leicester City Council2019-06-26
  2. "n/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operative in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Leicester City Council full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free course for training

    Cons

    The training was not good.

    Leicester City Council2019-09-09
  3. "Working in a multicultural school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in Leicester, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Leicester City Council part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good multicultural school in a very multicultural area. Local primary school with local staff. Nice area good opportunities within the school.

    Cons

    Under staffed due to amount of children attending with special educational needs who require a one to one support worker

    Leicester City Council2019-04-28
  4. "Working for LCC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources MI Manager in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leicester City Council full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    LCC is an equal opportunities employer with an agile working policy. Depending on the service you provide there is a flexible working arrangement which includes working from home and flexi hours. For those with the right attitude and aspirations of moving up in the organisation there are many development opportunities.

    Cons

    Due to decreasing workforce there is an expectation that employees will take on extra duties, this can sometimes overwhelm individuals.

    Leicester City Council2019-03-11
  5. "Good with room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vacancy Management Officer in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Leicester City Council full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of great people work at LCC and there is always a lot to learn. A lot of the financial pressures on LCC actually work as an encouragement to develop my role and keep me motivated to improve. There is a lot of working flexibility and management in my area are very open and progressive to new ideas.

    Cons

    There are a lot of poorly managed teams with poorly motivated staff and an inherent feeling of competition for budget and points scoring between divisions that results in teams working for themselves rather than as a collective.

    Advice to Management

    Simple. Unity and a collective goal for the whole authority.

    Leicester City Council2019-03-08
  6. "Graduate Project Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Leicester City Council full-time

    Pros

    People Hands on with lots of projects Flexi time

    Cons

    Pay is low No structured training

    Leicester City Council2018-10-23
  7. "Council"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Leicester City Council part-time

    Pros

    Good employer, good salary, fair

    Cons

    Large Organisation, government cutbacks making jobs insecure long term

    Leicester City Council2018-10-01
  8. "Local Land Charges Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Leicester City Council

    Pros

    Great environment to work. A lo of support.

    Cons

    Going through reviews and cuts

    Leicester City Council2018-07-18
  9. "LCC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Leicester City Council full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Terms and conditions Majority of People who work there are in it for the right reason, same values.

    Cons

    Culture and Behaviours often at odds with values

    Leicester City Council2018-07-19
  10. "No direction!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Leicester City Council full-time

    Pros

    A very good salary. Some friendly staff.

    Cons

    LCC has no direction as to what they are doing or where they are going. Management is appalling, there is a lack of pastoral care, rude councillors and mayor, no team morale, lots of negativity, individuals that make for a much tougher/negative working environment for no reason, lots of backstabbing between different teams/people, some rude HR staff who have no idea what they are doing, lack of opportunities and no... flexibility (even though this is 'supposedly' a 'benefit'). Moving to a much better organisation has made LCC look even worse. I wouldn't recommend working here at all.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to manage, and for those top dogs - learn how to employ respectable and supportive managers.

    Leicester City Council2018-04-27
Found 29 reviews