Liberty IT Employee Reviews about "flexible working"

Updated Dec 24, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 111 reviews

3.9
82%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Liberty IT Managing Director William Hamilton
William Hamilton
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is a good work life balance(in 18 reviews)

  • "Flexible working hours and location(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "LIT has been a very stable software shop for a long time(in 5 reviews)

  • "The Dublin office needs more talent to feel like an independent entity from the Belfast office(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    683

    227 Comments

    Tech

    82.7K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Liberty IT~352834
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "flexible working"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place for a career in IT.

      Nov 21, 2017 - Principal Software Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ive been working at LIT for over 6 years now and I would have to say most days I really enjoy coming into work (no joke). As a developer, who wouldn't want the opportunity to work on exciting projects and work in an environment were you are encouraged and enabled to innovate? Below are some of the reasons why I believe LIT is great place to work. - Career opportunities (very possible to fly up the grades quickly) - Talent and hard work is rewarded - Flexible working from home arrangements - Modern Technologies - React/Angular, Java (Spring Boot), AWS, Graph QL - Training/ leading conferences opportunities - First class offices with great equipment (Mac Book Pros) and modern office space - Projects are mostly all Agile based - Company is always actively trying to improve and listens to feedback from employees - Benefits are great - FREE COFFEE, healthcare, pension, flextime, good holidays, subsidized social events every month - Travel opportunities (I have been to Australia ,Boston, Portsmouth NH, London) - Short term secondment opportunities. LIT covered my cost for my voluntary 3 month secondment to Portsmouth NH with my family (I paid for my family)

      Cons

      - Base Salary could be improved compared to other companies in Belfast - Working with teams in other timezones can mean that you may have early or late evening meetings, more so when you become senior

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Liberty IT Response

      Managing Director

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review; I thoroughly enjoyed reading your views on LIT and will take your advice to management on board. People like you are what makes Liberty IT a success and we are always keen to invest in people who demonstrate the dedication and commitment whether that’s through promotions, development opportunities or US secondments. Best wishes, Willie

    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Not Pleasant

      Dec 24, 2017 - Principal Software Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Reasonable benefits, central location, bright spacious offices, flexible working all the standard stuff a company needs to offer to attract & retain in demand software development skills.

      Cons

      This place is attempting to transform but it is not pretty. It is quite clear that HR now run this company assisted by a few hired hands. Their remit you would expect is people but it now extends to everything. They have become experts in IT, communications, transformation and mind games! The constant drip of do not say objectionable things on Glass Door is but one example. They are working on the vulnerable, the weak, those that lack confidence and influencing them to say nice things. Many of the positive reviews come after a batch of bad ones (look for yourself) and are so over the top they are either crafted by HR or some poor souls thinking they can impress. You are being used! Think about who put the suggestion in your head and is this good for me or them. So after it being suggested I write a "positive" review I instead decided to write an accurate one! Old technologies, very top down control orientated senior management, cliques if you are not in you will not win, average pay (very average), questionable promotion policy if applied at all.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful

      Liberty IT Response

      Managing Director

      As you know, I am committed to providing a supportive and nurturing environment to allow our family of engineers to be successful and the role of the LIT leadership team is to support me to do this. I am therefore disappointed to read your comments and ask that you take the time to talk to me personally so that I can properly understand your perspective. Kind regards, Willie

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I love going to work in LIT

      Nov 11, 2017 - Software Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Modern offices City centre location Opportunity to travel (US, Dublin and more) Open and honest communication Great team spirit Perks (Healthcare, pension etc.) Training and conferences Career progression Flexible working hours and location Team building/social events

      Cons

      Who wouldn't want a higher salary? Having said that my salary and package is competitive among my peers who work in the same field

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Liberty IT Response

      Senior Director - Talent

      I am so pleased that you ‘love going to work at Liberty IT’ and it is great to see what initiatives are working for you. As you say, open and honest communication is critical to success and we are working hard to ensure we respond to the feedback we get from our employees. I too am excited about what the future holds for us and look forward to continuing our transformation journey with the support of our employees. Regards Cathy

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Times are changing

      Oct 16, 2017 - Principal Software Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice offices Occasional travel (dublin and US) You'll work with some very talented and passionate people Work life balance, flexible working Salary isn't as bad as some make out, the overall package is generally very good

      Cons

      Some work can be boring - depending on team / project Dated technologies in some areas Genuinely tries to be agile but feels like trying to turn a cargo ship Can be very slow to react to change, e.g. only recently moved to Git Management needs a shake up (thankfully ongoing) - developers are intelligent people, they do not need to be micromanaged by scrum masters / leads Bonuses are heavily weighted against company performance, with very little weight on personal performance, it gives very little incentive to go the extra mile.

      8 people found this review helpful

      Liberty IT Response

      Managing Director

      We appreciate your feedback, so thank you for leaving a review. As you say, there is a lot of organisational change happening as we move the entire company to a more agile way of working as well as streamline our management function. This is not an easy task in any organisation so we appreciate the support of our employees as we go through this change together. I am sorry to hear that you feel our bonus system doesn’t reward personal performance- as we explain at our annual compensation and benefits roadshows, personal performance plays an important part in each individual’s bonus allocation. If you would to go through this process in more detail, please get in touch and I will be happy to arrange that for you. Best wishes Willie

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A Sinking Ship

      Oct 24, 2017 - Senior in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Generous pension contributions Flexible working patterns (at your managers discretion) Some really talented people, who are sadly being wasted here

      Cons

      Old tech, it’s very much the luck of the draw - some people land on a great project (or are hand picked for them) and others will languish on old “keep the lights on” type projects. Expectation that engineering teams will drive change and modernisation but they have no real authority to do so, ultimately tech/projects are controlled from Liberty Mutual. Limited to no opportunities to work with front end technologies. Very easy to spend a few years here and end up totally out of touch with modern technology and the industry. Terrible culture, generally joyless. Feedback is not listened to at all and is generally met with some “it’s not us, it you”, “I’m shocked you think that” or the politicians non-apology apology “I’m sorry you feel that way” kind of response (as demonstrated in these reviews). Constant change and “modernisation” is used as a reason and excuse for everything, i.e. complaints to management are fobbed off because the modernisation will fix it, or it is a symptom of the change itself and will end when the change does.

      13 people found this review helpful

      Liberty IT Response

      Managing Director

      As you mentioned, we do have some great projects at Liberty IT and we are changing as a business to ensure we continue to take on more of these great projects as they provide the platform for our Engineers to get exposure to both the best quality software engineering practices and empower them to work with the latest technologies when possible. Many of our systems are of a global scale and our engineers are involved across the lifecycle shaping and influencing the evolution of these products. In these projects, a few of which use the older technologies you mention, our Engineers develop skills that allow them to engineer world class highly reliable and massively scalable solutions, skills which benefit them greatly in their long term careers. Finally, I am very disappointed to read your feedback on our work culture in particular. Liberty IT promotes creating a positive work culture through initiatives such as an active Sports and Social club, our employee well-being committee LIT Balance and our employee engagement committee LIT Engages. In addition, as an organization we promote a culture of corporate social responsibility through our Charity committee and related events such as the Serve with Liberty day. Through these initiatives and others, Liberty IT aims to create a positive experience for all employees and we are proud of our Great Place to Work awards in both Ireland and the UK. Best wishes in your new role Willie

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Long serving employee

      Sep 27, 2016 - Senior Software Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working arrangements Excellent work life balance Great benefits All of which combine to make a company you would like to stay in for a long time

      Cons

      Salary seems low - in my experience you are not rewarded for long service, if you don't negotiate a good salary on the way into the company you are stuck on a below average salary for the length of your service, although Liberty do conduct surveys to check salaries they do not publish salary bands so there is no way of knowing if your salary matches others of the same grade, performance and service.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Liberty IT Response

      HR Director

      Thanks for taking the time to write your review and I was really pleased to read that your overall LIT experience has been positive across your 10+ years. It’s great to read that you appreciate the flexible working and benefits we offer to our employees. As you will know, we have always placed significant focus on the culture and environment we create for our employees; it’s the people after all that make Liberty IT a great place to work! Finally, in relation to your comment on salaries; you are correct, we do benchmark both our salaries and benefits extensively in both Belfast and Dublin to ensure the full package is competitive and reflective of the market. We also review salaries internally to ensure internal equity. If you haven’t already done so, I would encourage you to attend our internal Compensation & Benefits roadshow to learn more about our approach or meantime have a chat with your manager or director. Thanks again for the review. Regards Cathy

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work with great benefits and work-life balance

      Jun 8, 2016 - Software Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great Flexible Working / Work-Life Balance / Home Working Options. -Good Career Paths / Structure -Senior Management / Directors are very approachable and friendly. -Great place to start your career -Given the right equipment to do your job -Bonus and Benefits are good. -On Site Gym (Belfast), Discounted gym membership (Dublin and Belfast) -Regular 1-1's with your Project Lead/Manager -Own your own career -Endless training available -Tech Talks with free pizza/snacks -Support external events such as STEM and work closely with Business in the Community. -Good Charity support The list can go on!

      Cons

      No pay bands available but they do pay fair. Not the highest but not the lowest, they are at a 'mid' point.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Liberty IT Response

      Managing Director

      Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and needless to say, I am delighted that you are enjoying such a range of benefits and are having a very positive experience working at Liberty IT. I note your comment in relation to our senior project managers (SPM’s) being more involved with teams. I’d encourage you to speak directly with your SPM and I’m sure he/she would be more than happy to meet more regularly with your team if that would be of value. Of course, if you don’t feel comfortable doing that, perhaps mention it to your manager during a 1-1 or team meeting and he/she can make the suggestion on your behalf. Thanks again, Willie

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Really care about their people

      Jun 1, 2016 - Senior Project Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked in many places that pay lip service to work life balance. Liberty actually mean it and it's demonstrated daily from flexible working to regular social events and big commitments to local charities and other community involvement.

      Cons

      Working with the US can occasionally lead to a clash of working styles or requests for meetings out of hours. Management are always supportive of these cant be met

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Liberty IT Response

      HR Director

      Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of working at LIT. We are committed to doing our best to help our employees to find a balance that works for them as are very aware that balancing busy home and work lives can be tough so I am glad you have found a positive balance. Being good citizens in our local communities is of utmost importance as is finding ways to support our employees in spending quality social time with each other– after all, we spend as much time in work as we do with our own families Monday to Friday! I appreciate that working globally can sometimes pose challenges but I am pleased that management are supportive when these challenges arise. It also opens up a world of exciting opportunities which I hope you are benefiting from also. Regards Cathy

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Senior Business Analyst

      Jan 14, 2016 - Senior Business Analyst in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      very flexible working hours, travel, no micro management, feels like the work you do actually makes a difference, not corporate at all, freedom to make improvements where needed, career opportunities, people who work here are great, lots of perks and extras, great work life balance, managers easy to talk to

      Cons

      does not pay as high as competition, but this is well balanced out by flexibility and perks

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work, below average salary...

      Jul 8, 2015 - Associate Software Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic colleagues and very good managers No blame culture - making a mistake is far from the end of the world You can forget about work when you leave the office for the evening/weekend Flexible working / working from home Relatively quick opportunity for promotion

      Cons

      Below average salary - although HR will try to convince you that it is "competitive"

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Liberty IT Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Liberty IT? Share Your Experiences

    or