Lidl "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Lidl Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 2 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Lidl CEO Jesper Hojer (no image)
Jesper Hojer
390 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and opportunity to grow(in 217 reviews)

  • "good salary developed people very fast if they see potential(in 61 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours with no thanks or appreciation(in 157 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is not the greatest but then time can be taken back at a later date if you work more hours(in 155 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Customer advisory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advisor in Bangor, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good pay good holidays great team

    Cons

    long hours that aren't sociable

    Lidl2020-01-02
  2. "Hard work, you earn your money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Birmingham, England

    I have been working at Lidl part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Good team Discount card

    Cons

    Very hard work Long hours Short breaks

    Lidl2019-12-23
  3. "Get paid for hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Bristol, England

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Efficient company to work in

    Cons

    Hard work and long hours

    Lidl2019-11-23
  4. "Working as a customer assistant at Lidl"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Hornchurch, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - good pay - discount card - 30 days holiday - consistent pay

    Cons

    - long hours - very few free weekends - a lot of multitasking - Not enough staff to support on shift - Short breaks

    Advice to Management

    - extend breaks or even the work load - increase discount card rate - more supporting staff - be more accessible

    Lidl2019-12-04
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Deputy Store Manager 

    I worked at Lidl full-time

    Pros

    Good wage and co-workers there

    Cons

    Long hours And lack of social life

    Lidl2019-11-18
  6. "Retail Placement Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Industrial Placement Student 

    I worked at Lidl

    Pros

    Good company culture Good scheme and lots of chance to explore different parts of the business very good pay

    Cons

    Often work long hours during the store placement

    Lidl2019-11-15
  7. "Great Place to Work, but tough hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Genuine opportunity to progress Great training Lovely people

    Cons

    Long Hours, regularly had to stay long after I was due to finish

    Lidl2019-11-06
  8. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Doncaster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good rates of pay and discount.

    Cons

    Can be long hours and shifts.

    Lidl2019-11-05
  9. "Hard Work, but High Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Industrial Placement Student in Lutterworth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl for more than a year

    Pros

    Rotational nature of the placement gives you insight into multiple areas of the business, with lots of flexibility on mixing and matching what you want to learn. Plenty of access to training opportunities

    Cons

    Hard work and long hours, you do everything from cleaning bins and picking stock to management level stuff

    Advice to Management

    Give more opportunities to placement students, we want to learn

    Lidl2019-10-06
  10. "Avoid!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Lidl part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - not too bad hourly rate

    Cons

    - long hours stuck on a till - favouritism - late finishes - being spoken to like you’re trash - favouritism

    Lidl2019-10-05
Found 157 reviews
</>Embed