Lifetime Training Employee Reviews about "learners"

Updated 6 Oct 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Lifetime Training CEO Alex Khan
Alex Khan
103 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are ample opportunities for career progression, and Lifetime will also fund your teaching/assessor qualifications too(in 7 reviews)

  • "Flexible working hours at Lifetime(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "A lot of travelling not just to see learners but for constant meetings(in 13 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is not seen as important(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "learners"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fantastic place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Development Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lifetime Training full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun, exciting and lively place to work, with a team of very motivated employees all around me. Lots of variety in the role and a culture of supporting each other. The management team listen to your ideas and implement them. They run the SPIRIT awards every year, which is an internal colleague recognition event. They host Christmas parties and also regular events for the head office team, such as pub quizzes and rounder's. We have an excellent culture here and everyone who works here love it so much, they become true 'Lifetimer's' (that's what we call people here, as we all stay so long).

    Cons

    Over the past 11 years, I have worked at 3 national training providers and I can say with the upmost confidence that there are no cons of working for Lifetime and it is truly the best training provider there is. They invest heavily in the infrastructure of the company, which has a positive impact on the team members here and more importantly the learner.

    Continue reading
  2. "Good company with excellent resources but no work life balance"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Trainer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lifetime Training full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent resources Good learner resources Training offered to staff

    Cons

    A lot of travelling not just to see learners but for constant meetings To many KPIs every meeting a new KPI was added Very high case load Too many managers and not enough people actually doing the job

    Continue reading

    Lifetime Training Response

    October 19, 2020Resourcing Partner

    Thank you for your review and feedback. I would certainly like to explore the work life balance issue and as the Resourcing Partner, I ma currently working to ensure that all employees and managers are aware of how to manage and approach flexible working. As we are now a much more remote business, due to the current situation, I would hope that this has helped to balance the demands of learner visits, workload and travel time and that upi can feel more comfortable with your balance. Ff this is not the case, I would encourage you to speak directly with your Line Manager, who can help support you in this or alternatively you can contact your HRBP or myself.


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Unfair targets and constantly battling with head office"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Trainer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lifetime Training full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Area managers are great Good rate on mileage expenses Decent onboarding programme

    Cons

    Targets constantly shifting and changing No transparency around data used for targets - is consistently incorrectly calculated Accounts team and upper management looking out for themselves at the expense of Trainers, as well as Learner progression

    Lifetime Training Response

    September 24, 2020Resourcing Partner

    Thank you so much for your review and whilst I am pleased to hear that you had a great experience with our managers, I am also disappointed to hear that you felt the targets were not clear and calculated incorrectly. It would be good to get some more details around this so that we can investigate why you felt this way and take steps to make sure this is not the case for others. Please feel free to contact me directly; felicity.white@lifetimetraining.co.uk

  4. "Great experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Trainer - Business and Commerce in Camberley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lifetime Training full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lifetime really look after you as an employee, there are lots of opportunities to grow and develop in your career. You will learn lots of skills and meet plenty of different people. It's a different day everyday in the role of an RT, great opportunities to build your own business near where you live and choose your learners after a year or so of carrying out the regional trainer role. Lifetime provide alot of training, I gained alot of my own certificates through Lifetime as an employee. Great conferences and get togethers with the team, even better nights out!

    Cons

    It can be stressful, there is alot to learn but I see this as a plus. It can also be long hours if you are travelling far. You will also get learners who are a nightmare to manage.

    Continue reading

    Lifetime Training Response

    September 24, 2019Resourcing Partner

    Hi. Thank you for a really balanced and insightful review and it is great to hear that you are making the most of the opportunities we offer for growth and development. The role does offer challenges and it is great to hear that you embrace these and see them as a positive. With regards to caseload our maximum caseload is 45 and in most cases our trainers are either at that or below. However we understand that PPED can impact this and prove a challenge. Please be assured that this is high on the agenda for our Directors and exec team. Please feel free to contact either myself or the team directly with any feedback or ideas you have. It would be really helpful. Felicity

  5. "Great job if you like learning"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Trainer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lifetime Training full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is an interesting job, focused on people development and building relationships with various stakeholders. Every day is different and providing great challenges. It's for well organised people who can work independently and don't mind giving extra time and effort. Due to delivering a wide variety of apprenticeship courses, it provides excellent opportunity for own development. Teams are amazingly supportive and fun. Lifetime delivers and supports CPD activities. Working days Monday-Friday and free Christmas - great advantage.

    Cons

    - high caseloads, difficult to give same level of attention to every single learner - travel between sites may take too long, affecting productive time - admin activities are endless

    Continue reading

    Lifetime Training Response

    July 25, 2019Resourcing Partner

    Thank you so much for your feedback. You have really highlighted some of the great things about working with Lifetime. It is a challenging role and we are constantly working to keep caseloads at an average of 45. Our Ways of Working (WOW) are designed to hep with the demands of the admin and the role itself but it might be a good idea to link in with your Manager to see if they can help with this side of things.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Trainer in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lifetime Training full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None I can think of

    Cons

    Caseloads too high to provide a quality service the learners and accounts deserve and have been promised. Geographical areas are huge to cover which adds to the pressure of the high caseload as less time to spend with leArners and more time travelling. Too many chiefs not enough Indians.. not enough people at the coal face who are generating the money and too many people pulling then in diffrent directions Salary not competitive with other training providers full onboarding is not needed for a fully qualified New Colleague unqualified colleagues get too much too soon with no time to learn Full revamp needed in lifetimes DNA behaviours as they are talked about a lot but not always followed by higher management key accounts over promising clients what can be delivered and new learners booked in. This affects existing learners journeys as their visits are prolonged Overwhelming pressure on regional trainers without the salary to justify it Higher management don’t know what’s happening at ground level and when issues and problems reported nothing seems to happen they seem blinkered to reports ant targets and not the real issues of what’s happening ? They make out they care but show no empathy.its all targets targets targets. This affects the colleagues and the journey the learners have been sold into them. Employers of learners have no clue their staffs learning is being compromised by the targets and bullying culture within lifetime.

    Continue reading

    Lifetime Training Response

    March 11, 2019Resourcing Partner

    Firstly, I am sorry to hear your experience wasn’t as excellent as you or I would like it to be and I thank you for taking the time to feedback on Lifetime and your advice to the management. I would welcome the opportunity to meet with you to be able to explore your areas of concern in more detail as the engagement of the team and our learners and the quality of our provision is of paramount importance to myself. Over the last 6 months we have invested heavily in growing our team of Regional Trainers to support business growth and we bespoke our Company onboarding programme in light of the new Lifetimer’s experience and qualifications. All senior leaders carry out monthly field observations across the provision to make sure we recognise the great work our field team do and understand what and where the areas of improvement are within operations so we can put the right solutions in place. We also hold Employee Forums and beHEARD, our Company Engagement Survey to ensure all Lifetimers have a clear voice and so it is disappointing to hear you did not benefit from these initiatives. As I mentioned, I would be very keen to meet with you to fully understand your Lifetime experience, so please do contact me at Alex.Khan@lifetimetraining.co.uk Kind regards Alex

  7. Helpful (2)

    "No work life balance"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Trainer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lifetime Training full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Your colleagues are supportive -work is enjoyable when you are with a learner, although this I found was a small part of the job -regular sector meetings held to improve knowledge and quality

    Cons

    Non existent work life balance. When your often 11 hour work day was over(including travelling) you had admin and reporting to do in the evenings. KPI’s are hard to meet and reasons as for why you haven’t met them ie a learner not turning up for a visit or are sick are not accepted Constant pressure- when your learners have all met their planned end dates, managers are still on your back. Often have to pick up work from other trainers who have gone off suddenly from mental health issues or have been fired due to doing the learners work for them in a bid to meet their kpis. The amount of data you have to feed in and report is overwhelming. Too many people at lifetime are unhappy and i know many good rt’s are looking for other work.

    Continue reading

    Lifetime Training Response

    June 1, 2018Resourcing Partner

    Firstly, my sincere apologies for the delay in my response. I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed the company of your colleagues and supporting our learners at Lifetime, however I am sorry to hear your experience wasn’t as excellent as you or I would like it to be. We recognise the quality of our line managers has a significant impact on your experience working for us. In the last 12 months we have launched three management development programmes to ensure our managers are continuously developed to provide the best support possible to their team members. We understand this may not have had time to impact your experience, and we will continue to apply focus in this area for the benefit of all our employees. We have lots of great data on the progress of our learners and our employees, and we are working continuously to improve the way our team members can use this to it’s greatest advantage. Simpler is often better and thank you for sharing that. I wish you all the best in your next role and thank you for your contribution to Lifetime. Kind regards Tessa James, HRD

  8. Helpful (6)

    "Bullies, who couldn’t care less about employer wellbeing."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lifetime Training full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible role, able to manage own diary when not dictated by upper management. Love the actual meetings with learners and employers and teaching and learning sessions.

    Cons

    Where do I start. -Bullying culture around KPIs. They impact so severely on quality it’s stupid. You cannot manage both. The only way this is possible is to work very long unpaid hours to stop management getting at you over minor things -No clear role and responsibilities for Regional Trainers. Randomly add more and more responsibilities to you without actually telling you. You only find out when you haven’t done it and they’re chasing you for it. It seems they put everything on RTs when other teams can’t be bothered. Give RTs some slack! We are run ragged! - work life balance is non existent. And staff are too afraid to speak up about it because of the harsh bullying nature of the company. You mention you don’t have the balance you get blamed and it’s your own fault. Not that what they ask of you simply is impossible to do within the paid hours. -expected to start answering emails from 7am yet not actually paid until 9am. - Quality is not at the heart of lifetime. Profit is. -The WOW ways of working do not work. End of. - Micro-Managed severely to the point you are treated like a child being told off at school. We are professionals. Recognise it. -No career progression. If you join Lifetime, you’ve ended your career there. - Twice in one month asked to reschedule my whole diary by the OM. Had to cancel learner visits which then impacted else where. -No support to staff at all. If you have an issue the AM doesn’t help. Speak to head office? They will just ignore you until you go away. -Highly stressful for no reason. -big caseloads. -Huge areas to cover. -High staff turn over as no one is happy. -Bonus’ are very hard to earn -Targeted to watch silly videos that have no benefit to my role. -no sick pay. This is the kicker. This job is making me mentally ill. Asked for help... to be ignored. Makes me feel worthless and nothing is ever good enough no matter how many hours I work unpaid just to meet your silly KPIs. Need to take time off. But guess what, you won’t be paid for it! Because they don’t care about staff. I am only ill because of them but I have to take any illness unpaid. It’s disgusting. -Reported malpractice as per policy. Got ignored because they were ‘meeting their targets’. Seems they only care about numbers. -No increase in salary. Minimum wage has risen 2/3 times since working here, yet my salary has never changed. So I am actually earning less now. -You speak up about any problems you get managed out of the company. That’s why everyone is so afraid to say anything. -I used to love this role, but now I hate it. All values and beliefs have been lost along the way by lifetime. Just another big corporate company running itself into the ground.

    Continue reading

    Lifetime Training Response

    June 1, 2018Resourcing Partner

    Firstly, my sincere apologies for the delay in my response, and thank you for your comprehensive feedback. I am sorry to hear you haven’t had the great experience we strive to achieve for all Lifetime employees, and I am disappointed to hear many of your concerns. As a Regional Trainer, you are at the heart beat of our business, and we trust and rely on you to provide a great experience to our learners. If we are not providing you with the environment, tools and management to do so, then we have let you down and will work tirelessly until it is addressed. We understand that some RT’s currently have caseloads that are higher than we would like due to the increase in learners starting apprenticeships before the introduction of the levy, and we are committed to reaching caseloads of 40. The development, well-being and happiness of all Lifetimers is of paramount importance to myself and our leadership team, so I would value the opportunity to talk with you and would ask that you contact me on ask.alex@lifetimetraining.co.uk so we can understand your individual situation and ensure our plans are getting to the heart of the issue. With gratitude Alex Khan, CEO

  9. Helpful (5)

    "Regional Trainers at breaking point"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Lifetime Training full-time

    Pros

    - Fun onboarding experience - Good colleagues - Gaining qualifications

    Cons

    - No work/life balance - High caseload numbers - Having to pick up slack of sales team and generate leads, leaving less time with learners - Areas geographically too large - Visit recording process through e-portfolio too time consuming - Businesses unable to give you time with staff for visits - High staff turnover - Penalised for things out of your control - Lengthy sign-up procedure I onboarded with a group of about 15. About 50% had left before first year.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Asssessors are undervalued and overworked"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assessor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lifetime Training full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The onboarding experience. The basic salary and pension look good until you realise you have 30 more learners than other companies deem appropriate.

    Cons

    Once in post there is extreme levels of pressure to the point of bullying. 2.75 visits per day, sign up and generate 5 learners a month, no critical learners, 95% of learners booked for next visit. One leaver maximum a month, plus functional skills exams and S&L, this leads to high levels of assessor turnover. Most Assessors last less than one year. For some of my learners I am their 5th assessor, there are also lots of redundancies about 60 before Christmas. Very high caseloads 70 plus, an expectation to work very long hours, every hour you work over 39 is gifted to the shareholders as overtime is not paid. This job has left me feeling dehumanised, stressed and deskilled. The company looked too good to be true when I joined, sadly I was proven right.

    Continue reading

    Lifetime Training Response

    February 4, 2018Resourcing Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback as it is really valuable for us to be able to pick up on the concerns of our colleagues. The Executive Team and Senior Management are currently reviewing average caseloads and it is our intention for an RT’s core caseload to be at a manageable level to allow learners to have a quality learning experience with Lifetime and for our trainers to be able to excel. We are aware there are currently some spikes in caseload caused by the pre levy starts boom and we are actively recruiting RT’s to address this as well as certain geographical areas, such as the South East, that can be challenging to recruit within. We are also aware of trainers facing additional delivery complexity as caseloads transition from frameworks to standards and we are holding workshops and monthly CPD to support all colleagues in the new delivery model. It is great to hear that on boarding was a positive experience, as based on RT feedback, we have worked on evolving and improving the on boarding program. At Lifetime we endorse an open and honest culture, so we would welcome you contacting a member of the People team to further support your current concerns. Thank you again for your feedback. It helps make Lifetime an even better place to work

Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 English Reviews