Lifetime Training Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 9 Oct 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Lifetime Training CEO Alex Khan
Alex Khan
103 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are ample opportunities for career progression, and Lifetime will also fund your teaching/assessor qualifications too(in 7 reviews)

  • "Flexible working hours at Lifetime(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "A lot of travelling not just to see learners but for constant meetings(in 13 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is not seen as important(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fast Paced, Decent Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospitality NVQ Assessor in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lifetime Training full-time

    Pros

    Development Outstanding support Amazing epople to work with

    Cons

    Unrealistic targets constant change difficult work/life balance

    Lifetime Training Response

    October 19, 2020Resourcing Partner

    Thank you for your review and rating, I am pleased to hear that you are finding the development and support valuable. With regards to the cons of the business, I would encourage you to speak directly to your line manager about your work/life balance and your targets. It may be that with the current situation forcing us to work more remotely that you will be able to maximise your visit time without the added tome pressure of the travel. I do hope this is something we can support you through and continue to appreciate all your hard work and commitment at such difficult time.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Gone Downhill"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lifetime Training full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Colleagues, Perkbox, Quality is important,

    Cons

    Only care about finances, since being run by a bank they care little for the staff. The morale has gone downhill. Internal development is rare as so many people go for roles and if unsuccesful do not give adequate training to support. Benefits are poor except Perkbox, offer statutory in most areas, do not go above and beyond, yet expect all staff to work long hours. Work life balance is not seen as important.

    Continue reading

    Lifetime Training Response

    October 19, 2020Resourcing Partner

    Thank you for your feedback and review. I am sorry to hear that, although you have been with the company for so long you left feeling that you had had a negative experience. I will certainly take on board your comments and share them with our senior leadership team. It is a shame that you felt that internal development had not been available to you, especially since within the last five years we launched our Journey of a Lifetime (a full programme of blended learning which supports the personal development plan which is laid out in your Evolve conversation). We have also launched Career Zones which support pathways to development for our colleagues. As a commercial business we are naturally required to work to targets and although we are not run by a 'bank', we do have private equity commitments which we need to meet. This should not effect the quality of our delivery which is why we also have stringent quality measures and the success of these is reflected in our customer satisfaction surveys and our Ofsted rating. I am sorry however that you did not feel that this was your experience and I would be happy for any specific example your could provide to me so that I can ensure that this is not happening in the business. please feel free to contact me at felicity.white@lifetimetraining.co.uk. I wish you all the best in your future career.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company but lacks work life balance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lifetime Training full-time

    Pros

    Great team, high quality IT equipment, competent senior management

    Cons

    lack of work life balance, unrealistic KPI's / targets

    Lifetime Training Response

    March 13, 2020Resourcing Partner

    Thank you for your honest feedback. You have highlighted some of the real positives of working for Lifetime. I am disappointing to hear work/life balance was an area that you struggled to find and would be keen to understand what your thoughts are on why this may have been. Being flexible in our approach to working hours and trying to maintain workload balance is critical for us and the wellbeing of our employees. Please feel free to contact me directly with any additional feedback you have so that we can continue to work towards a solution that works for everyone. felicity.white@lifetimetraining.co.uk

  4. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support 

    I have been working at Lifetime Training full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice atmosphere, friendly people, good work life balance

    Cons

    Departments not always working that well together

  5. "Great Company who value their people and their individual skills"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Sales in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lifetime Training full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee Engagement, Career Progression, Work/Life balance, Social, Strong People focus.

    Cons

    Central location with limited car parking may not suit everyone

    Lifetime Training Response

    July 15, 2019Resourcing Partner

    Thank you for your positive review. It is great to hear that many of Lifetime’s people initiatives such as our career development programme, “Journey of a Lifetime” and “beHeard”, our engagement survey are making a positive impact to your time and career at Lifetime. Kind regards, Fe White

  6. "Overall good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lifetime Training full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and a good work life balance . Salary is ok and managers are supportive . Lots of changes are made within the company for the better and I fee listened too .

    Cons

    A recent change to Bonus structures has seen some staff lose 3K a year so Trainers are starting to leave . Hard to get promoted due to lack of opportunities

    Continue reading

    Lifetime Training Response

    May 21, 2019Resourcing Partner

    Thanks for your feedback, it is really helpful and I am, so pleased to hear that you feel supported in role and 'listened to'. I would be really happy to talk through the bonus structure with you to give you some context to the changes and how this structure should benefit our trainers in a fair and consistent way. Please feel free to drop me an email directly if you would like to talk felicity.white@lifetimetraining.co.uk

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fantasic Employer with great support"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Trainer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lifetime Training full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I came into this position around 18 months ago, fresh from Retail. Initially when starting with the business, there is a lot of new things to learn such as new systems, ways of working, expectations etc, KPI’s, however there is a fantastic on-boarding programme in place to support everyone to ensure they are fully ready to deliver the training out in the field to learners. There is such a huge amount of support from IQA’s, Area Managers and colleagues within the business on a day to day basis and you get to meet and talk to so many different people within different job roles. You are able to plan your own diary and manage your entire caseload which provides fantastic flexibility and excellent work life balance. There is the opportunity to achieve 2 nationally recognised teaching qualifications which is great and allocated time each month for personal development. I am very passionate about my role as a trainer and do love to go above and beyond what is expected, however this does not go unrecognised. I have had fantastic feedback from stakeholders within the business and have received emails and won a mini award for my hard work which makes everything so much more worthwhile and something that keeps me very motivated. I also study a degree part time and my area manager has really supported me with this, allowing me time in my CPD time to complete assignments and always asking how I’m getting on. Overall, I thoroughly enjoy my role and looking forward to taking on new challenges and progressing myself into a managerial role in the future.

    Cons

    It isn’t a con, but the first couple of weeks can seem daunting as there is a lot of new information to learn, however you are not expected to learn this immediately - practise makes perfect and there is a lot of support to ensure you are able to do your job.

    Continue reading

    Lifetime Training Response

    February 28, 2019Resourcing Partner

    Hi. Thank you so much for posting such a fantastic and positive review. I love that you are taking advantage of being being able to manage your diary and being recognised for all your fantastic work. What a truly life-changing person.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lifetime Training full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance compared to previous, similar, role elsewhere Opportunites to develop career (if you want to) Discounts in lots of stores and services

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Lifetime Training Response

    February 12, 2019Resourcing Partner

    It is great to hear that you are finding a good work-life balance. We are dedicated to the wellbeing of our people and a strong work/life balance is key to this. Don't forget to check out our wellbeing hub. I am also pleased to hear that you are recognising the opportunities to grow with the business.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "No work life balance"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Trainer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lifetime Training full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Your colleagues are supportive -work is enjoyable when you are with a learner, although this I found was a small part of the job -regular sector meetings held to improve knowledge and quality

    Cons

    Non existent work life balance. When your often 11 hour work day was over(including travelling) you had admin and reporting to do in the evenings. KPI’s are hard to meet and reasons as for why you haven’t met them ie a learner not turning up for a visit or are sick are not accepted Constant pressure- when your learners have all met their planned end dates, managers are still on your back. Often have to pick up work from other trainers who have gone off suddenly from mental health issues or have been fired due to doing the learners work for them in a bid to meet their kpis. The amount of data you have to feed in and report is overwhelming. Too many people at lifetime are unhappy and i know many good rt’s are looking for other work.

    Continue reading

    Lifetime Training Response

    June 1, 2018Resourcing Partner

    Firstly, my sincere apologies for the delay in my response. I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed the company of your colleagues and supporting our learners at Lifetime, however I am sorry to hear your experience wasn’t as excellent as you or I would like it to be. We recognise the quality of our line managers has a significant impact on your experience working for us. In the last 12 months we have launched three management development programmes to ensure our managers are continuously developed to provide the best support possible to their team members. We understand this may not have had time to impact your experience, and we will continue to apply focus in this area for the benefit of all our employees. We have lots of great data on the progress of our learners and our employees, and we are working continuously to improve the way our team members can use this to it’s greatest advantage. Simpler is often better and thank you for sharing that. I wish you all the best in your next role and thank you for your contribution to Lifetime. Kind regards Tessa James, HRD

  10. Helpful (6)

    "Bullies, who couldn’t care less about employer wellbeing."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lifetime Training full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible role, able to manage own diary when not dictated by upper management. Love the actual meetings with learners and employers and teaching and learning sessions.

    Cons

    Where do I start. -Bullying culture around KPIs. They impact so severely on quality it’s stupid. You cannot manage both. The only way this is possible is to work very long unpaid hours to stop management getting at you over minor things -No clear role and responsibilities for Regional Trainers. Randomly add more and more responsibilities to you without actually telling you. You only find out when you haven’t done it and they’re chasing you for it. It seems they put everything on RTs when other teams can’t be bothered. Give RTs some slack! We are run ragged! - work life balance is non existent. And staff are too afraid to speak up about it because of the harsh bullying nature of the company. You mention you don’t have the balance you get blamed and it’s your own fault. Not that what they ask of you simply is impossible to do within the paid hours. -expected to start answering emails from 7am yet not actually paid until 9am. - Quality is not at the heart of lifetime. Profit is. -The WOW ways of working do not work. End of. - Micro-Managed severely to the point you are treated like a child being told off at school. We are professionals. Recognise it. -No career progression. If you join Lifetime, you’ve ended your career there. - Twice in one month asked to reschedule my whole diary by the OM. Had to cancel learner visits which then impacted else where. -No support to staff at all. If you have an issue the AM doesn’t help. Speak to head office? They will just ignore you until you go away. -Highly stressful for no reason. -big caseloads. -Huge areas to cover. -High staff turn over as no one is happy. -Bonus’ are very hard to earn -Targeted to watch silly videos that have no benefit to my role. -no sick pay. This is the kicker. This job is making me mentally ill. Asked for help... to be ignored. Makes me feel worthless and nothing is ever good enough no matter how many hours I work unpaid just to meet your silly KPIs. Need to take time off. But guess what, you won’t be paid for it! Because they don’t care about staff. I am only ill because of them but I have to take any illness unpaid. It’s disgusting. -Reported malpractice as per policy. Got ignored because they were ‘meeting their targets’. Seems they only care about numbers. -No increase in salary. Minimum wage has risen 2/3 times since working here, yet my salary has never changed. So I am actually earning less now. -You speak up about any problems you get managed out of the company. That’s why everyone is so afraid to say anything. -I used to love this role, but now I hate it. All values and beliefs have been lost along the way by lifetime. Just another big corporate company running itself into the ground.

    Continue reading

    Lifetime Training Response

    June 1, 2018Resourcing Partner

    Firstly, my sincere apologies for the delay in my response, and thank you for your comprehensive feedback. I am sorry to hear you haven’t had the great experience we strive to achieve for all Lifetime employees, and I am disappointed to hear many of your concerns. As a Regional Trainer, you are at the heart beat of our business, and we trust and rely on you to provide a great experience to our learners. If we are not providing you with the environment, tools and management to do so, then we have let you down and will work tirelessly until it is addressed. We understand that some RT’s currently have caseloads that are higher than we would like due to the increase in learners starting apprenticeships before the introduction of the levy, and we are committed to reaching caseloads of 40. The development, well-being and happiness of all Lifetimers is of paramount importance to myself and our leadership team, so I would value the opportunity to talk with you and would ask that you contact me on ask.alex@lifetimetraining.co.uk so we can understand your individual situation and ensure our plans are getting to the heart of the issue. With gratitude Alex Khan, CEO

Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 English Reviews