Lingo Live Reviews

Updated Dec 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 of over 45 reviews

3.7
62%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Lingo Live Founder and CEO Tyler Muse
Tyler Muse
23 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,892

960 Comments

Teachers

167.9K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Lingo Live~1263715
Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Compassion and Authenticity

    Dec 22, 2021 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've now been with Lingo Live for one year. I was hesitant to join a company in "startup" mode, but after a lot of research and consulting with my mentors, I realized this was the right educated risk. WOW, I've been overly impressed with the product we are offering and the culture that lives within Lingo Live. If you are looking to work with a driven team that is compassionate and authentic in how they show up to work. I recommend Lingo Live.

    Cons

    Cons for some but not for me.... If you cannot handle change management, this might not be a suitable space for you. You need to be able to wear multiple hats and be comfortable in finding solutions vs. asking for answers. I find this gratifying and allows me the opportunity to grow professionally.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Mission driven startup that walks the talk

    Dec 22, 2021 - Growth 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Intentional and proactive focus on building a diverse and effective team. Genuine care for team member’s well-being (need a recharge day)? Autonomy to focus on your work and control your schedule. Surrounded by team mates who also have a collaborative and growth mindset. The opportunity to see and hear how our product helps others grow personally and professionally is extremely rewarding.

    Cons

    These are mostly cons for those who want to work in an office setting as Lingo Live is fully remote. You won’t have the daily opportunities for “water cooler” moments. Also because we are a globally distributed company that works with companies around the world, it can sometimes be challenging to have a consistent schedule if you need to meet with team members and clients in vastly different time zones.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A truly remote-first company with an awesome culture

    Dec 22, 2021 - Head of Demand Generation 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Before joining Lingo Live, I was really captivated by the company’s values. All of the values resonated with me, and some were phrases I regularly said to my team during meetings. I feel a lot of companies write down their values, but don’t necessarily follow them. I joined not knowing what to expect, but I was immediately surprised that the team actively promotes and practices these values. As I look at this list, I feel that there isn’t a single thing that I would add or remove from it: - Lead with what you know is right - Encourage meaningful human connections - Rise by lifting others - Grit matters more than talent - Underpromise, overdeliver - No one is going to die These values are essential in determining what our culture is like and after a while working here, I realized how they truly impact our daily work lives. We are a fully remote company where everyone here knows how to work remotely with each other. We understand the value of working asynchronously and getting together to discuss projects at a deeper level. This avoids countless hours of meetings and increases productivity, as everyone is trusted to work at their own pace in their own schedule. As with every organization, it’s the people here really make working at Lingo Live truly special. I am impressed by how everyone on the team always has something insightful or compassionate to contribute. Moreover, the exec team is truly committed to making DEI a reality and not just checking a box. So far, my experience has been incredible and I am really happy working here. I get to work with what I like, in my own time zone, and meet awesome people daily. I ‘m sure I’ll come back in a few months to update this review with more information about how I progressed as a professional and an individual being at Lingo Live.

    Cons

    The only negative part about working at Lingo Live is not being able to meet the team regularly.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    sadljflEJFH

    Dec 4, 2021 - Customer Success 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    people are likeable and have good intentions

    Cons

    there's a lot of drama in the people

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Learning Environment & a safe place to fail, learn, and keep improving.

    Nov 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    One thing that has kept me working at Lingo Live for almost 4 years now is that they truly foster an environment of learning, and I’ve continued to stay challenged and to grow all this time. This is something that’s especially improved over the last two years. I feel that it’s a safe place for me to fail, reflect, and learn from my mistakes as a leader and individual contributor, and in my mind, there is no better way to learn. The company continues to hire amazing talent that challenges the legacy employees to see things in a new and different light and has made the company better as a whole. The people at Lingo Live are truly passionate about the mission and values, and this is truly special in a startup/small company culture. Lastly, they have continued to improve their remote company culture, and have fully embraced this. This is important for me, and being fully remote has allowed me to create a more balanced life for myself inside and outside of work and to work autonomously. I look forward to more travel opportunities to be with colleagues b/c I know these will increase, but I am grateful that remote is the life here!

    Cons

    The company is small and you may wear many hats and be more collaborative with all company departments than you may be if you were at a larger company. I personally thrive in this type of environment, but I realize it’s not for everyone who may want to just perform in one focused role.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Is potential enough?

    Sep 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Company has been focused on bringing in great talent - Mission-focused, if sometimes misplaced - Amazing internal team and a lot of great coaches - New CPO is a rockstar but stretched SO thin - worry about her leaving and going to a competitor to lead - we'd be in trouble. - Trying to grow out of the startup mentality and see positive changes - HUGE strides in the way company thinks of coaching - A lot of potential with the right person at the helm - Actual changes seen in diversity on the team - Have a leader or two willing to lean into hard discussions

    Cons

    - Leadership team needs development - too many "yes" people - CEO is a nice guy, but not a CEO - Little experience and it shows, and hurts - SO much turnover in the past at senior levels, When you get a great person it's like waiting for the shoe to drop. With so many options, hard to put up with not having a voice. - A few "coasters" - Great ideas and "innovation" stifled when team has to follow whatever whim the CEO has

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    A cult-like startup representing itself as a happy family

    Aug 10, 2021 - Language Coach 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Relatively flexible approach to coaching. Good pay if you live outside the States. Some of the most amazing and helpful coworkers.

    Cons

    Constant scrutiny from people who aren't qualified for the position, slow response time from management often met with template emails and patronizing answers. Illusion of having your voice heard when in reality you are given an ultimatum. Higher-ups hire their family members and friends while effectively leaving the qualified people without jobs.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Online Coach

    Jul 21, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay and hours. Easy to recruit students.

    Cons

    Poor support. Too many students were not properly vetted. Made lessons almost impossible at times. Simple solution, blame the coaches.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Ehhh...

    Mar 3, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    you get to live in SF

    Cons

    lack of true processes, preach "bringing your whole self" to work but definitely a lack of transparency among colleagues, everyone pretty tight lipped during meetings

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    English language training company trying to move to leadership coaching

    Nov 22, 2020 - Coach in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Well intentioned people working hard.

    Cons

    No leadership or guidance for coaches.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

Lingo Live Reviews FAQs

Lingo Live has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 45 reviews left anonymously by employees. 62% of employees would recommend working at Lingo Live to a friend and 58% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -7% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Lingo Live employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Lingo Live. This rating has decreased by -8% over the last 12 months.

62% of Lingo Live employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Lingo Live 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

Popular Careers with Lingo Live Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Lingo Live? Share Your Experiences

or