London Borough of Camden Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

London Borough of Camden Reviews

Updated 3 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
London Borough of Camden CEO Jenny Rowlands
Jenny Rowlands
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Agile/flexible working is excellent, your laptop is your office so you can work from anywhere(in 15 reviews)

  • "Agile working gives me the chance to collect my kids and spend time with them(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Property manger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at London Borough of Camden full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team and help from them

    Cons

    Coffee, probabation period no parking

    London Borough of Camden2020-01-27
  2. "Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at London Borough of Camden full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility for staff Agile working

    Cons

    Constantly under review Not stable

    London Borough of Camden2020-03-04
  3. "Not for the faint hearted!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Support Worker in Camden Town, England

    I have been working at London Borough of Camden full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Colleague support & pay & positive outcomes for families

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, administration, episodes, safety & timeframes

    Continue reading
    London Borough of Camden2019-12-31
  4. "New starter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Transport Planner in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at London Borough of Camden full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good new starter process and induction

    Cons

    Not yet had one come up

    London Borough of Camden2019-11-09

    London Borough of Camden Response

    November 11, 2019Resourcing Adviser

    Thank you for your feedback. Feedback at all stages is welcome and its always good to hear our inductions for new Camden employees is so positive. Welcome to Camden and good luck in your new role!

    Continue reading
  5. "Great School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at London Borough of Camden full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A supportive community of teachers and great kids

    Cons

    Hard to progress as low staff turnover

    London Borough of Camden2019-10-29

    London Borough of Camden Response

    November 7, 2019Resourcing Adviser

    Thank you for your feedback.. its great to hear we have such a positive community of teachers and kids at our schools! It's frustrating when there is little manoeuvre for progression, if you haven't already,it might be worth speaking with your Line Manager to see if opportunities can be created for you rather than having to wait for someone to leave. On the positive side.. low turnover of staff is always a good sign of a happy workforce!

    Continue reading
  6. "Local Government"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mail and Distribution Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at London Borough of Camden full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Wide range of Jobs, Invest in Community and Staff

    Cons

    Continuous Change, Very Large organization

    London Borough of Camden2019-10-23

    London Borough of Camden Response

    November 7, 2019Resourcing Adviser

    Thank you for your feedback. I always enjoy reading about the positive impact we (Camden) have on our staff and community. We have a very diverse range of jobs at Camden from Call Centre staff, Lawyers and Social Workers to Tree Officers, Caretakers and Planning Officers.. this variety helps make Camden such an interesting place to work. Our staff are our prize asset and we try to do the very best by everyone by offering sector leading benefits including flexible working and much much more, details can be found at: https://camdengov.referrals.selectminds.com/togetherwearecamden/info/page1 In terms of continuous change, its very well documented Councils have had their budgets significantly slashed in these times of austerity. But we have taken this as a positive challenge, we have had to become much more efficient from top to bottom.. ensuring we as an organisation are more aware of each pound we spend and get the best value for our community.

    Continue reading
  7. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commissioning Manager 

    I have been working at London Borough of Camden full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great location, gym in the basement, modern offices

    Cons

    Lack of clear management, hot dusking loses the team vibe

    London Borough of Camden2019-09-15

    London Borough of Camden Response

    September 16, 2019Resourcing Adviser

    Thank you for your feedback, good or bad.. its all useful. There are many positives to working at Camden which include all you have listed as well as the flexibility of agile working which allows us to balance our work and home life. I would be keen to learn more about one of your cons, "Lack of clear management". I want to hear where we are going wrong and your ideas about how we could improve. Please get in touch, we are always willing to listen

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Good money if you can get the right job contracts (and keep them)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at London Borough of Camden full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Camden is a desirable place to live and work in London. It can be a good job if a term contract suits you and you don't want to stay long, or if you want a low level job and have no ambition to progress.

    Cons

    Where do I start? I worked in Camden for over 10 years. Its great if you can find and keep a contract. Problem is, they're always restructuring or changing things. Even permanent contracts are cancelled. When I was a Camden employee, things were pretty good at the start. But my contract was only for 2 years, so you're constantly sweating and worrying how long you'll have a job. Managers will often help you by offering you a job as a contracted temp, which basically means you can keep working after an internal Camden job expires, but the temp agency takes a chunk of your wage. All of my minor complaints aside, I have to point out the following: -Camden has this old guard inner circle. These are the golden childs, they can do no wrong and they can pretty much do anything they want and stay employed. -Managers are always infighting and often 'stab each other in the back'. Restructuring is never ending, so stress is high. Even if you continue working, you never know how long you will be. -If you are agency contracted, you're a second class worker. Managers will make comments that really degrade you. The one that hurt me the most was when they held meetings or training or functions, they'd tell you "You aren't Camden, so don't bother coming." -Its high stress. I now have a permanent health problem which I believe was started by or made worse by Camden's poor management. -Managers out and out lie to you. They'll promise you a position or contract renewal to keep you motivated, then the opportunity will 'disappear'. Managers are also terrified of staff under them doing things that might outshine them. Most managers would see this as an opportunity to develop and empower capable staff, but at Camden, many of the managers defend their empire to the last stand, and if you show too much capability, you get the boot to another department or worse. One of the weirdest things about Camden is that people you don't even know can get upset about something and make your life miserable. It really is like being back in school, the gossip flies, but here, it doesn't just hurt your feelings, it can really be a problem.

    Continue reading
    London Borough of Camden2019-07-09

    London Borough of Camden Response

    July 18, 2019Resourcing Adviser

    Thank you for your feedback. All feedback is welcome, even if it's not positive, as we are always looking to make improvements. I just wanted to feedback on a couple of the comments you made. Firstly, in reference to the treatment you received by your Line Manager. I can't comment on individual cases but what I can note is that we have been working hard on introducing more support and guidance for Line Managers. Predominantly we have a very strong management team across Camden and we are proud of the achievements made considering the financial constraints forced upon us and all public sector organisations. We are in the final stages of introducing a programme of support for our managers so they have the tools and knowledge to help them get the best out of the teams. No stone has been left unturned in respect to information and guidance for our managers and in turn this will hopefully lead to better working environments for all concerned. In respect to agency workers we have been working hard with all our services to bring down agency spend and bring more people onto Camden's payroll, this will lead to significant savings across the council. That said, agency workers are a valued resource as we often need the flexibility to meet services demands. note: agencies don't take a slice of your pay. We pay the agency for their services which include your pay, associated deductions such as NI and their agency fee (they are not a charity). This is transparent from the start and all appointing managers receive a full break down of costs before appointment. We would welcome you getting in touch to discuss your experience.

    Continue reading
  9. "Excellent service manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Children's Social Worker in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at London Borough of Camden full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly professional environment for staff and young people

    Cons

    None to offer very nice building

    Continue reading
    London Borough of Camden2019-06-26

    London Borough of Camden Response

    July 18, 2019Resourcing Adviser

    Thank you for your feedback, its always good to receive positive feedback.. Especially as its from Children's Social Care where, like every council in the UK, there is huge competition for the best Social Workers. It just shows, give Camden a chance and you wont be left disappointed! Welcome to Camden

    Continue reading
  10. "School admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Belsize Park, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at London Borough of Camden full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing location, great work benefits such as the pension scheme.

    Cons

    Due to recent cuts in funding, there are a lot of redundancies being made at the moment.

    London Borough of Camden2019-05-29

    London Borough of Camden Response

    July 18, 2019Resourcing Adviser

    Thanks you for your feedback. Yes our location is pretty amazing, especially when the sun is out and you can enjoy your lunch out on one of the green spaces or even sit on the steps by the canal.. and watch a bit of tennis on the big screen.

    Continue reading
Found 71 reviews