London Borough of Lewisham Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

London Borough of Lewisham Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
Janet Senior
0 Ratings
  1. "A knowledgeable employer that treats you well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Planner in Catford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at London Borough of Lewisham full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    The people are just brilliant, not just in the Planning Department where I worked, but those I've met in other departments. Friendly and all pulling in the same direction. I've never once felt like my concerns haven't been taken on board and the management is good too.

    Cons

    Some of the Ward Councillors can be a bit unruly, unbothered or try to tell you how to do your job, but they're not all bad.

    Advice to Management

    Stick with what you're doing, keep on the same track and I'm sure Lewisham will continue to be a great place to live, work and spend time in.

    London Borough of Lewisham2019-03-26
  2. "Leaving soon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Quality Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at London Borough of Lewisham full-time

    Pros

    -Good people, hard-working -I was able to work flexibly worked from home

    Cons

    -Poor IT infrastructure -Some managers inflexible in other teams with working from home/flexible working

    Advice to Management

    Prioritise and modernise IT infrastructure development

    London Borough of Lewisham2019-03-04
  3. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Support Officer in Catford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at London Borough of Lewisham full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Flexible working Working from home

    Cons

    Not updated when it comes to technology and software

    London Borough of Lewisham2019-02-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "team leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at London Borough of Lewisham full-time

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues and managers. Excellent work life balance , expanding their work from home opportunities

    Cons

    IT systems are diabolical ! No CRM in many departments !Like the 1980s! Even outlook freezes and crashes most days ! Also lots of downtime with staff chatting at desks for long periods and not working!

    Advice to Management

    Sort out the IT ! invest in CRM and EDRMS! No one can work effectively using spread sheets and e-mail as a filing system !! You are losing staff because of this ! Reduce noise and staff chatter!

    London Borough of Lewisham2018-11-30
  5. "Friendly, relaxed, fixed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at London Borough of Lewisham full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, staff are all very friendly, fairly generous holidays

    Cons

    Feels very old fashioned at times in terms of adapting latest technology, though this is being addressed, albeit somewhat slowly in my opinion. Socials / company activities are non existent without full self-initiative

    London Borough of Lewisham2018-04-16
  6. "Good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at London Borough of Lewisham full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great pension, and holiday allowance

    Cons

    Constant changes in role, management and policy

    London Borough of Lewisham2018-01-28
  7. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at London Borough of Lewisham part-time

      Pros

      Work life balance is great. Very full on and lots on at once however very enjoyable

      Cons

      Support staff undervalued compared to teachers

      London Borough of Lewisham2018-01-01
    • "Great place for challenging and rewarding work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at London Borough of Lewisham for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great colleagues, all focused on the same goal. Interesting work and lots of opportunities for further learning. Down-to-earth and approachable senior management. Grown-up approach to flexible working.

      Cons

      Building facilities for staff are quite run down.

      London Borough of Lewisham2017-11-16
    • "Community Services"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at London Borough of Lewisham full-time

      Pros

      Flexible working, good relationship between staff

      Cons

      Nothing specific to the council itself.

      London Borough of Lewisham2017-10-26
    • "Public Authority"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at London Borough of Lewisham full-time

      Pros

      Good employer with diverse work group

      Cons

      Directorates to be more integrated.

      Advice to Management

      For directorate integrations, you need lunch time presentations from each directorate to explain their works.

      London Borough of Lewisham2017-10-18
    Found 25 reviews