London Borough of Lewisham Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

London Borough of Lewisham Reviews

Updated 3 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
80%
Recommend to a Friend
London Borough of Lewisham CEO Janet Senior (no image)
Janet Senior
0 Ratings
  1. "1:1 support ASF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - SEN TA 

    I have been working at London Borough of Lewisham full-time

    Pros

    It is a very rewarding experience to impact a child’s first years in education

    Cons

    It is very emotionally draining and you have to know your own weaknesses

    London Borough of Lewisham2019-11-03
  2. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lewisham, England

    I worked at London Borough of Lewisham part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff at branches were nice and treated everyone fairly

    Cons

    Senior management didn't realise the massive amount of talent within the department

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your senior and non senior staff as they know what goes on on a daily basis rather than someone who stays in an office all day

    London Borough of Lewisham2019-10-26
  3. "Undervalued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrator in London, England

    I have been working at London Borough of Lewisham full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Local to home, element of flexibility

    Cons

    Doing 2 peoples work for one salary

    Advice to Management

    Value your staff more before they all end up going off sick

    London Borough of Lewisham2019-06-21
  4. "A knowledgeable employer that treats you well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Planner in Catford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at London Borough of Lewisham full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are just brilliant, not just in the Planning Department where I worked, but those I've met in other departments. Friendly and all pulling in the same direction. I've never once felt like my concerns haven't been taken on board and the management is good too.

    Cons

    Some of the Ward Councillors can be a bit unruly, unbothered or try to tell you how to do your job, but they're not all bad.

    Advice to Management

    Stick with what you're doing, keep on the same track and I'm sure Lewisham will continue to be a great place to live, work and spend time in.

    London Borough of Lewisham2019-03-26
  5. "Leaving soon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Quality Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at London Borough of Lewisham full-time

    Pros

    -Good people, hard-working -I was able to work flexibly worked from home

    Cons

    -Poor IT infrastructure -Some managers inflexible in other teams with working from home/flexible working

    Advice to Management

    Prioritise and modernise IT infrastructure development

    London Borough of Lewisham2019-03-04
  6. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Support Officer in Catford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at London Borough of Lewisham full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working Working from home

    Cons

    Not updated when it comes to technology and software

    London Borough of Lewisham2019-02-25
  7. Helpful (2)

    "team leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at London Borough of Lewisham full-time

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues and managers. Excellent work life balance , expanding their work from home opportunities

    Cons

    IT systems are diabolical ! No CRM in many departments !Like the 1980s! Even outlook freezes and crashes most days ! Also lots of downtime with staff chatting at desks for long periods and not working!

    Advice to Management

    Sort out the IT ! invest in CRM and EDRMS! No one can work effectively using spread sheets and e-mail as a filing system !! You are losing staff because of this ! Reduce noise and staff chatter!

    London Borough of Lewisham2018-11-30
  8. "Friendly, relaxed, fixed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at London Borough of Lewisham full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, staff are all very friendly, fairly generous holidays

    Cons

    Feels very old fashioned at times in terms of adapting latest technology, though this is being addressed, albeit somewhat slowly in my opinion. Socials / company activities are non existent without full self-initiative

    London Borough of Lewisham2018-04-16
  9. "Good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at London Borough of Lewisham full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pension, and holiday allowance

    Cons

    Constant changes in role, management and policy

    London Borough of Lewisham2018-01-28
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at London Borough of Lewisham part-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is great. Very full on and lots on at once however very enjoyable

    Cons

    Support staff undervalued compared to teachers

    London Borough of Lewisham2018-01-01
Found 28 reviews