London Business Conferences Group Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 of over 61 reviews

2.8
46%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
London Business Conferences Group CEO Steve Thomas (no image)
Steve Thomas
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "The quality of abc/lbcg events commands respect and loyalty from clients(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great people, Great Financial Opportunities(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long working hours: Firstly, the normal(in 7 reviews)

  • "I think it reflects very badly on LBCG that you have all these forced reviews on here that make it seem like(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      LBCG - Misunderstood

      Oct 4, 2017 - Sponsorship Sales Manager in Shoreditch, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Support from Jane and Steve (CEO/MD), contrary to some other reviews below, I found both to me nothing but supportive. Yes, if you are not pulling your weight they want to understand why, however the training I found very useful, and don't actually have a bad word to say about Jane or Steve. The team is one of the closest I have worked with, fantastic atmosphere, slightly distracting at times but you will make good friends while working here. The commission structure is as competitive/better than most places, as a sales person there is a lot of money to be made. The downsize to the new office completely changed the atmosphere within the office, certainly for the better. If as an employee you keep up your end of the bargain, you will be looked after and respected as a valuable member of the team.

      Cons

      Some of the conferences are considerably more successful that others, and there is often a lack of communication between teams. Deadlines for producers/marketing seemed non existent leaving some short lead times. Not much room for career growth - unless the company grows again in which case the opportunities would be given to the loyal.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Some great products, but poor leadership

      Mar 30, 2021 - Global Operations Director in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with external experts to deliver international, high quality conferences.

      Cons

      Constant changes and lack of direction created uncertainty and pressure especially for producers.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      You would enjoy having the Coronavirus more than working here

      Mar 25, 2020 - Senior Position 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Based in a cool part of London

      Cons

      100% staff turn over year-on year ("everyone" resigns) this is one of the last of those rotating door, skill-less, throw enough crap at the wall and you might sell something, sole less companies. The owners have absolutely no regard for their very few staff and resent paying you if you do well. In fact they will find 100 reasons to cut sales commission, and producers NEVER make coms. No one with any experience sticks it out here and certainly no one senior. New MDs and Sales Directors and Senior Producers are in and out, in and out, in and out, many have even not come back for their second day! The atmosphere is 'that' toxic - to the extent that 100% of the company resigned! 100% of their repeat business stopped coming back and they have killed off the events that they had built (off the backs of others). There is no training, no opportunity and no reason to work here, unless no other events company will have you. If that is the case, then you will fit right in (with the other three people left working there) Readers should be aware that as a fact, I am aware that anything positive written on glass door is added by the owners to try to dilute what is abundantly clear about this company.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Unreal deadlines and awful company culture

      Dec 18, 2018 - Production in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good training depending on which manager / director you are assigned but high pressure to learn and reach goals

      Cons

      - Company culture is awful: you feel like you’re back at school. Everyone is watching you, monitoring you somehow and there will always be someone talking about you behind your back. If you do something wrong, management will use it as an example to threaten others - Company culture is awful: you feel like you’re back at school. Everyone is watching you, monitoring you somehow and there will always be someone talking about you behind your back. If you do something wrong, management will use it as an example to threaten other employees. Board Management don’t appreciate your hard work or getting new business - only rewarding the same old employees, hence the high turnover of new employees. - Long working hours: Firstly, the normal working hours per contract are longer than industry standard (8.30am to 6pm). Secondly, most days you have to work extra hours just to get your job done. If you work extra days or hours during events outside the country or city, they don't give you any compensation or days off in return. - Unreal deadlines and overwork: you feel the pressure constantly, everyday is a race. In order to finish your work successfully and on time you have to work during lunch time. - Board Management style is like the old days. Don't expect a 'Good Morning' or a friendly chat. It's all hierarchy. There is also a lack of information given on each project, they want success but they don't give you the necessary tools and information to get there.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company, great team, steady growth

      Oct 7, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoy working at LBCG and have benefitted from being a part of and seeing the company grow from strength to strength. Yes, there have been growing pains, but these are being addressed and overcome. My team have recruited people at different stages of their careers and that forms a perfect blend of strengths. It is fantastic to see the results come in and then we all pull together when we hit a tough event. There is great satisfaction from achieving the results and you are rewarded. One of the benefits of working for a smaller company is that there is greater opportunity to have your achievements noticed.

      Cons

      I've worked for a number of different companies now - I've done the staying late until/past 9pm (or past midnight when I've done US hours), but I've also learnt how to manage my time well and really focus to get the job done. Is that a con? I do think that certain departments have had a rough ride, because of recruitment issues... people don't know if they are cut out for the job until they try it. People will say anything to get a job... so perhaps think about what it is you want out of a job before you apply for it... only hard work will get results. There's no such thing as an easy ride.

      Continue reading
      25 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Trying to be fair, not being irrational and listening to all views

      Mar 31, 2015 - Business Development in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can only ask that anyone reading these reviews looks the the language and content that is being used by the various commentators. I will not get drawn into a nasty personal attack on anyone who expresses their views genuinely. All I ask is, please, that the reader should be wary of anyone who lowers themselves to venomous outpourings. My views are genuine and are without bias, they simply say it as it is. People leave companies and are asked to leave companies all the time. Seeing a colleague leave in whatever circumstances is an unpalatable happening, all I can say it that I wish them well. Come to LBCG if you are willing to work hard and listen, ego is over-rated and intelligence is often understated. If you want to learn and be of value to the industry going forward, join us. It looks like there will soon be a vacancy. ;-)

      Cons

      The management has made mistakes but there are changes happening to rectify that right now, what, promotion of gifted young talent has already taken place in 5 key positions.

      Continue reading
      26 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A fast paced learning environment that favours the ambitious

      May 1, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The learning potential is huge - having come here straight from university I feel like I have developed myself more than anyone else I know from my year Employees can choose to improve their own earnings due to bonus scheme - it is definitely a company that favours the hard workers My manager is really supportive and, while there are high expectations from employees, I feel very comfortable approaching management and seeking support. I like being pushed to new boundaries! I personally see a clear path of development for myself here which is something that is very important to me (and probably most graduates). It has been made clear to me by management where I can go in this company and what I need to do to get there Quality is something management really push - it can be hard work but it's worth it as I work on projects that I'm genuinely proud of

      Cons

      The same volume of work is expected from new people as more experienced people so a lot of time needs put in whilst you are learning the ropes

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Ex employee - an opportunity I learned a lot from

      Jun 30, 2014 - Sales in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company, one of the best I've worked for. I eventually left the industry to start my own business. They give people a chance, good pay, fair wage rise, great commission. Gave me the confidence to eventually take a few risks and strike out on my own.

      Cons

      Always help people to develop their personal goals. Even more support was needed for junior people when I was there - not everyone is a natural entrepreneur. At times, needed more in house training pitched at a more basic level. Always give people a second chance if the intent is there.

      Continue reading
      22 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      You generally get what you put in -highly suitable for financially motivated ambitious types

      Oct 10, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent opportunities and given responsibilities early on. You will be encouraged to not fear failure but instead push the boundaries of what you think is possible. The quality of abc/lbcg events commands respect and loyalty from clients. If you work hard to be excellent at your job and perform - you will be looked after and many people have in fact been with the company between 4 and 10 years - which is not that common in commercial events. Many standout individuals operate at the highest levels of professionalism and commitment. If you strive for great things and are prepared to accept challenges then you can achieve great things. The experience is what you make it and you will especially like it here if your a go getter.

      Cons

      Success and high earnings are definitely not guaranteed. You have to work hard and be persistent to make sure your events work or/and gradually get better. Not all the events are huge successes. Sponsors are always setting their budgets 12 months in advance meaning we lose some opportunities. Doesn't always work for people that don't like to be pushed to work fast or go beyond their comfort zones.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      My experience at LBCG

      Feb 6, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are a lot of very talented people working here. Everyone I've been exposed to so far is very nice, enthusiastic, energetic and goal-oriented. Lots of support is given to the new starters - you have to work a lot, but it's a great school for those who are looking to develop a set of entrepreneurial skills and grow their talents.

      Cons

      Long working hours - but it's inevitable in this type of market. Might be too tough for those who have families

      Continue reading
      26 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 59 Reviews

    Popular Careers with London Business Conferences Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at London Business Conferences Group? Share Your Experiences

    London Business Conferences Group logo
    or