London Fire Brigade Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
55%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
London Fire Brigade Commissioner Ron Dobson
Ron Dobson
14 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work..."

    5.0
    Current Employee - People Services Assistant 

    I have been working at London Fire Brigade full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    What can be better than working for the people who keep London safe?

    Cons

    frustrations with some of the systems

    London Fire Brigade2019-11-12
  2. "Firefighter review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Firefighter in London, England

    I have been working at London Fire Brigade full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Time off between shifts Team environment Exciting/challenging at times Down time Education

    Cons

    Work a lot of weekends Low pay compared to international fire brigades Must be clean shaven Instances of poor management

    London Fire Brigade2019-10-22
  3. "Progressive and benevolent"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at London Fire Brigade full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large organisation with benefits, supportive colleagues.

    Cons

    Unrelenting pace during busy periods

    Continue reading
    London Fire Brigade2019-05-24
  4. "Good on station"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at London Fire Brigade full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Inclusive Station and Watch moral is positive

    Cons

    Union streets attitude towards ops personnel.

    London Fire Brigade2019-04-26
  5. "An ok place to work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at London Fire Brigade full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get a very generous amount of holiday, around 35/40 days!

    Cons

    You cannot sell your holiday - sometimes trying to find somewhere to fit all your remaining leave within a short space of time. Some of the managers I have worked for are terrible, the power goes to their heads and it is very micro-managed.

    Continue reading
    London Fire Brigade2019-04-23
  6. "Risk and resilience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at London Fire Brigade full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great for work life balance - 40 days leave entitlement, numerous flexible working options and good daily hours

    Cons

    Hard to progress to higher grades and quite old school in working style and management

    Continue reading
    London Fire Brigade2019-03-10
  7. "Firefighter"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Firefighter in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at London Fire Brigade full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great job if you prepared in advance well to know what to expect

    Cons

    Not much happening and long hours hardly any action

    Continue reading
    London Fire Brigade2019-04-04
  8. "Racist Organisation with incompetent managers that are bullies and unaccountable"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Firefighter in Hounslow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at London Fire Brigade full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The work is exciting and challenging

    Cons

    Incompetent racist senior managers. BULLIES

    Continue reading
    London Fire Brigade2018-11-14
  9. "Firefighter"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Firefighter in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at London Fire Brigade

    Pros

    Different and varied. Not much else

    Cons

    Poor pay, poor management, poor pay, poor conditions of service. Bad working environment. Undervalued

    Continue reading
    London Fire Brigade2018-08-30
  10. "Fab place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administration 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at London Fire Brigade full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome place to work. Role has variety and super chilled environment. Management don’t nag you. Everyone know what there doing and you just get on with it.

    Cons

    I am a temp!

    Continue reading
    London Fire Brigade2018-05-08
Found 25 reviews