Lorna Jane Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Lorna Jane Reviews

Updated 29 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Lorna Jane CEO Bill Clarkson (no image)
Bill Clarkson
128 Ratings
Pros
  • "After just 1 year with Lorna Jane, I have learnt so much and grown personally & professionally more than I could have imagined(in 27 reviews)

  • "The girls I worked with were wonderful(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Last minute changes in strategy from Head Office has challenging effect on field team members(in 29 reviews)

  • "They want there employees decked out in Lorna Jane attire but doesn't always cater to the internal customer(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Family feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lorna Jane full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly work force, Large company with good career progression. very Sociable have a great mission statement that has great core values. Based in the centre of Oxford

    Cons

    Can be too nice, and as a result promote people who have no social skills. There is no parking in Oxford that is good value.

    Continue reading
    Lorna Jane2016-09-05
  2. "Keyholder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Keyholder in Dallas, TX

    I worked at Lorna Jane part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy paced job, not busy, not competitive

    Cons

    No hours, location, management, pay

    Lorna Jane2020-03-29
  3. "love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lorna Jane part-time

    Pros

    amazing staff, great incentives, good culture

    Cons

    none, ive enjoyed my time at lorna

    Lorna Jane2020-02-25
  4. "Only care about KPI's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lorna Jane part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    40% off full price active wear Good work/life balance as I get no shifts ever

    Cons

    Head office only cares about KPI's Only get rostered if you sell $200 per transaction

    Continue reading
    Lorna Jane2020-02-23
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Hated working for Lorna"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The retail minimum wage (set by government) is good, hours were okay but sometimes issues with understaffing or lack of coordination or management.

    Cons

    I hated my time at Lorna Jane, and had a bad feeling for it even before I started - went to a training day (where also i didn't learn much) where some of the girls were confronting, fake and catty (like wanting to create some silly "mean girls" clique vibe). I can imagine why some of the reviews mention bullying. Also, these girls just love Lorna and Bill, see them as some God or celebrity (delusional), it was really weird! High KPIs which have to be met, even if done through unethical and pushy sales tactics - hated how I felt about myself while working there. Also, because of the individual KPIs, I've seen girls get into arguments (doesn't really support "team work"). Poor benefits (40% off first shop, 25% thereafter) all while you are expected to wear Lorna Jane clothing at work - most other retailers provide much better benefits especially when the product is pretty expensive. Also, Lorna advertised all this mumbo jumbo about recycling, caring for the environment and all that but i don't know if this is true at all - we were never given any direction to recycle delivery boxes, or implement any environmentally friendly practices - i've seen so many plastic sleeves and rubbish used really wastefully! Didn't see a compost bin or anything like they claim at the HQ either. So I don't trust anything that they claim - like their ethical manufacturing etc. Lorna just seems super evil to me now! So, I have found it difficult to purchase Lorna Jane now, after having worked there also because I know that post-sale customer service isn't that great and I don't feel great buying from a company that has a poor company culture or ethical standards. So, PLEASE like sure from the outsider view Lorna Jane seems like a great place to work (i thought that too!) but it really really isn't - there's a reason why there is such a high turnover rate (in both the HQ office jobs and retail positions)!

    Continue reading
    Lorna Jane2020-02-16
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work place, liked the co-workers

    Cons

    the salary could be higher

    Lorna Jane2020-01-07

    Lorna Jane Response

    February 4, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience working with Lorna Jane. We value your feedback and wish you continued success in your future endeavours.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great company, culture and values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lorna Jane full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great leadership Forward thinking Solutions Focused This is definitely a company where it is what you make it! They have the wonderful people and frame work to support you, but you need to put the work in. I think this is a great thing and something to be celebrated! They are definitely focused on developing people and careers.

    Cons

    People that don't understand the culture and they are usually the people that bring the vibe down. People are a massive contribution to culture and collaboration, so I think the wrong people can tarnish what the company are trying to build! It's so empowering and uplifting and motivating! I want to create more of that here.

    Lorna Jane2019-12-16

    Lorna Jane Response

    February 4, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience working with Lorna Jane. We value your feedback and wish you continued success with our business.

    Continue reading
  8. "Vibrant and fun culture, supportive Manager, great personal and career development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Business Partner in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Huge opportunity to try new things; we are given the freedom to think outside the square and encouraged to challenge the norm - Felt appreciated for the work I did - Built strong business acumen by being exposed to all areas of the business - Really supportive team and direct Manager; felt extremely comfortable giving and receiving feedback and we really supported and backed each other in everything we did - Fast-tracked my HR skills by getting exposure to all facets of people management . I entered the business at a HR Advisor level in my previous workplace and I am leaving Lorna Jane an extremely confident and competent HR Business Partner with a broad range of experiences.

    Cons

    Business can be quite reactive and strategies can change direction quickly

    Lorna Jane2019-12-12

    Lorna Jane Response

    December 15, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience working with Lorna Jane. We value your feedback and wish you all the very best with your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic culture and old school approach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Living garden inside the building, well kept grounds, getting to wear activewear to work

    Cons

    Lack of trust through the business, no interest in leveraging technology, old school sales mentality and bullying culture.

    Continue reading
    Lorna Jane2019-11-01

    Lorna Jane Response

    November 26, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. Where suitable we will look to take on board how we can continue to grow and improve. All the best with your future endeavors

    Continue reading
  10. "Entrepreneurial Business with Internal Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lorna Jane full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the brand - what is stands for, the people, our customers and the product.

    Cons

    Lean corporate team; people have many roles.

    Lorna Jane2019-10-15
Found 217 reviews