Lowe's "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Lowe's Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated 15 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Lowe's President and CEO Marvin Ellison
Marvin Ellison
1,621 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay with opportunities for advancement(in 1297 reviews)

  • "Lots of good benefits stock option(in 966 reviews)

Cons
  • "Treated like a full time employee but given less hours and limited benefits(in 618 reviews)

  • "Not accommodating for a part time employee(in 570 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Decent retail environment, could stand improvement like most others."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lowe's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The pay is on par with much of the retail world for the majority of staff. Management pay scales graduate nicely as one moves up in positions and responsibility. Depending on the management team at the store level, working can be reasonable and sometimes fun -- this is largely personality-driven. As most positions are public-facing, how one treats the customers will largely be reflected in how one receives treatment back. And while it is easier to post the negatives (see below), the positives certainly exist and make this retail environment better than some. Lowes does largely offer a wide variety of opportunities to the sufficiently self-motivated. It does take a self-motivated individual to excel, though. Retirement (401k), healthcare options (HDHP/HSA and traditional), dental, optical, long-term disability, life insurance, employee stock purchase programs, 10% employee purchase discount, paid sick leave, vacation and paid holiday (5) are all above-average extras for retail. Depending on one's schedule, an hour unpaid lunch and two 15 min paid breaks to a day. Most managers and supervisors work hard to accommodate unexpected life events and quality-of-life calendars with scheduling, 'though it is a retail hour rotation for many floor staff. And Lowes remains excellent in respecting both Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day by being closed. Finally, Lowes is a leader is respecting our military with 10% off for service members (abuse of this program has lead to ID checks to keep the dishonorable from cheating legit military). To be fair -- there is a LOT of criticism and shade thrown below. Marvin has only had 1.5 years to fix things, and some have been excellent. The mess his predecessor left is now his to resolve. So while he's not to blame for the past, he and his will be full on owners of what the future brings.

    Cons

    Staffing and 'raises' for the non-management population seems to follow the tired 1980s business management school mindset. There are no merit raises; store management will claim it is out of their hands. Everyone gets the same COLA until they cap out after x number of years. If store traffic is light, rather than use the staff to stock/clean/improve the store, management is encourages to 'cut hours' and send staff home as a meager cost savings. Customers will feel this effect immediately, with insufficient floor coverage and assistance. Not to mention most staff actually rely upon the paycheck to cover living expenses, and being forced off the clock immediately impacts their ability to live. This generates a negative feedback where the employee will be less motivated to support the store and customers -- such resentment is a logical result job being treated so marginally. A great example is during the holidays when, after annual attrition, permanent full or part-time positions are filled. The new staff enjoy some days or weeks on the floor, but find their hours drastically cut when toward the end of the holiday season, customer traffic meters down. Why would someone wish to take a part-time job for 20 hrs a week, and want to stay with a company when they say 'sorry, we only have 8 hours to offer you this week (or less)? How is it efficient or cost-effective to hire, then train, floor personnel, only to drive them away by shorting the hours. These individuals are being paid the lowest of their class (being new), and still require many hours of floor time to become competent in their assignments, tasks, and customer/staff support skills. They could be put to work in a hundred different ways that would support and improve the store and the customer experience. Seems the only lever corporate gives facilities managers is the 'cut hours' tool. All this really does is disappoint the 'fewer' customers that do shop with us. The dissatisfied customer leaves the store empty-handed and convinced they should have shopped somewhere else first. That's a lasting lost far more costly to the store than paying part-time staff some extra hours/wk. This is American retail -- not just Lowes. Dear Consumer -- is this what you want for your dirt-cheap products? Dear Stock Holder -- is this worth your quarterly numbers, or do you seek long-term success?

    Continue reading
    Lowe's2020-02-15
  2. "Lowe's CSA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lowe's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedules for students Military Friendly

    Cons

    Too many part time jobs Can be difficult to move into management

    Lowe's2020-02-04
  3. "Great team, not accommodating for a part time employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Sales Consultant in North Smithfield, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lowe's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    9/10 employees were willing to help you when you had a question outside of your department. Worked with a great team. Not too much turnover

    Cons

    Hourly pay is less than average. Not accommodating for a part time employee. Treated like a full time employee but given less hours and limited benefits. Few opportunities for advancement

    Lowe's2020-01-29
  4. "Nice job and Hours, but understanding on life events"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier in Hendersonville, TN

    I worked at Lowe's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I usually ended up with 35-39 hours, keeping me as part-time Pay was more then what was offered around town. Nice people to work with.

    Cons

    Kept me right under hours to keep me from having benefits. Life events caused me to need to reduced hours, won't allow reduced hours (35-39 hrs) since my resume said those where my availability. Mind you this was my 3rd month of work before requesting. Had to quit since they weren't willing to work with me

    Continue reading
    Lowe's2020-02-09
  5. "Excellent Part Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Lowe's

    Pros

    Great environment and co-workers. Enjoyable to talk with customers about their projects.

    Cons

    Inconsistent hours, but thats to be expected with part-time work.

    Lowe's2020-01-24
  6. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in South Bend, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lowe's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Decent benefits (available after 90 days even for part time) -Generous attendance policy that even comes with a 6 minute grace period for clocking in -Coworkers are usually pretty friendly and learned when it comes to their departments.

    Cons

    -Pay is okay but not great -Yearly raises are honestly a joke -Never seem to be able to keep new people for long -Company seems to be heading toward more automation and downsizing a bit -Different stores will often offer radically different environments -Has "customercentric scheduling" which seems to base around customer traffic and not around the store's operational needs. So we often wind up understaffed for a day in multiple departments

    Lowe's2020-02-05
  7. "Decent job - not for the anxious person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Gilbert, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lowe's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent job opportunity. I have transferred from Chandler to Gilbert locations. Gilbert location management are better. Great health benefits. Don't pick the Choice Account 1 for full-time because starting 2/1/2020 $50 will be taken from paycheck. Whoops! Paychecks are inconsistent. For full-time, it ranges from $600 to $850 biweekly. Part-time pay is $200 less.

    Cons

    Chandler & 101 location has the worst management all across the board. Front end manager and head cashier are the coldest people I ever met. Staffing issues happen everywhere. I feel that it is a high-stress environment and currently looking to replace it. Even if you are part-time, you may (depending on location) still have to work full time hours.

    Continue reading
    Lowe's2020-01-28
  8. "Choose any job other than lowes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Cash Office Associate for 10 Years in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowe's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It use to be a place you could work for and be proud of.

    Cons

    New CEO marvin cates more about money and his own pockets than he does about employees. I have seen more layoffs since he took over than the entire 10 years I have worked for lowes. He has destroyed moral, why care about a job if you are just going to watch it be cut or renamed so the pay can be less, or it can be made part time. Because of Marvin's choices long time valuable employees are leaving. They are NOT being replaced with full time workers. They are not being replaced at all. Schedule leaves no time for family or life outside of lowes. Made to cover multiple departments. Told by corporate your job is not valuable because you ate not customer facing. Every decision marvin makes is taking this company backward. Got rid of internet fulfillment without giving it a chance. Part time often given zero hours. Turn over is insane. Most dont stay more than a month or two. This store use to be staffed by employees who had been with lowes for five or more years. Only a few of us left.

    Continue reading
    Lowe's2020-01-19
  9. "Use to be a Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Connector in Shelbyville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lowe's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Co-Workers Always ready to help when needed. 401K And Lowe's Stock Purchase Plan

    Cons

    Company is Downsizing to less employees. 1 Associate for every 2 or 3 departments. New CEO is phasing out Full & Part time long term knowledgeable associates & replacing them with Part time unacknowledged employees.

    Continue reading
    Lowe's2020-01-19
  10. "HR non existent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lowe's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Offer a health ins to part time employees

    Cons

    Lowes axed HR and now a computer program sets employee shifts. Impossible to chose days off for DR appts etc. if you do take off for appt, it’s considered non approved. You may as well to expect to be fired if you get the flu. Didn’t get to use my health insurance I was paying for because the system wouldn’t accept my request off for my doctor appt . Ridiculous

    Continue reading
    Lowe's2020-01-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1143 reviews