Lucasfilm Reviews

Updated 18 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
59%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Lucasfilm President Kathleen Kennedy (no image)
Kathleen Kennedy
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "A chance to touch Star Wars is fantastic(in 18 reviews)

  • "Mostly great people to work with(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, little chance of advancement, shrinking margins for revenue and regular cycles of artist layoffs as work ebbs and flows(in 12 reviews)

  • "In the process of becoming a true movie studio again, there are some growing pains in regards to upper management(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Brilliant"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lucasfilm full-time

    Pros

    Vibrant, community, learning, upward mobility

    Cons

    Distance from where I liver

    Lucasfilm2019-11-18
  2. "Great place to work in the production teams!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Coordinator (Production) in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lucasfilm for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of really talented people. My department was made up of an amazing team - we all got on great and everyone really looked after each other. My team consisted mostly of contractors as I was working on the film sets in London during production, but I also interacted with the permanent staff in San Francisco as they were the bosses I'd report to. I learned a lot during my time there and we had access to some really amazing resources.

    Cons

    Very corporate hierarchy (Disney) and so at times it felt difficult to get certain things done. Sometimes it was also hard to feel innovative because the roles are very specialised and specific.

    Lucasfilm2017-08-07
  3. "cool projects"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Concept Artist 

    I worked at Lucasfilm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    you are able to be involved in a variety of projects. which helps you to learn and adapt in different creative briefs.

    Cons

    sometimes there not projects at all.

    Lucasfilm2019-10-25
  4. "Best Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucasfilm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone at animation is incredible, such a family atmosphere that you wouldn't expect at a large studio.

    Cons

    Pay isn't the best for the living in San Francisco

    Lucasfilm2019-10-23
  5. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Lucasfilm full-time

    Pros

    Amazing culture and amazing people

    Cons

    Not really have any cons

    Lucasfilm2019-09-19
  6. "Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at Lucasfilm part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment and friendly colleagues

    Cons

    Low salary and far from my house

    Lucasfilm2019-08-30
  7. "FX TD"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FX Technical Director in Singapore

    I have been working at Lucasfilm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Great Show to work on

    Cons

    No OT pay contract very short terms

    Lucasfilm2019-09-13
  8. "Great Work Environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Administrator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lucasfilm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and management that actually cares. Cares about inclusion.

    Cons

    no real cons - certain positions work longer hours depending on the projects but nothing major.

    Continue reading
    Lucasfilm2019-08-02
  9. "Great People"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Lucasfilm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Talented, smart, great people doing cutting edge work

    Cons

    An industry known for very long hours

    Lucasfilm2019-07-12
  10. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Lead 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lucasfilm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked there before George Lucas sold the company. It was a great place filled with tons of really talented people and lots of interesting projects. Like any big, prestigious place to work for, it can be hard to stand-out amongst a lot of talented people. I was lucky and had my opportunities to work on things that were rewarding for me, but it can be easy to remain stagnant.

    Cons

    People go to work at Lucasfilm for an opportunity to work on something really interesting, but the overall compensation is on the lower end of what you can expect.

    Lucasfilm2019-06-26
Found 189 reviews