Lycamobile Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Lycamobile Reviews

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 188 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Lycamobile CEO Chris Tooley
Chris Tooley
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "No pros in this company a part from the beautiful terrace(in 9 reviews)

  • "Nice colleagues to work with, overall it is a good place for entry level career(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lycamobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional, nice enviornment, good brand

    Cons

    Low salary, low perks, low commission

    Lycamobile2019-05-12
  2. "Avoid. Not good experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lycamobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have no pros for Lycamobile!

    Cons

    Company Does not have strategy. Management team is very poor in quality. Everything has to be signed by Chairman office, these people do not understand business skills. Everything takes a long time and sometimes there is never a response. This is reason that nothing gets completed, they make you stand outside an office waiting like children many times for approval on everything, even small things. Sometimes you... wait hours. There is zero flexibility, attendance and time keeping is very strict like being at nursery school. You have to eat lunch between 1pm and 2pm, you cannot choose. You are only allowed 3 days for sickness each year, more than this and your pay will receive deduction. Before you join they make many promises for bonus and flexibility but these things did not happen for me or for many of my colleagues. They don’t even tell you what your objective is. CEO hides in his office, he is invisible I heard him make only one communication to people in one year. I do not know what he does but he is not like any CEO I have worked for before. Nobody knows how the business is doing, this is kept a secret. There is no trust. Management team often drink alcohol in office and are drunk they are not professional people. I would not recommend this place to anybody.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Respect people. Keep the promises you make. Give flexibility. Take decisions. Give positions of responsibility to people who have experience and skill not friends and family.

    Lycamobile2019-08-22
  3. "Good Company to Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Lycamobile full-time

    Pros

    The Office location is at the heart of london business area, Canary Wharf

    Cons

    Its a good company to start, especially when you did move to london from abroad and you are all excited to work in a office environment.

    Advice to Management

    The management needs not only to recognise the value of the customer service team but as well implement that recognition within the company, by paying a fair salary.

    Lycamobile2019-05-14
  4. "Only good as a first work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Lycamobile full-time

    Pros

    Nice employees and environment with colleagues, multicultural

    Cons

    Bad company in general, low salary and bad conditions in the office

    Lycamobile2019-05-24

    Lycamobile Response

    May 28, 2019Social Media Exec

    We appreciate the time you have taken to share your review. At Lycamobile we do understand the importance to work in a pleasant and healthy environment and do our best to improve it. We do empower our employees to grow and to succeed, we value their jobs , reward them by reviewing ...

    Show More
  5. "CSE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Lycamobile full-time

    Pros

    easy job flexibel good gor students

    Cons

    no career opportunity in the company

    Lycamobile2019-02-27

    Lycamobile Response

    March 4, 2019Social Media Exec

    Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid at all cost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lycamobile full-time

    Pros

    None, this is a terrible place to work

    Cons

    Insane amount of workload, managers don't care about the employees, the company also doesn't care about their customers.

    Lycamobile2019-03-24
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Behind the times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Marketing in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lycamobile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is opportunity for the business to grow, there are some talented people in the organisation too.

    Cons

    The talented people don’t have a voice hence the company doesn’t move forward. The policy around time management (clocking in and out, set lunch hour, no flexible working) are totally outdated. Zero trust...frequent patrols to see whether people are at their desks... Approval process is a joke. Multiple signatures needed for even the most simple things that should be standard. Senior managers have no decision... making power everything seems to land at the desk of a few people who lack vision...huge queues outside their office to get approvals....its surprising that anything gets done at all... All too often talented people leave the business after a short time....they are fed up being treated like a child...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Business needs to stop being short sighted. Stop focusing on people’s time keeping and attendance. Share a strategy, set some objectives and measure people on their results . Give talented employees the ability to take the business forward. Lyca doesn’t have to be like a prison...it could be a great place to work.

    Lycamobile2019-02-16

    Lycamobile Response

    March 12, 2019Social Media Exec

    Thank you for posting your review. Some of the points you are bringing up are very important. We know the approval process can feel a bit frustrating and are working to make it smoother. Thank you for your feedback

  8. Helpful (2)

    "The scare stories are true and under exaggerated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lycamobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The other group brands could give you exposure to other industries if you get a chance. Unlike contractors and suppliers or the overseas branches, in the UK you will get paid.

    Cons

    There are already a lot of scare stories on here about Lyca - they are true. The company is racist - the senior management team are predominantly Sri Lankan and if you're not one of that inner circle then you are worse than a second class citizen. The company would make an amazing reality tv show for its shock value - rumoured drug fueled sex party trips overseas; bailiffs arriving for non payment of court fines;... overt physical abuse of staff by executives with victims being paid off. Then onto to the more mundane - Lyca has some antiquated approaches to holiday allowance for professionals (just 20 days a year); they will only give you 3 paid days sickness a year (anymore is just SSP - effectively nothing) which resonates poorly with the Petri dish of infection that is the open plan office, with close working conditions and colleagues coughing sneezing over you (you will get the Lyca lurgy); you will be viewed as non-productive if not on site (though perversely I have seen some playing games on their phone but the company would view them as productive as they were at the desk); time keeping is rigidly enforced (worse than a factory) with a few minutes lateness often resulting in formal HR processes; operational processes are antiquated with sign off for everything required, up to the highest level, even for the smallest thing, on paper; then as for more modern working practices such as flexible working? Forget about it Chris Tooley is the CEO - whilst pleasant unfortunately he wields little power, the decision makers are the Chairman and his inner circle who are promoted by being bullies and yes-men. This is a company that does promote its own but based upon nepotism, ability to speak Tamil (i.e. colour of their skin) but not upon merit.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to radically change your approach and realise that you are living and working in 21st century Britain and draconian practices do not benefit you. Mandatory attendance parties during business hours are not any compensation for those wishing to be professional. Embrace your staff and reward excellence not just the ability to speak Tamil.

    Lycamobile2019-02-08

    Lycamobile Response

    February 25, 2019Social Media Exec

    Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lycamobile full-time

    Pros

    easy work and that is basically it

    Cons

    low paid and stressful full of mobbing

    Lycamobile2018-12-03

    Lycamobile Response

    February 25, 2019Social Media Exec

    Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Lycamobile full-time

    Pros

    Talented People I work With

    Cons

    Pressured Working Environment and special treatment of "related" employees

    Lycamobile2018-11-09

    Lycamobile Response

    February 25, 2019Social Media Exec

    Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us

Found 188 reviews