M&G plc Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

M&G plc Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
M&G plc CEO John Foley
John Foley
2 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at M&G plc full-time

    Pros

    Work/life balance good. Management is supportive. Salaries are competitive.

    Cons

    Departments differ significantly in terms of structure, most people don't know what the team sitting next to them does.

    Advice to Management

    Promote integration with more awareness sessions around the company as a whole and different departments.

    M&G plc2017-04-02
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good quiet place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at M&G plc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    9 to 5 hours, overall friendly people, good name in the industry

    Cons

    New CEO austerity regime means poor pay and bonuses, lots of politics, not very innovative, poor promotion/career growth perspectives. Some people have been there for 20 odd years and aren't going anywhere, so the chances of making it to the top are slim unless those people retire or something..

    Advice to Management

    Focus has shifted from people to vusiness digures. Don't forget it's the people who bring you results! You lile to position yourself as a family-friendly employer, however you don't even have work share or any other family friendly policies. Need to get more advanced with your HR!

    M&G plc2017-03-20
  3. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at M&G plc

    Pros

    Good work-life balance. Allowed me to work part-time, and flexibly, for which I was extremely grateful as I was bringing up a family. A very English feel to the company (which I welcomed, having worked before for an American outfit, where working part time or taking holiday were both frowned upon).

    Cons

    Tended to be rather male dominated when I worked there, but I think this is changing. Knew someone who felt they weren't taken seriously as a part-time worker so they switched to full-time. Decent, ethical senior management (when I was there) in my view. The team I was in was moved into a gloomy, cramped and depressing first floor location which I loathed and was one of the main triggers for my leaving. Not very... generous pension arrangements.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. M&G seemed to me to be a pretty well run company.

    M&G plc2017-03-20
  4. "Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at M&G plc full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, good working environment

    Cons

    Work from home is still a struggle to be approved.

    M&G plc2017-01-26
  5. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at M&G plc full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great working environment and career progression opportunities

    Cons

    Pay not competitive and slow decision making, bottle necks

    M&G plc2017-01-24
  6. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Addlestone, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at M&G plc full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good work life balance ethos Excellent benefits Good location in London Recognition for good work Good social scene with many events arranged for varying interests

    Cons

    Management becoming more detached from the workforce Too much paperwork and bureaucracy No definition between what is a junior or senior role Lack of definition how to make the step up from one role to the other as mentioned above

    Advice to Management

    Get to know your direct reports before making potential life changing decisions regarding their future, and if they would like some feedback on why the decision has been made be sure to have that information available

    M&G plc2017-01-10
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Not trust worthy at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technology in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at M&G plc

    Pros

    - Flexibility - Some team members - Some management team - Thats about it to be honest

    Cons

    - I disclosed all my details and had it in writing about my past, based on that i got the job. They utilised all my skills and let me go on baseless grounds. Perfect time to to get rid of me as I was due my bonuses. - Beaware, before leaving your job if you have past history. DO NOT TRUST THEM.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your staff, some of us gave you our everything and made sure the business was going in correct direction. Also, when you let someone go and they try to contact you.. atlease reply as they may have genuine reason.

    M&G plc2017-01-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Manager discretion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at M&G plc

    Pros

    Business tries hard to promote good values and is very much 9-5

    Cons

    All the above is only at your managers discretion. Escalation process Is uncomfortable. Friends are favoured

    Advice to Management

    Things are moving in the right direction, keep it up

    M&G plc2016-12-08
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Ok, but not amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at M&G plc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you want to leave at 5pm and enjoy a work life balance - this is it. Solid name on a CV, old established name in the industry.

    Cons

    This is a frustrating place to work if you want to be at the vanguard of asset management. M&G is resistant to change, not innovative and has not had clear direction from the top for many years. Board members have been at the firm for so long they don't see any other way of doing things. Talent leave and flourish elsewhere. The culture is cliquey and rooted in favouring those who've been there the longest. It can... be disheartening to work with staff that focus on leaving at 5:01pm, particularly if you're used to a faster higher-charged environment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Numerous committees, lengthy catch-ups and the consensus culture means that no "big" commercial decisions are made, change isn't effected immediately and projects take months, even years to complete. Smart people want to work in faster paced, forward thinking environments that reward innovation.

    M&G plc2016-11-24
  10. "A great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Business Management in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at M&G plc full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere. The company is welcoming and genuinely is interested in the employees flourishing. This makes the firm a good place to work.

    Cons

    Indecisive, lacks direction from senior management and doesn't root out under performers. This can make M&G a very frustrating place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Sort out the structure quickly!

    M&G plc2016-11-03
Found 71 reviews