MAC Cosmetics "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

MAC Cosmetics Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 4 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
MAC Cosmetics CEO John Demsey
John Demsey
594 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance but that’s to be expected in a full time management job(in 166 reviews)

  • "Sales goals are high and they really push them(in 114 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good but no work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics full-time

    Pros

    Good discount, amazing makeup, fun training

    Cons

    No work life balance, always working weekends

    MAC Cosmetics2019-05-20
  2. "All ages, races ,gender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Loved what the company believed in .. Equality

    Cons

    No work / life balance No room for growth

    Continue reading
    MAC Cosmetics2019-06-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Past... but Problem-riddled Brand with Serious Leadership and HR Issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mid-Senior Level Retail Management in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    High visibility brand, Good benefits, Central offices, Product quality

    Cons

    Deceptive and divisive HR practices guided by Estee Lauder Corp, Brand actions are reactive not pro-active, Riddled with stock management issues, Constant strategy changes without follow-through, Unclear leadership, Lack of clear Brand direction with measurable goals to understand success, Un-supportive of independent voices, Disconnection to reality of modern consumer wants/voice, Poorly regards retail employees and will manage out quickly if not selling enough, No longer artistry focused as brand was known for - solely sales focused, Follows trends and no longer makes them, Revolving door of leavers, Shop floors not manned enough for demands of job roles to be executed to targeted sales levels, Dated training concepts and initiatives to inspire and educate teams to compete with market demands, lack of philanthropy in modern way, very low level work/life balance - expected to be on call 24/7 and working during weekend in order to complete reporting

    Continue reading
    MAC Cosmetics2019-03-25
  4. "Retail Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great training within fast paced retail environment. Competitive salary. Inspiring brand

    Cons

    Work/life balance, recruitment process for staff is too long

    MAC Cosmetics2019-01-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics full-time

    Pros

    Good discount, holidays, training,

    Cons

    Work life balance, pressure, stressful,

    MAC Cosmetics2018-11-16
  6. "Retail Makeup Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics full-time

    Pros

    Fun, creative, and obviously you get to play with makeup all day.

    Cons

    Not great work-life balance. Depends on who you work with, can make or break your time at the company. Requires a lot of commitment to the brand.

    MAC Cosmetics2018-09-27
  7. "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics

    Pros

    Working with amazing artists Discount

    Cons

    Extremely stressful No work/life balance Not much fairness in the company Upper management have no idea what it’s like being in the store and set unrealistic targets Targets are extremely high Constantly changing their expectations No artistry anymore No creativity

    Continue reading
    MAC Cosmetics2017-10-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Full-time Pro store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Makeup Artist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics

    Pros

    Discount on almost all Estée Lauder Companies, fun environment, artistry oriented compared to other brands, very diverse opportunities (specialists roles), place to grow. It's a really good company to work for !

    Cons

    Work/life balance... Not the best at all but it's what you get working in retail. Can be stressful depending which store you're working in. Too many stock issues.

    Continue reading
    MAC Cosmetics2016-07-13
  9. Helpful (13)

    "*THE TRUTH ABOUT MAC*"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Makeup Artist in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being part of the Estée laughter family and it's amazing discount!

    Cons

    Too many cons to put in to words so let's start from the beginning. Working for mac you will have absolutely now work/life balance.. No exaggeration you WILL be pestered outside of work when you are off and on holiday, no commission or incentive for your hard work, you NEED to wear specific looks on certain days (you will need to come in early and NOT receive time back for this to put on your 12 layers of face), long hours and expected to do overtime (this is generic retail but mac pushes you major for overtime would happily see you work 8 days on a row), NO training until a year in (as everyone hates it and leaves almost immediately), the most sparse brush set is given to you possible, no form of team work everyone is out for themselves, very cliquey girls, unachievable tasks in a ridiculous timeframe, sheer abuse from customers on a daily basis, no stock issues (see below), made to feel inadequate if you haven't had basic you can only so much as do a color match (WHY give artists jobs if you won't let them perform), penalize you for the littlest things including being off.. appointments or childcare commitments, temporary contract (didn't bother me but bothers a lot of people), no communication amongst team or management, holidays to be booked about a year in advance and if you're last oh man you're dead last lucky if you get a day out the year!! No incentive to work well, now I'm not saying shower your staff in lovely makeup and it will make them work harder what I am saying is.. When one of your staff members has highest sales on triple figures above management they should be given a thank you, this will make your other staff work hard as they want that too.. Friendly competitiveness goes a long way. Mac would throw thousands of unused testers out rather than give them to staff? Mind boggling!! No allocation from the company, with most if not all companies they give you an allowance a year to spend on products from them as you have to wear it on a daily basis. You won't get any of this from mac it all comes out your own end. Typical situation 2pm on a Friday afternoon - Over a hundred makeup hungry customers on the counter and they are asked to queue for an hour.. Asked to 'get rid of the queue' you serve a customer and she would like a smokey eye. You then ask your team member who is 'hosting' (DREADFUL method may I add it makes whoever is hosting is your go to gal and they will tell you what you can do and not do.. They then plan the rest of your day like a child, look like they are running the place with their little clipboard and customers then give them a hard time because they aren't getting seen) and they ask you to tell your customer to come back at 4.30pm. Your lady comes back at 4.30 you establish what she is after and go to pick your products, your hoster then asks your to 'break away from your customer' (again the worst thing I've ever heard of doing you leave your customer to Serve the queue and return) you serve the queue for 10 minutes as your new customer can't comprehend why there is no velvet teddy? You return to your original lady who is now agitated.. apply your primer, get asked to break away, come back put on your shadow, asked to break away about 8 times more... Your 10 minute walk up has now turned in to a 5 hour marathon of running back and forth... Have you ever heard anything so exhausting? You probably have if you've came to mac on the off chance of getting a smokey eye to replicate an Anastasia Beverly Hills Instagram post you seen last night (standard). No stock issues and believe me customers will agree on an alternative then decide when they went home that in actual fact they wanted a blue pink instead of a red pink (blue pink? Yeah get used to that you'll hear it a lot), then write a mammoth complaint and get about £50 worth of services and their money back because they're clearly serial complainers and had the same situation last week when they got chrome yellow instead of a color correcting concealer (baring in mind they asked chrome in the first place). This company is a massive joke I can only laugh about my dreadful experience because if I thought about how I wasted my time there I might cry.. Bet you think you made a mint being treat like this? An outstanding £8 an hour (don't spend it all on your break now) No lies when I left I went home and binned all my mac makeup, and haven't purchased with them since. They don't deserve anyone's time or money

    Continue reading
    MAC Cosmetics2015-10-02
  10. "Good & Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Makeup Artist in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Learning Experience - Good Pay - Always In Trend - A Lot Of Support To Do Better - The Discount is Really Good - Always Busy As The Counter Was Full All The Time - Good Chance Of Career Progression

    Cons

    - Work, Life Balance Was Low (Always Working Weekend) - The Team Was Too Big - Quite Clichy - Hard To Speak to Line Manager

    Continue reading
    MAC Cosmetics2015-02-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 166 reviews