MATCHESFASHION Reviews

Updated 5 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
45%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
MATCHESFASHION CEO Ulric Jerome (no image)
Ulric Jerome
69 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is centrally located at The Shard(in 24 reviews)

  • "Great locations and perks, such as healthcare, pension, bonus and staff discount(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is no work life balance when you work for Matches(in 14 reviews)

  • "High turnover of key technical people affecting stability of environments(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice place"

    5.0
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at MATCHESFASHION

    Pros

    The people and opportunities are great

    Cons

    Lack of structures and systems

    MATCHESFASHION Response

    April 27, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience. It is great to hear positive feedback from a current member of the team and we are glad you are enjoying being part of MATCHESFASHION as we move forward! We value the opportunity we present to employees to deliver limitless business impact here at MATCHESFASHION. We recognise the structure, support and systems that are required to enable this. If you have any further thought or feedback on how we can improve this please don’t hesitate to reach to me at hrenquiries@matchesfashion.com. Thanks, Alex – Talent Team

  2. Helpful (1)

    "NASTY, HORRIBLE PLACE TO WORK, LOW MORAL AND AWFUL CULTURE"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MATCHESFASHION full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    So they give you 50% discount but its capped and your salary is so low that you cant afford to buy anything anyway. Offices in the shard.

    Cons

    Horrible managers, that dont listen and bully you to thinking you are not doing a good job. Understaffed so you are spinning a million plates and then expected to work out of hours too! Lots of mean girls, you cant sit with us approach, particularly within HR, senior managers dont talk to you let alone look at you. It really is a horrible place to work, everyone is miserable and hates their job. Its very sad.

    Continue reading

    MATCHESFASHION Response

    June 1, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at MATCHESFASHION. It is always beneficial to hear feedback so that we can improve how we operate. I am sorry to hear that your experience wasn’t an overall positive one. Across the HR function and the wider business a huge amount of work has gone into curating a positive team atmosphere - especially as we all work remotely currently. I myself am a new manager within the HR department and I've had a very positive experience, so I would be very interested to have a conversation to understand your experience in more detail. If you drop an email to hrenquiries@matchesfashion.com I would be happy to arrange a time to talk. Thanks so much, Alex – Talent Team

  3. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Too much stress, negative atmosphere, not worth it"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MATCHESFASHION full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Career progression, learning new tech, company almost immune to pandemic (!),

    Cons

    Too much stress (is it worth it?) due to work pressures Poor team culture, culture of fear (I try not to let it get to me) thus an unhealthy atmosphere Managers hands are on the red button the moment something (even small) goes wrong (judgemental) - I suppose it depends on the manager you get so it seems (some) managers do make small (tiny) things huge and make a gigantic issue out of it; when looking at work history and the actual impact of the issue, you think why are they getting emotions to run the show? Some managers have a bad attitude and sometimes it appears that they do not listen to you - just a one way street so whats the point in discussing issues when they have already made up their minds? Too many meetings that check up on you - normally this is ok but it sometimes it looks like you are being watched Its the team that makes the atmosphere and, while my immediate team members are great to work with, the rest you just tolerate

    Continue reading

    MATCHESFASHION Response

    May 14, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to share some feedback. I appreciate it’s not always easy to have a direct conversation, but I would love to find out a bit more about the challenges you’ve faced. I’d like to think that the company (especially our tech team) doesn’t have a blame culture and is genuinely focused on open 2-way communication where learning and improving is a key goal. It sounds like there has been a miss here and I would love to hear more and help address it. Please do reach out to me directly on email (dan.knight@matchesfashion.com) or slack (my mobile number is in my slack profile if you prefer). I’m super keen we have a great culture within the team, doubly so when we are faced with challenges, however big or small. Thanks, Dan - C.T.O.

  4. "The management will make you want to leave"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Specialist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MATCHESFASHION full-time

    Pros

    -50% discount Wouldn’t say there is any more pros about this job.

    Cons

    Customer Care Assistant. -the management will make you feel so uncomfortable everyday. - they want to make so many changes to the company because they want to beat their competitors that they are failing their staff. - they don’t see their staff as staff they see them as numbers. - you will not receive help that you need in any aspect. - management love to do everything via ‘slack’ and email. - management focus on themselves and having a alcoholic drink at their desk more than they do their own employees.

    Continue reading

    MATCHESFASHION Response

    April 28, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for reviewing your time so far with MATCHESFASHION. We have an open door policy at MATCHESFASHION, feedback like this is essential for us to improve employee experience. I would urge you to speak to your manager about your experience or reach out to the people team. If you drop an email to hrenquiries@matchesfashion.com I would be happy to arrange a time to talk. Thanks, Alex – Talent Team

  5. "You will HATE working here- Deceptive, Unethical, Poorly Managed, No Sense of Direction (Please read all reviews)"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Contractor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MATCHESFASHION full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Office Locations- Stratford Here East & Shard London. *50% discount of products- although products are always 'sold out' company are not paying their suppliers so slow influx of products... on going issue! (goodluck with using your discount) *The fact that you work for a 'luxury retailer' maybe? There is nothing luxury about this business, having come from other retailers this business should not be operating, I wouldn't be surprised if they had employee tribunals coming out of their ears.

    Cons

    *Extremely LOW morale, no bonus for 5 YEARS ongoing. False advertisement on company culture. *No Flexible working allowed- strictly forbidden for non managers or made to feel uncomfortable for asking. *Poor technology, slow/refurbished laptops, no health assessments *Company lacks diversity across the business. * Lack of career opportunities *Low salaries *Mean girl culture- Lots of gossiping , he said she said, feels like you are at school. (I am placed in a mid -senior role and still experience this!) * Poor performers not being managed, leaving those who are performing extremely frustrated. *lack of structure and staff, leaving teams feeling stretched. *poor on boarding exp *high turnover in teams, never speaking to the same one person ever.

    Continue reading

    MATCHESFASHION Response

    April 28, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at MATCHESFASHION. It is always beneficial to hear feedback so that we can improve how we operate. I am sorry to hear that your experience wasn’t an overall positive one. We would really welcome a conversation to understand your experience in more detail, If you drop an email to hrenquiries@matchesfashion.com I would be happy to arrange a time to talk. Thanks so much, Alex – Talent Team

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of communication"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MATCHESFASHION full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% discount, healthcare package, 3pm Friday finishes in summer

    Cons

    Lack of communication and consistency. Very easy to get lost as just a number in the company. The company is very segregated between two offices. Feels like people enjoy working against each other and low morale.

    Continue reading

    MATCHESFASHION Response

    April 27, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at MATCHESFASHION. It is always beneficial to hear feedback so that we can improve ways of working. I am sorry to hear that your experience wasn’t an overall positive one. Cultivating team spirit and a cohesive working environment is very important to us, within teams as well between teams. I would really welcome a conversation to understand your experience in more detail so we can learn from this. If you drop an email to hrenquiries@matchesfashion.com I would be happy to arrange a time to talk. Thanks, Alex – Talent Team

  7. "Great perks, poor management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consulting Systems Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MATCHESFASHION full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Perks are amazing: working at the shard, monthly drinks, discounts and amazing people to work with

    Cons

    Bad management which would leave people to take long lunches and come in late, lots of work pressure, work not accurate to pay

    MATCHESFASHION Response

    April 27, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for reviewing your time with MATCHESFASHION. I’m pleased you enjoyed the benefits of working here and the people you engaged with. I would really welcome a conversation to understand the pressure you experienced in more detail. As you know we are a fast paced, dynamic business which is always going involve an element of pressure, but we don’t want this to negatively impact our employees. If you drop an email to hrenquiries@matchesfashion.com I would be happy to arrange a time to talk. Thanks, Alex – Talent Team

  8. "Horrible"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MATCHESFASHION full-time

    Pros

    Location is the only pro

    Cons

    People & management are rude and unhelpful No direction Bad training

    MATCHESFASHION Response

    December 18, 2019Talent Resourcer

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at MATCHESFASHION. It is always beneficial to hear feedback so that we can improve ways of working. I am sorry to hear that your experience wasn’t an overall positive one. We would really welcome a conversation to understand your experience in more detail, If you drop an email to hrenquiries@matchesfashion.com we would be happy to arrange a time to talk. Thanks so much, Jess – Talent Team

  9. "dont botter"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at MATCHESFASHION full-time

    Pros

    discount but after you pass probation

    Cons

    micro managy/no areas or progression - no social life - work life balance

    MATCHESFASHION Response

    December 18, 2019Talent Resourcer

    Thank you for leaving a review, we appreciate the time you have taken to provide feedback. Ensuring our teams are able to develop and progress whilst at MATCHESFASHION is really important to us which is why we have recently changed the structure of our Customer Care team. We would be keen to hear more about your experience as well as anything else you feel we can do to improve development opportunities - Please drop us an email to hrenquiries@matchesfashion.com as we are passionate about creating opportunites for current employees.

  10. "Great company!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Team Leader 

    I worked at MATCHESFASHION full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great company to work for if you want to be part of the techy side of online shopping.

    Cons

    Considering the amount of work you do, the pay should be higher.

    Continue reading

    MATCHESFASHION Response

    December 3, 2019Talent Resourcer

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we really appreciate it. It’s great to hear that you think we have a strong presence in the fashion tech space! We’d like to think so too. We regularly undertake salary benchmarking reviews to ensure our salaries and variable pay are competitive in the market but we are always open to hearing feedback on what more we can improve. Feel free to drop us a message to HREnquiries@matchesfashion.com. Thanks, Jess – Talent Team

Found 117 reviews