MATCHESFASHION Reviews

Updated Jul 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 170 of over 195 reviews

2.9
50%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
MATCHESFASHION Chief Executive Officer Ajay Kavan (no image)
Ajay Kavan
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great locations and perks, such as healthcare, pension, bonus and staff discount(in 20 reviews)

  • "Great office based in the Shard(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There is no work life balance when you work for Matches(in 16 reviews)

  • "unorganised, blame culture, quantity over quality(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Great company to work with

      Nov 24, 2020 - Private Shopper in Hong Kong
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very flexible work environment and time

      Cons

      Still working on developing better service and better communication within organisation.

      1 person found this review helpful

      MATCHESFASHION Response

      Talent Acquisition Specialist

      Thank you for sharing this feedback - it is very valuable to us here at MATCHESFASHION. It is great to see positive comments from a current employee and we are glad you are enjoying being part of the team. Thank you once again! Stephanie - Talent Specialist

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company to work for

      Jul 28, 2021 - Features Editor in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Creative environment, supportive manager and staff discount!

      Cons

      I can't think of any

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Wonderful experience

      May 18, 2021 - Customer Care Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A great 3-week tailored training was provided prior start working on cases and answering calls. Team members and managers are very approachable and eager to help. The company seems to be really investing in the well being of its employees and quality of customer service. Also, 50% discount is a great deal, and I can’t wait to start using it!

      Cons

      Onboarding online and working remote since, I didn’t have the chance yet to meet any of my colleagues in person. However, there have been many initiatives from the company to build relationships with coworkers. Salary could be higher, but the company offers good benefits and discounts. Overall, there aren’t any other cons that I can’t think of.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      MATCHESFASHION Response

      Thanks so much for leaving a review - it's really helpful for us to read your feedback! I'm pleased to hear you're enjoying your experience and the training provided has helped you be successful in your role! We appreciate all of your comments and will use these to ensure that we continuously improve overall. Wishing you all the best of success in your role moving forward! Thanks again, Zoe

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Whatever you're paid here, you deserve more

      Jun 27, 2021 - Administrative Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary is reasonable, if you don't take into account what kind of hours you need to work to get it ; lovely colleagues; work from home half week

      Cons

      Very heavy workload all year round; poor medical insurance; corporate, rather than creative, environment; difficult to progress your career to the next level; no payrises

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Inflexibility

      Jul 6, 2021 - Private Shopper in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fabulous merchandise, birthday day off, some fun co-workers

      Cons

      Change in executive board led to frenzied management team

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Lots of opportunities to grow and develop

      Feb 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast paced and ever changing business, meaning a lot of opportunities for growth and development. It's not always easy, of course you need to work hard but the efforts are rewarded and acknowledged. I loved the product and the vision. People always tried their best to deliver the best results. I felt very empowered in my role and felt I was part of the team and contributed to the overall business strategy and team goals, as opposed to just executing orders. Having moved on since and done other jobs I can really appreciate the experience I gained whilst working at MATCHES. And whilst it was hard work and sweat at times I do miss the team and stretching goals that the job has offered.

      Cons

      The budget and investment is tight, probably indifferent to other retail businesses but I feel the better investment up front provides longer lasting solutions. People resource was at time especially lacking which added pressure to what normally are already busy jobs.

      1 person found this review helpful

      MATCHESFASHION Response

      Talent Partner

      Feb 26, 2021 Thank you for sharing this feedback - it is important to us here at MATCHESFASHION.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Break into the industry

      Jun 23, 2021 - Buying Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fascinating industry, employee discount, great peers

      Cons

      Low pay, long hours, strict hierarchy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Terrible hours, no support, yelled at by customers on the phone all day

      Jun 1, 2021 - Customer Care Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Work from home - 50% discount

      Cons

      - Horrible hours 12 midnight ??? - makes you book holiday 1 month in advanced and completely not understanding if you need a day off and you haven’t booked it a day in advanced. - since communication is through apps or slack there is a lack of communication which makes you look bad in front of customers - you’re not just on the phones (it’s basically a call center) you will be asked to deal with logistics (even though they have a logistics team) , live chat , missing parcels and more - this company has terrible customer service because employees are asked to stretch themselves out and do 13 tasks at a time in fields in which other departments should be handling

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      MATCHESFASHION Response

      I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy your time working within our Customer Care Team and thank you for sharing your thoughts so candidly. Our hours of support are 24/7 covered by our Teams in HK and UK to ensure we’re available when our Customers need us. When applying for a role in Customer Care from our advertisements, assessment centres, offer confirmation and onboarding we are very clear that our UK hours are from 8am until midnight (11pm GMT) on a shift basis. I agree that these hours and working shifts isn’t for everyone which is why we cover this off so thoroughly as part of our onboarding process. We hope in your new role you find a position that gives you more generic hours to support your own personal preference. Additionally, we are very clear that as well as making ourselves available to contact us when our Customers need us we also work hard to provide our Customers with a choice of contact method which as you mention does include, Voice (Phones) and Chat as well as e-mail/webform and Social. Again, throughout the hiring process we’re very transparent in how we support our Customers. Through this flexibility in how and when our Customers can contact us we can see from our Trust Pilot reviews as well as individual end of interaction surveys that our Customers are delighted with the level of Customer Care they receive from the Team at MATCHESFASHION. I’m glad that you enjoyed working from home, and appreciate the feedback that you’ve provided about communication within the department. It’s certainly been a learning curve for us and we’re continuously considering ways to improve this through pre-shift briefings, all hands, team meetings and regular one to ones with our Operations Managers – although do agree we have a way to go until our new norm of remote working brings the same level of interaction that we historically had in the office. Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and helping us grow and we all wish you every success in your new role. Kirsty Harris Head of Customer Care

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      It has changed a lot in last 5 years

      Nov 9, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - the company has changed a lot for the better since I've been hired in 2015 and it has shown the ability to absorb advice from lower ranks - great progress in removing a culture of blaming - tech leads offer the expected support - great colleagues you can lean on - 10% self development time and 25% allotted to work on tech debt - depending on teams, PMs offer great support and shielding - the business is involving engineers at the start of projects, not at the end - big investments in tech teams, including paying for courses/qualifications/conferences - big focus on TDD, CI/CD and upskilling - reactive when it comes to covid, environment and equality issues - big plans ahead as the company has been growing like crazy in last 5 years - focus on accessibility has been getting traction in last 2 years - flexible working (not just from home) - business stakeholders are really engaged from start to finish

      Cons

      - some PMs might be hard to work with - the expected friction with art teams, although nowadays less so - accessibility work not happening fast enough - 50% employee discount might not be good enough for some products

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      MATCHESFASHION Response

      Talent Acquisition Specialist

      Thank you for sharing your experience. It is great to hear positive feedback from a current employee at MATCHESFASHION and I'm thrilled to hear we have made positive change over the past 5 years. Thank you once again! Stephanie - Talent Specialist

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      May 28, 2021 - Writer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lovely people and atmosphere at this company

      Cons

      A slight lack of career and salary progression

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      MATCHESFASHION Response

      Hello, Thanks so much for leaving a review - it's really helpful for us to read your feedback and understand what you enjoy about working here currently! I'm pleased to hear you're experience is positive and you're enjoying working with your team. It's also helpful to see the areas in which we could improve and ensure that we are communicating this feedback internally to make improvements to our employee experience where possible. Wishing you all the best of success in your role moving forward! Thanks, Zoe Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 170 Reviews

    Popular Careers with MATCHESFASHION Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at MATCHESFASHION? Share Your Experiences

    MATCHESFASHION logo
    or