MEC Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

MEC Reviews

Updated 15 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
MEC CEO Tim Castree
Tim Castree
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "MEC has great people and a clear vision for the future(in 28 reviews)

  • "Work from home up to 2 days a week and great flexibility around work life balance(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "berstunden - Work-Life Balance muss optimiert werden(in 31 reviews)

  • "Pressure to answer to your clients and sometimes long hours(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SEO Executive in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at MEC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture - in-house events and services/benefits, team events, good management support and regular reviews. Continual learning - regular mandatory training to ensure skills and knowledge are up-to-date, opportunities to attend external training or further in-house training.

    Cons

    I had no bad experiences whilst working here.

    MEC2018-02-19
  2. "Ad Ops Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at MEC full-time

    Pros

    - Great people - Nice office

    Cons

    - Salary - High attrition rate

    MEC2018-07-16
  3. "Fun but toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at MEC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great view from the office, lots of media jollys, opportunities to hit your career potential and excel!

    Cons

    My Head of dept openly talked about which team members they didn't like and wanted to sack which is really unprofessional.

    MEC2018-05-09
  4. "Fun Place To Work, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MEC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing colleagues, Great managers, Superb People & Culture

    Cons

    No stairs, lift only and waiting times can be up to 15 mins in the mornings.

    Advice to Management

    Allow pets in the office.

    MEC2017-12-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MEC for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Laid-back culture Nice people Free coffee and nice office building

    Cons

    Poor salary Pretty much non-existing management People and Culture would only listen but never take actions - as you can see in most of the responses below

    Advice to Management

    Good luck with the merger

    MEC2017-12-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MEC full-time

    Pros

    great exposure to a wide range of clients

    Cons

    terrible management / no pay

    Advice to Management

    respect your interns

    MEC2017-10-16
  7. Helpful (5)

    "This year has been horrendous!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MEC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Moderately subsidised rooftop bar, decent office views right on the Thames, free breakfast/fruit in the mornings (if you're in early enough), monthly drinks at a local bar for a few hours at literally the smallest bar on the planet for that amount of people.

    Cons

    MEC used to be amazing when I first started, but this year I have seen so many good people leave because they've had enough. They never replace people when they leave (and if they do, it will be months after you serve their ridiculously long notice period and the team is left with a hole in it for far too long), literally every person you talk to is stretched with work usually because people in their team have taken... on more work or people have been left to pick up the work of others who have left the company, managers and directors doing entry level tasks because there's nobody left in the teams with no time to actually plan ahead and "direct", rubbish pay, no pay rises unless you are prepared to battle or threaten to leave - not even standard payrises that cover inflation and GDP increases, constant reassurance from senior management saying "everything is alright, and we have job codes to hire more people" yet when you ask whether anything is being done nobody knows anything and they don't have permission to hire... the list goes on. This merger seems like one big joke and it doesn't seem to be fooling many people that they're just making it up as they go along...and not a single person in the build knows what their future is going to be or how their role will change.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    All of the lack of payrises is blamed on GroupM, which to a point I don't doubt, but with the way the industry is now and the such small margins on media costs, yet we're still recording record profits, where do they think that magical money is coming from? There's always an excuse as to why people don't get payrises. None of the agencies offer a "unique" product, and this Wavemaker merger is also not unique because... creative agencies and content companies have been using data for years to sell their products and ideas... Your "unique" product is the brains and talent you have in your building, and if you pay them peanuts and treat them like no more than a number in the system then you're going to lose everyone with half a brain that has their eyes open.

    Show More
    MEC2017-11-14

    MEC Response

    November 15, 2017Global Project Manager, People and Culture

    Thanks for your feedback. We are currently hiring for many roles across the business and we continue to place new employees into the business. We know that at times employees will need to work longer hours to meet client demands, we hope that you have made use of the smarter working policy. As with any transformation -we will continue to grow and expand our horizons daily. We have very bright runway before us .

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Got a way to go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MEC full-time

    Pros

    It used to be a great place to work and has really gone down hill over the passed 2 years. But the management are largely the same so there's the potential to bring it back again.

    Cons

    Favouritism is rife and almost unapologetic in it's blatantness. The same people are given the most promising accounts, pulled into new business pitches, and sent to conferences whilst the rest have to be content with picking up the less glamours accounts and roles. Inequalities and bias are everywhere depending on who your manager is and who leads your accounts, which has a big impact on progression. Even if... you're on the right side of that it's not pleasant to work for a company that doesn't treat your friends and colleagues fairly. The inequalities create a gossiping culture where people discuss what others might have over you, leading to a lot of stress, disappointment and mistrust. There's a very bad atmosphere in the air with so many people leaving, empty desks are everywhere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look after the do-ers not just the ones who talk about doing it. Treat people fairly. Bring the community back by giving everyone real reasons to feel good. Taking people out for drinks when everyone is having a bad time is only going to create an echo chamber of negativity.

    MEC2017-11-04
  9. Helpful (3)

    "No work - life balance!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MEC full-time

    Pros

    - Had the chance to meet some really nice professionals. - Good place for grads as they will have the chance to learn a lot

    Cons

    - Long hours - REALLY long hours - I have been there for almost 2 years and never got a raise - long processes - People leave and they are not getting replaced which means more workload for the rest of the team - No appreciation for all the hard work - I have asked to work from home only twice. It was so obvious that my line manager wasn't so happy about it. This perk does exist but this is not really feasible... for non-manager roles - at least not in my team - Lots of micromanagement which is really time-consuming - A really long list of unnecessary processes which actually manage to cause issues in getting real work done

    Show More
    MEC2017-10-11

    MEC Response

    October 24, 2017Global Project Manager, People and Culture

    Sorry to hear that your time at MEC wasn’t what we would hope it to be. We do appreciate that our employees work hard here and that at times it means you will work longer than your contracted hours. We hope that the benefits, perks and flexibility go some way in which to compensate you for these extra hours. You mention processes, we would be keen to hear what unnecessary process happen and how we can eradicate them.

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Good People But Stingy Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MEC full-time

    Pros

    People are great, pleasant to work with. Really nice environment - view of the Thames at Sea Containers building. Young and fun drinking culture. International company.

    Cons

    You will not get a raise/promoted unless you ask for it. Some staff need to get another job offer to get the company to match their offer's salary. Vouchers at year end were not paid to staff that worked here for 3+ years just because they were leaving the next year (causing leavers to not recommend friends to the company). HR tries to cut costs and does not pay enough to keep good staff, which ends up spending... even more of the company's money.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Having a great culture is not sufficient to keep great people working for you. Pay is also important. Don't use the excuse of high staff turnover in the industry but instead think of a way to improve the situation. Don't just cut costs blindly but look at the overall impact towards the business.

    MEC2017-10-02

    MEC Response

    October 24, 2017Global Project Manager, People and Culture

    We are pleased that you enjoy the benefits of working for a Company that focuses on their culture and hiring the best people. We do have a great view and are lucky to be in such a nice building. We discussed the salary review process at the last Company meeting, which we hope you attended. If any of it was unclear to you, please speak with your line manager or a P&C rep, who will be able to help.

    Show Less
Found 375 reviews
</>Embed