MHA MacIntyre Hudson Reviews

Updated 19 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
MHA MacIntyre Hudson Chairman Rakesh Shaunak
Rakesh Shaunak
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance which is almost unheard of when working for a top 20 firm(in 16 reviews)

  • "One of the major factors that contributes towards me loving to work here is the friendly atmosphere that is created within the working environment(in 10 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Unique place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Manager in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHA MacIntyre Hudson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Close knit team who work closely from Partner to first year trainee level. Work life balance. In the last 6 weeks I've been checked upon by my lead partner, the staff partner, the admin team, my own senior team and the Directors I work closely with. For no reason other than it is busy season. Flexible and fair working environment. Absolutely zero discrimination (ever), due to being a mother of two young children. Good, responsive support from the central services teams who want to work collaboratively. Great staff retention and people willing to travel long distances to be a part of this specific team.

    Cons

    Parking post 9am is tricky.

    Continue reading

    MHA MacIntyre Hudson Response

    June 10, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave a review for the firm and it's great to hear you are having a good experience with us!

  2. "Enjoyable environment but salaries are not very transparent"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit and Accounts Executive in Leicester, England
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MHA MacIntyre Hudson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work flexibility with friendly and supportive colleagues

    Cons

    Very rigid and arcane salary structure

    MHA MacIntyre Hudson Response

    June 10, 2020Recruiting Manager

    We are really pleased to hear you are having a good experience with the firm and thank you for leaving us some constructive feedback. We will ensure this is communicated to the relevant Partners.

  3. "Good name to have on a CV"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at MHA MacIntyre Hudson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Central london office location

    Cons

    Timesheets obsessed and difficulties getting time off approved

    MHA MacIntyre Hudson Response

    June 10, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Sorry to hear you have had a mixed experience with us. Timesheets are a core part of our business as a professional services firm, so it is imperative we record this accurately. Leave is requested via our Cloud based HR system - if you were having any specific issues, please do feed these back to our HR team and we will look into it.

  4. "Amazing office culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit and Accounts Junior in Canterbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MHA MacIntyre Hudson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    MHA focuses on hiring staff who share similar values and this really comes across in the office. The atmosphere is warm, inviting and helpful. I have spent time working alongside both the accounts and audit teams and have admired the support and hard work my colleagues maintain. As an ACA student, college is fantastic, but MHA make sure that I still get the necessary industry experience. Within the first few weeks I was already experiencing auditing clients out on site, as well as speaking directly to the finance directors.

    Cons

    If undertaking the ACA apprenticeship, be prepared for late nights, weekend revision as you work full time. Some audits can be quite far from home. You need to be prepared to travel away for days at a time.

    MHA MacIntyre Hudson Response

    January 6, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for leaving a review here, it's great to hear you are having a good experience with us. You are absolutely right, it's an academic route to becoming a Chartered Accountant but it'll be worth it in the end! Leanne

  5. "Great training firm, not for the long term"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit and Accounts Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MHA MacIntyre Hudson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really great training environment, not too much pressure Great variety of work People are friendly Top 20, so great starting point for a career in accountancy

    Cons

    Budget restrictions can impact negatively on staff morale Opportunity to process and clear career path post qualification is lacking

    Continue reading

    MHA MacIntyre Hudson Response

    January 6, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we have taken your comments on board. We do have lots of examples in the firm of employees that have worked their way from trainee right through to Partner, but we can always do better! Leanne

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Really enjoyable workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Finance Junior in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHA MacIntyre Hudson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really nice people and relaxed working environment

    Cons

    No serious cons, I am happy here.

    MHA MacIntyre Hudson Response

    November 18, 2019Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for leaving a review, we are really pleased to hear you are having a good experience with us! Leanne

  7. "Work Life Balance but still challenging"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Junior 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHA MacIntyre Hudson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance with compassionate management whilst still offering challenges you would expect to see in other firms. Progression opportunities seem promising and are talked about often.

    Cons

    Have heard about high staff turnover rates throughout the firm.

    MHA MacIntyre Hudson Response

    November 18, 2019Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for leaving a review, it's great to hear you are having a good experience with us. I can put your mind to rest on turnover rates - we actually fall under the industry benchmark for attrition! Thanks, Leanne

  8. "A Fantastic Firm!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit and Accounts Junior in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHA MacIntyre Hudson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A very professional firm that care about their trainees. Constant support when in the workplace and they give you plenty of time to balance your work and exam pressures.

    Cons

    Difficult to give any real cons at present due to everything going so well.

    MHA MacIntyre Hudson Response

    November 18, 2019Recruiting Manager

    Wow, thank you for your review. We work really hard and making trainees feel supported, so it's good to hear you are feeling the benefit of this. Leanne

  9. "MHA According to a intern"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MHA MacIntyre Hudson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Attentive to staff, good communication, good management, develop skills

    Cons

    senior staff structure, parking spaces

    MHA MacIntyre Hudson Response

    November 18, 2019Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your review, it's great to hear you are enjoying your experience with us! Leanne

  10. "Tax trainee"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at MHA MacIntyre Hudson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people, a lot of learning opportunities, great for building knowledge

    Cons

    Salary, flexible working non existent

    MHA MacIntyre Hudson Response

    January 6, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your review. In respect of salary - we conduct an external bench-marking project every year and adjust salaries as and where we need to, so we are confident we offer market rates, plus a great flexible benefits package. Additionally, we knew we needed to be more flexible, our staff told us so on our engagement survey and as a result we introduced agile working :) Thanks again, Leanne

Found 86 reviews