MHN Government Services Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

MHN Government Services Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
40%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
MHN Government Services CEO  (no image)
2 Ratings
  1. "Ongoing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MFLC in Fort Polk, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at MHN Government Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Community oriented and family friendly

    Cons

    Poor pay scale and no employee focused

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    MHN Government Services2018-08-07
  2. "Uncertainty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MHN Government Services full-time

    Pros

    Solid company, payment on time

    Cons

    Poor communication with employees and no benefits nor vacation time

    MHN Government Services2018-08-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Horrific management and ethics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MFLC in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at MHN Government Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working as a counselor/therapist for the military.

    Cons

    As you work in other countries, management is not supportive. Japan supervisor had dogs barking during conference calls , talked about herself and did not respond to emails under any circumstances. Company was aware of supervisors incompetence a nd did nothing about it.

    Advice to Management

    Check on supervisors. Many are not doing their jobs and have absolutely no regard for the MFLCs. Truly the only reason there are not more complaints is that MFLCs are afraid they will not get another assignment. Assignments are rarely posted and it is a mystery how assignments are given. Schedulers never respond to emails unless they want to get a hold of the MFLC. Even though MFLCs have complained that... schedulers do not respond, the problem persists. There is no supervision of MFLCs. There is one weekly call of all MFLCs, that is not clinical in nature. MFLCs dare not speak during the call, as they fear they will get black listed. MFLCs are so concerned about continuous work and assignments that their biggest concern is staying below the radar and will often put heads in the sand in order to keep working. The MFLC does not have a voice and the work is not acknowledge or appreciate by management. When bringing up a concern, often the supervisor will say that if you don't like it, you are free to go. During assignments where there it is difficult if not impossible to make the daily face to face hours, you are coerced in to making the numbers whether they are true numbers or fictious.

    Show More
    MHN Government Services2018-04-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great concept (initially)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at MHN Government Services

    Pros

    It is a wonderful opportunity to provide supportive services to military members and their families in the USA and OCONUS. Initially the pay was very respectable. Eventually received health benefits for full time employees.

    Cons

    Over the years there were significant "contractor benefit" reductions including multiple pay cuts, sharing vehicles with co-workers when on OCONUS assignments, and housing for long term assignments (meaning 6 - 12 months) was inadequate (eg. having only a microwave and a mini-fridge to prepare meals with) in a room with a bed, small desk and desk chair. Could feel micromanaged and infantilized by management at... times. No personal/sick days or vacation time (very challenging when on long assignments) until relatively recently.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please treat employees with dignity and respect as they are professionals stepping away from their lives for many months at a time to do work that is meaningful to them. Improve pay and benefits.

    MHN Government Services2018-03-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Military & Family Life Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Military & Family Life Counselor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at MHN Government Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The experience of working with service members and their families is the reason I do this job. Better pay than most professional counseling jobs.

    Cons

    No vacation or personal days. The only paid days are Federal holidays. You can request Leave Without Pay, but they discourage being gone more than three days in a row. Only 7 sick days a year. Toxic leadership. If you voice concerns to the wrong people you will be threatened with possible job loss or told to be happy that you have a job. We are not treated like professionals. No raises, but several pay cuts, with... the most recent one being 20%.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Create a path for advancement. Implement paid vacation and personal days. Ask for input from Senior MFLC's on the ground when making decisions. Treat us like professionals.

    MHN Government Services2017-12-28
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Sr Embedded SPA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at MHN Government Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    ONLY thing good about working for this Company is working with the military members and their families, and I am lucky enough to work with a good team of MFLCs..

    Cons

    This is ABSOLUTELY the WORST company I have EVER worked for!!! They DO NOT care about their employees (i.e. MFLCs), and only thing important to them is bottom line (making money for their Company). They will do anything to the MFLCs they need to do (cancel assignments, reduce pay by $20,000, keep us wondering whether we have an assignment so we cannot plan our lives) in order to keep the contract and make money. ... The MFLCs are the last people considered in any decisions, We get NO paid vacation, and were only recently allowed to take off LWOP for anything during an assignment contract. They do not allow us to take care of ourselves so we can take care of the service members and families. Their communication with us is terrible, very seldom give us correct information, and get contradictory information from different departments The health insurance is the worst and they do not explain clearly how the insurance is paid for when off of assignments (have heard several different explanations from different admin people...none of which are consistent). Only 7 days sick leave and a few holidays a year. They constantly increase our paperwork and demand trainings and paperwork immediately, although we never get quick response times from our questions to them. Our Supervisors are useless since their only job is to make sure we are not making mistakes and very seldom advocate for our needs. Many of the Provider Relations Staff (people who give us our assignments) very rarely return emails or calls or communicate with us so we know how to plan our lives. Unless you REALLY have a passion to work with the military, I do not recommend working for this Company!!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start caring about the people "on the ground" doing the actual work so you can actually keep the contracts with OSD. Quit cutting pay....instead think about giving cost-of-living raises, and decent benefits and paid time-off, and treat us like the valuable professionals that we are.

    MHN Government Services2017-07-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "MFLC- Senior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Military Family Life Counselor 
    Recommends

    I have been working at MHN Government Services part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Previous opportunity to travel the world

    Cons

    Required to pay for housing on out of town assignment, no transportation provided on assignment within US

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate the people on the ground working hard for you- Weed out the worn out exhausted professional that don't take care of military and their families and reward the ones that truly care and put heart and soul into the job

    MHN Government Services2017-02-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "First experience working with a government contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Rafael, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at MHN Government Services for less than a year

    Pros

    I found it outstanding for the company to compensate me to complete my 400 hours required for a fellowship as a financial counselor. Otherwise, I would have been paying very expensive daycare expenses, while earning nothing at work. This company allowed me the ability to earn money, which more than helped to offset daycare expenses, and I was able to successfully complete my 400 practicum hours earning the... Accredited Financial Counselor (AFC). I will always appreciate this company. It was a great company to work for.

    Show More

    Cons

    I learned that working with a government contractor one must be flexible. When I say flexible, I mean about almost everything. For example, you may be hired with a certain compensation and benefit package, then after the contract is up the contractor, in order to beat all other bids being submitted to the government, may change your pay or other benefits, to obtain the contract. This never happened to me, but I... saw it happen to others doing contract work in other companies.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    NA

    MHN Government Services2016-08-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Military Family Life Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Military Family Life Counselor in National City, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at MHN Government Services for less than a year

    Pros

    MHN Government services is a very organized and team oriented organization. I enjoyed the assignment of working directly with the school system. I also found the materials to be innovative and much needed for student and family success with handling deployments.

    Cons

    Flexibility for employee sick leave would be helpful.

    Advice to Management

    My Supervisor was exceptional and very helpful, regular staff meetings aided in accountability and in program development. Enabling triage between clinicians in supporting events would interest more military family participation and promote more interest.

    MHN Government Services2016-01-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Embedded SPA MFLC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Embedded SPA in Twentynine Palms, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MHN Government Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Schedule flexibility, good support from management

    Cons

    No paid leave and limited health plan

    MHN Government Services2016-01-20
Found 23 reviews