MHR Employee Reviews about "dress code"

Updated Sep 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 of over 242 reviews

3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
MHR Chief Executive Officer Anton Roe  (no image)
Anton Roe
102 Ratings
Pros
  • "I would definitely recommend MHR to anyone considering a career(in 25 reviews)

  • "Really lovely offices and free parking(in 22 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Formal dress code a little outdated(in 25 reviews)

  • "The scheme is structured brilliantly, at present there are no cons I would mention - 6 months into my career I feel settled within MHR(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Technical Account Manager

    Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

    383

    57 Comments

    Tech

    205.8K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=MHR~495118
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "dress code"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Dec 6, 2020 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Generally a good all round company.

      Cons

      Dress code is business formal.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A few tiny improvements would make working here so much better

      Sep 30, 2021 - Software Engineer in Nottingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Talented developers, principles and architects who make time to help out Reasonable tools and technologies Lower level managment in Software Engineering seem to actually care somewhat A very clean codebase

      Cons

      Formal dress code High level managment seem to have an unwillingness to change Everyone recognises there's a problem of unsustainable and unnecessary deadlines which push Software too much but then nothing is done about it! The kitchen facilities (as mentioned constantly) are none existent - I've never understood this and have never been given a good reason for it. The only explanation I can think of is that they are trying not to cut into the canteen's profits High staff turnover and more contractors being brought in the fill the gaps means the codebase is starting to degrade Weird sinister feeling from management outside of the Software Engineering department that I would put down to it being a privately owned business

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful

      MHR Response

      thank you for your review; Recruitment is certainly difficult at this time and is not a problem solely experienced by MHR, it is a problem every company is facing right now. This has been a growing problem and something that MHR identified sometime ago and has taken a number of steps to mitigate against, including Outsourcing and introduction of an Academy program. There are always challenges when adjusting from a previous model, but adaptability is key to the future of the business and we will continue to get better at managing these challenges. It is a shame you feel that the feedback was shot down, I can assure you it wasn't and to reiterate the responses, that were given at the town hall, to the points raised above: Relaxing The dress code -. The dress code is a very important part of MHR's professional image, A number of options have been discussed with Staff to find the right balance. this is still being reviewed Stationary - Plenty of stationary is available via reception, you just need to request it. Kettle / Microwave – MHR has excellent subsidised canteen facilities and continues to extend the offerings available from these. Providing Kettles and Microwaves is not an approach that we want to take as there are additional H&S concerns to manage. However, we have listened to the requirement and the canteen hours have now been extended to ensure that drink and snacks are available through full office hours. I would also like to point out some of the other feedback items that have and are being implemented: Changes to the lighting within one of the buildings is now underway Breakout area has been restored Concerns around planning and Deadlines, are a major concern and a number of changes have been already been tried across the teams to improve this, we are now rolling out a full Agile training program across the teams, with a particular focus on Estimating and planning, this should improve and standardise the understanding of Agile techniques, reduce the time and effort teams spend and improve accuracy on timelines. Updates on all the product visions are already underway to update all the teams. So hopefully you can see that feedback is being considered and understood, Obviously not all ideas can be taken forward but we will always consider good ideas.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Welcoming and supportive

      Dec 22, 2020 - Field Marketing Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team that I work in has been really welcoming and supportive while finding my feet in a new role and company.

      Cons

      Sometimes the business can be a little bit old school for example with the dress code etc but I would not say these have put me off working here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A great place to work

      Sep 18, 2020 - Payroll in Ruddington, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive Management. Invest in employee development. Great office environment. Flexible working. Really good subsidised restaurant. Good breaks. Career opportunities. Financially stable business. Job security. Good communication. Free parking on site. Well connected.

      Cons

      Formal dress code can be a little much for some, but I don’t mind it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Salary, Supportive Colleagues and iTrent

      Aug 20, 2020 - Payroll Consultant EAST in Nottingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *Good Salary *Supportive team members in the EAST, WEST and NORTH *iTrent is a great product *MHR thank you for the opportunity to work for you. I really appreciate it.

      Cons

      *The Formal Dress code requirement all the time even at work conferences and training is bit too much (would be nice if this was relaxed a bit). Apart from the above I have no other cons. P.S. I have left MHR because I wanted to change direction in terms of my career path and have a better work/life balance. Consultancy just wasn’t for me but that doesn’t mean it’s not for you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to further your career

      Aug 13, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great development opportunities - Paid for qualifications - Freedom in role to be creative - Free parking... in Nottingham that's not always a thing!

      Cons

      Not everyone will like the business dress code

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Jul 28, 2020 - Head of Marketing in Nottingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly Growing Ambitious business Strong senior management High investment Great offices Flexible benefits high calibre of people strong, clear values access to senior management

      Cons

      Formal dress code a little outdated Offices need more co-working spaces, less rows of desks No free tea / coffee: have to pay everytime Pension contribution just about OK - could be better

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great career opportunities, good salary and great colleagues

      Jun 12, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are driven and willing to work hard there are many opportunities within MHR to progress and experience different roles. Having worked for MHR for nearly 14 years I have now worked in 3 different departments and been promoted many times. Your efforts and achievements are recognised and there is an internal social hub where anyone can recognise anyone else so is completely transparent and non-corporate. This creates a real team and family culture within the business. Good salaries and benefits are offered, free parking, onsite subsidised canteen and company continually growing with exciting future plans

      Cons

      Dress code is a little old fashioned, whilst I am a firm believer in business dress the code could be modernised slightly.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good company to work for that is continuously improving

      Mar 3, 2020 - Automation Test Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity to work with some good people, well paid, new offices, onsite cafe, free parking and building more spaces. Company is expanding and continues to do well and is always looking to improve to make it a better place to work. If you work hard and show commitment you do get rewarded.

      Cons

      Dress code is a little old fashion.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Don't even bother

      Feb 1, 2020 - Implementation Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are no pros to working here.

      Cons

      Archaic dress code, Overbearing management, told training would be continued then terminated a week later. If the chairman takes a dislike to you at first sight he'll get his way as its all about him and his Conservative (Tory) methodology that is outdated in the modern world.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 25 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with MHR Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at MHR? Share Your Experiences

    or