MHR "mhr" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

MHR Employee Reviews about "mhr"

Updated 31 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
61%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
MHR Chief Executive Officer Anton Roe  (no image)
Anton Roe
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "There seems to be some disgruntled people who have left MHR for one reason or another(in 19 reviews)

  • "Really lovely offices and free parking(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some people aren't thrilled with the smart dress code(in 18 reviews)

  • "None that would prevent me from recommending MHR as an employer of choice (although perhaps public transport links could be better for the area)(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "mhr"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Hard work pays off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Department in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I cannot believe some of the negative comments I have read on this site. Yes, I do work hard and put in extra work when required, and am even sometimes under a little pressure. I also met someone I did not get on with once, but is this not normal in almost every place of work. There seems to be some disgruntled people who have left MHR for one reason or another. I cannot speak for them, but I can comment on my experience. In my 3 years of working at MHR, I have been promoted twice and had three pay rises. I work alongside some of the most talented people I have ever met. I have requested, attended and passed exams for two career training courses, which the company has paid for in full, along with my hotel, food and travel expenses. I have also attended countless internal courses organised by our fantastic Training Department. My meals here are discounted and I don't have any car parking costs, which potentially saves me hundreds of pounds every month. I consider myself fortunate that I get a car allowance and above average pension contributions paid for me. I am proud to wear a suit and tie every day, in my modern heated/air conditioned office using the most up to date technology available. MHR is always expanding, its innovative and our products are at the cutting edge of technology. I choose my office hours, meaning I can start early, so I get home before 5.30pm almost every evening to have dinner with my young family and spend quality time with them. If you are talented, hard working and willing to learn, (and dress smartly) then MHR is a great place to work. If your not, it's not.

    Cons

    Occasional lack of resource. Communication between employees and senior management is redundant in many areas. Lack of a company wide social experience for employees and their families, such as a summer or Christmas function.

    Continue reading
    MHR2019-05-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relationship Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I’ve been at MHR for 2 years and love it! I work in a customer facing role with every team in the business, everyone is helpful, supportive and many go above and beyond

    Cons

    Some weeks my work/life balance is better than other weeks.

    MHR2019-11-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Be careful all that glitters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at MHR full-time

    Pros

    Some of the people who work there look after you and try to get you through the initial horrors.

    Cons

    The training program is an initial 6-8 week schedule where you are taught the basics of the system you are then left to it until something goes wrong and then all hell to pay. The company made me feel worthless and incapable and after a period of absence from work caused by stress was then let go. I have no ill will towards MHR and I'm sure they will continue to make money but the attitude the senior/middle management have towards any one that questions them or their ideas is outdated at best. Its an old boys club at best.

    Continue reading
    MHR2020-03-31

    MHR Response

    April 2, 2020Social Manager

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your time at MHR. I'm sorry you didn't have a great experience during your time here. Related to your comments that MHR made you feel worthless we would like to look into this further with your help, please could you email: jeanette.wheeler@mhr.co.uk Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review and we wish you the best in your future endeavours

    Continue reading
  4. "I've been employed at MHR for over 22 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    During my employment I've had exposure to many different technologies and software tools that have been used to produce marketable products - so life is always interesting at MHR. We work in teams for different projects so new starters get to know people quickly, and the work is split into manageable chunks called timeboxes. Team members may all have different particular skills so good communication is important. I've enjoyed my time here at MHR and have a lot of friends here. It helps if you have some common sense and are conscientious about what you do. Amongst other charity events - we recently raised £6k for Rainbows Children's Hospice (charity) with a week long sponsored cycle ride/mountain climb with all logistics funded by the company - brilliant. There are lots of opportunities here.

    Cons

    Car parking was difficult but construction of a multistorey car park is under way so that'll ease things a bit. Bike racks are limited with half under cover and half open air. Occasionally a manager will leave the company then they will reappear as a director a couple of years later, I guess if they are director quality now then they were before they left.

    Continue reading
    MHR2020-03-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Career potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Having worked for MHR for many years I have been given the opportunity and tools to develop both myself as an individual as well as my career with MHR. I have been supported through most levels of management - but have found that Directors, Chiefs and past and present CEO's have really been the driving force behind my success - both giving me the confidence, the challenges and chances to progress. I have found feedback and ideas listened to - yes they need to be constructive - and I am given the freedom to innovate within my team when and where required. The Company is quite clear and communicative in both its direction as a business, its financial status and how each individual can contribute. Annual Departmental and Company days further enhance this buy in that we are all aiming for the same goal. Business happily reinvests - whether it be in employee training, office facilities, car parking or equipment. I see many people leave and come back - MHR must have something going for it!

    Cons

    It's formal - personally that doesn't bother me. Quality of cafeteria food is pretty average. It can vary from department to department - my experiences are all generally positive within Engineering.

    Continue reading
    MHR2020-02-27
  6. "I love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MHR is a great company to work for. The management in my area of the business are fantastic and always appreciate a work life balance. Food is great too in the canteens too!

    Cons

    No occupational parental leave pay, often told to keep quiet if you don't like a decision/the way something is run

    Continue reading
    MHR2019-11-07
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Business that drives for growth by utilising potential of Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CHIEF MARKETING OFFICER in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ambitious business that looks to its employees to be part of the growth and work towards a common goal. The family owned business really acts as a family with contributions by employees to the business and community being fully supported. I have been impressed by how many community projects the teams in MHR are involved in, and how the company stands by its values and supports them. This is a company that has a culture of innovation, customer service and family values and ensures its employees are part of their growth journey.

    Cons

    The business is still a secret with lots of customers... we need to be known by all, as what it brings to the market, its customers and employees should be known more!

    Continue reading
    MHR2019-10-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "MHR has given me so many opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Consultant in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I work in a great environment with some real experts. There is an expansion programme not only for the real estate, but also for the company as a whole. I feel truly valued in the work I do and that is from the CEO downwards. MHR has continually invested in me and I am really grateful for the trust they have placed with me. I have seen many colleagues benefit from the professional development that is offered with both academic and technical courses. This is a rarity these days. John Mills, Jessica Mill and Anton Roe (CEO) are passionate about the company and focused on the long-term. It makes a real difference to the decisions that are made and the environment that we work in.

    Cons

    Every business has its cons but it's up to the individual to assess the cons and mitigate their impact. I've given my feedback openly within the company.

    Continue reading
    MHR2019-10-14
  9. "Supportive Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Cyber Security Engineer in Mansfield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MHR for more than a year

    Pros

    What made MHR the perfect company to work at was their supportive and amazing staff, which never failed to make sure I was comfortable while on placement. Was given the opportunity to develop my own skills, with many different opportunities available to ensure I was able to prepare myself for my career in the future. Fantastic canteen with lots of yummy food. Amazing team who I can't thank enough for their support while I was on placement.

    Cons

    Accessibility could be improved further.

    MHR2019-09-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of opportunities for a varied and exciting career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people at all levels Modern working environment Lots of opportunity to progress in your career and to grow as an individual Plenty of training available for all employees Options to work overseas for an innovative forward thinking business Subsidised restaurants on site Free parking

    Cons

    None that would prevent me from recommending MHR as an employer of choice (although perhaps public transport links could be better for the area)

    Continue reading
    MHR2019-06-27
Found 27 reviews
</>Embed