MHR Employee Reviews about "mhr"

Updated Dec 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 of over 212 reviews

3.1
55%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
MHR Chief Executive Officer Anton Roe  (no image)
Anton Roe
79 Ratings
Pros
  • "MHR provide a subsidised staff restaurant which serves great breakfast and lunch options in lovely surroundings(in 21 reviews)

  • "Really lovely offices and free parking(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Formal dress code a little outdated(in 24 reviews)

  • "None that would prevent me from recommending MHR(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "mhr"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A warm welcome to an exciting company

      Dec 17, 2020 - Internal Trainer in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is hugely helpful and welcoming. I have been given autonomy and trust straight away. My ideas from previous experience are welcomed and encouraged. I felt part of a great team right from day 1. The recruitment and interview process was seamless, personable and efficient. The team were in touch when they said they would be, if not beforehand. My first couple of weeks have been well structured and I have felt supported throughout. The offices provide a great working environment with a mix of the traditional and modern. MHR provide a subsidised staff restaurant which serves great breakfast and lunch options in lovely surroundings. I am excited to learn more about my role and MHR. I believe this has been a great career choice for me.

      Cons

      The benefits on offer are basic but this would not outweigh the pros.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Salary, Supportive Colleagues and iTrent

      Aug 20, 2020 - Payroll Consultant EAST in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *Good Salary *Supportive team members in the EAST, WEST and NORTH *iTrent is a great product *MHR thank you for the opportunity to work for you. I really appreciate it.

      Cons

      *The Formal Dress code requirement all the time even at work conferences and training is bit too much (would be nice if this was relaxed a bit). Apart from the above I have no other cons. P.S. I have left MHR because I wanted to change direction in terms of my career path and have a better work/life balance. Consultancy just wasn’t for me but that doesn’t mean it’s not for you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Tech

      Join the conversation on

      Tech

      1y

      a 

      Sales Engineer

      Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

      374

      158 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fulfilling graduate Scheme

      Jul 30, 2020 - Graduate in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Interesting projects and responsibility for my work from day one - Opportunities to work with and learn from people around the business - Supportive colleagues - Culture of recognition and appreciation for work - Environmentally friendly considerations with buildings, recycling, reusable energy sources, etc - Opportunities to support charitable organisations - Subsidised canteen - Free parking

      Cons

      None that would prevent me from recommending MHR

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Plenty of Opportunities

      Jul 28, 2020 - Partner Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with and plenty of opportunities to have a positive impact

      Cons

      Strange to join a company during lockdown but MHR have done everything to make this situation work as well as possible.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great career opportunities, good salary and great colleagues

      Jun 12, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are driven and willing to work hard there are many opportunities within MHR to progress and experience different roles. Having worked for MHR for nearly 14 years I have now worked in 3 different departments and been promoted many times. Your efforts and achievements are recognised and there is an internal social hub where anyone can recognise anyone else so is completely transparent and non-corporate. This creates a real team and family culture within the business. Good salaries and benefits are offered, free parking, onsite subsidised canteen and company continually growing with exciting future plans

      Cons

      Dress code is a little old fashioned, whilst I am a firm believer in business dress the code could be modernised slightly.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      MHR: Think very carefully about working for this company

      Jul 13, 2020 - Sales in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leaving the office at 5.30pm

      Cons

      No commission plan, no targets in the year I was there. No support, no marketing support, no strategy, no idea. People working at MHR in short have no idea what they are doing. A very strange company.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful

      MHR Response

      Head of HR

      MHR would like to thank you for leaving your thoughts and comments, as having worked for us you would have seen that we actively encourage feedback to ensure we continually improve. We are disappointed that your departure caused such a negative response, but would like to confirm to you that thankfully being a company that continues to grow both in revenue and size we always have sales teams with commission plans. We recognise our sales teams are a vital part of the success of the company, so ensure they are always supported. This includes different types of commissions plans. I would like to draw your attention to the fact that we are honored to have been successful company for in excess of 30 years and we continue to demonstrate growth year on year in providing software and services to our customers. Our success is demonstrated in our customer testimonials that can be viewed across our social media channels and website. We can only have achieved this by having a clear strategy which in turn is supported by the rest of the business, including Marketing. We have tried to respond to your second paragraph but unfortunately this is not clear. We would absolute refute there is a bullying culture, as we actively have a process to ensure that we support any person that feels this is occurring to them. The fact we have a lot of people who have over 10 years’ service or leave and return would not support your claims. In regards to claims of poor communication; this is something that we are always improving but we do have a platform that constantly shares news from company perspective to more social interactions. This is complimented by regular senior Executive information bulletins, town halls, both, company wide and department led. We are sorry if you felt that you could not participate in such activities. We find it unfortunate that your displeasure in the company has only been aired following you recent departure. We would be willing to further discuss this so please contact our HR team. Jeanette Wheeler HR Director

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Professional Services Issues

      Jun 26, 2020 - Project Manager in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None or little of benefit

      Cons

      Far to structured and inflexible. Role is more task management, with far to many unthought through processes. DMS/SharePoint - has not been audited , causing significant confusion relating to documentation. MHR are driven completely financially, which causes significant issues from sales, through to delivery. Poor induction and little training process. Unhelpful HR and support as a result of illness.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      MHR Response

      Head of HR

      Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that during your short employment period with MHR you were not able to take advantage of the many training courses the business offers to all employees. I am sure, as you would have seen, we see training as a vital part of MHR. This is why we invest heavily in a wide range of courses. This includes those we make mandatory, for example IT security, data privacy and many more. We understand that during such times as illness it can be difficult. Our HR team are trained and do support people through a range of circumstances. Additional support is also available via our EAP that you would have been informed of at the time of joining MHR, again at the point of first being recorded as absent and then continually through regular reminders both via internal communications and our People First application. We would like to address your statement in regards to being financially oriented and issues arising from this. At MHR we pride ourselves on being a family owned business that is financially independent, as this allows in to invest where the business needs. We pride ourselves in excellent customer service. This is from initial engagement through to support of a customer during their lifetime with us. We are proud of the great service we deliver and always look to deliver. This can be seen in our social feeds and website by our customers testimonials, which we are proud to have. If you wish to discuss your concerns more please contact us as we always wish to improve. We wish you well in the future. Jeanette Wheeler HR Director - MHR

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Be careful all that glitters

      Mar 31, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the people who work there look after you and try to get you through the initial horrors.

      Cons

      The training program is an initial 6-8 week schedule where you are taught the basics of the system you are then left to it until something goes wrong and then all hell to pay. The company made me feel worthless and incapable and after a period of absence from work caused by stress was then let go. I have no ill will towards MHR and I'm sure they will continue to make money but the attitude the senior/middle management have towards any one that questions them or their ideas is outdated at best. Its an old boys club at best.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful

      MHR Response

      Social Manager

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your time at MHR. I'm sorry you didn't have a great experience during your time here. Related to your comments that MHR made you feel worthless we would like to look into this further with your help, please could you email: jeanette.wheeler@mhr.co.uk Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review and we wish you the best in your future endeavours

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      I've been employed at MHR for over 22 years

      Mar 2, 2020 - Software Engineer in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      During my employment I've had exposure to many different technologies and software tools that have been used to produce marketable products - so life is always interesting at MHR. We work in teams for different projects so new starters get to know people quickly, and the work is split into manageable chunks called timeboxes. Team members may all have different particular skills so good communication is important. I've enjoyed my time here at MHR and have a lot of friends here. It helps if you have some common sense and are conscientious about what you do. Amongst other charity events - we recently raised £6k for Rainbows Children's Hospice (charity) with a week long sponsored cycle ride/mountain climb with all logistics funded by the company - brilliant. There are lots of opportunities here.

      Cons

      Car parking was difficult but construction of a multistorey car park is under way so that'll ease things a bit. Bike racks are limited with half under cover and half open air. Occasionally a manager will leave the company then they will reappear as a director a couple of years later, I guess if they are director quality now then they were before they left.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Career potential

      Feb 27, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Having worked for MHR for many years I have been given the opportunity and tools to develop both myself as an individual as well as my career with MHR. I have been supported through most levels of management - but have found that Directors, Chiefs and past and present CEO's have really been the driving force behind my success - both giving me the confidence, the challenges and chances to progress. I have found feedback and ideas listened to - yes they need to be constructive - and I am given the freedom to innovate within my team when and where required. The Company is quite clear and communicative in both its direction as a business, its financial status and how each individual can contribute. Annual Departmental and Company days further enhance this buy in that we are all aiming for the same goal. Business happily reinvests - whether it be in employee training, office facilities, car parking or equipment. I see many people leave and come back - MHR must have something going for it!

      Cons

      It's formal - personally that doesn't bother me. Quality of cafeteria food is pretty average. It can vary from department to department - my experiences are all generally positive within Engineering.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 32 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with MHR Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at MHR? Share Your Experiences

    or