MPC Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

MPC Reviews

Updated 20 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
66%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
MPC CEO Mark Benson (no image)
Mark Benson
47 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, especially for juniors(in 34 reviews)

  • "MPC is not any longer in Vancouver(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CFX Artist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MPC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, better staff and amazing projects

    Cons

    I hadn't any issue during my contract

    MPC2020-03-04
  2. "Ups and Downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MPC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Never boring, fast-paced, amazing and interesting colleagues. It's film.

    Cons

    Poor management, lack of vision, fast-paced, lack of transparency, doesn't value their employees

    Continue reading
    MPC2020-03-08
  3. "Great company and one of the best in VFX industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Roto Anim in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MPC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great films to work on, great people

    Cons

    The Salary not the best in the market and short contracts

    Continue reading
    MPC2020-02-12
  4. "Good projects and great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MPC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    amazing projects for advertisements, always trying to be challenging.

    Cons

    crunch times when needed, not overtime pay during the week

    MPC2020-02-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "WORST COMPANY EVER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Runner in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MPC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None it's a horrid place to work

    Cons

    Everything and more. Dont work there

    Continue reading
    MPC2020-01-30
  6. "Inefficient, culture of bullying and unprofessionalism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MPC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed culture; dress code Interesting and varied projects Individually nice and passionate people

    Cons

    Totally disorganised Lack of management and oversight from the top down Lack of actual, quantifiable policy and procedure for dealing with employee issues or queries People with no demonstrable skill or ability seemingly in roles of responsibility No one is accountable or takes responsibility for actions Projects are completed through a culture of bullying and bad people management. Many people are young that they don't know any better and think they have to put up with it. Older people have been in the industry so long they are part of that culture and it's been normalised.

    Continue reading
    MPC2020-01-09
  7. "Pleasant experience so far. Can't complain."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Layout Artist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MPC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *Working surrounded by talented people *Colleagues always ready to help *Week of induction and introduction to the pipeline when we start *Quick massage appointments every other week *Weekly screening of recent films *Friday's beer o'clock *Reinforced breakfasts on Fridays *Monthly meet-ups *Drawing sessions and sculpting lessons

    Cons

    *Short contracts (3 months) with unpredictable extension periods (when it happens to be extended) *Not paid overtime

    MPC2019-12-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Please stay away from this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compositor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MPC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to get into the VFX Industry in London and Great shows.

    Cons

    I want to warn everybody who is planning to join this company. Expect lots and lots of (unpaid) overtime. (Think about 70 hours a week) Very rude and unhuman behaviour from producers and supervisors. Making people get burned out easy and replace them with fresh blood within a blink. Feels like working in a factory instead of a creative environment.

    Continue reading
    MPC2020-01-06
  9. "Best VFX, hardest environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MPC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You work hard on something small, for so long but you really do feel a huge sense of achievement at the end. It’s very prestigious and because you know this, you hunch over and work even harder. The attention to detail and perfection is second to none. It's awesome seeing your work on screen.

    Cons

    Working here was one of the hardest experiences of my life. I saw great things and made work I’m proud of, however I also burned out. Directors don’t wait. The film has to get made, and deadlines are always crazy. I did my best. I missed sleep, birthdays, family events, comfort. I have mixed feelings.

    Continue reading
    MPC2019-12-12
  10. "Best VFX company in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Global Head of Business Development in London, England

    I worked at MPC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible creative talent, technology and delivery. Unparalleled output.

    Cons

    Finding it hard to leave the glories of the past behind and adapt to the new business landscape they are operating in.

    Continue reading
    MPC2019-11-26
Found 394 reviews
</>Embed