MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory Reviews

Updated 18 Aug 2018

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory President Daniel M. Kerrigan (no image)
Daniel M. Kerrigan
4 Ratings
  1. "Awesome"

    5.0
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory

    Pros

    Great people and lots to learn.

    Cons

    Can be slow at times for interns.

    MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory2018-08-18
  2. "Overall Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory full-time

    Pros

    The depth of knowledge and experience of senior staff is incredible. Junior analysts can always find support and ask for guidance from senior staff. The entire team works very well together. MPI has a national presence and works on a wide variety of highly interesting cases. The work is rarely the same from day to day and the client interactions are priceless. MPI has a strong brand and presence in the marketplace; clients know they will get a high quality product and great service. MPI has operated for 77 years as an independent firm and is nationally recognized. Small company culture means that all employees have access to management; there is a never-ending amount of opportunities for personal and professional growth; there is no bureaucracy and very few politics involved; and once analysts are seasoned they get to run as leads on many client projects and take ownership of a significant client list. Compensation rates are highly competitive. If you demonstrate the ability to do complicated work, continue to grow and are productive, you can earn significant bonuses and annual increases in pay.

    Cons

    Some senior staff are stretched thin, but this is improving. The time commitment is significant, but rewarding, and there are seasonal waves.

    Continue reading
    MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory2017-02-22
  3. "Collegial atmosphere"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory

    Pros

    Learning oriented culture. MPI is a firm that allows its employees to take on as much responsibility as they would like, while continuing to support younger employees. It is one of the few organizations that will allow you immediate exposure to executive management both internally and externally (client organizations). The Company truly has an open door policy with all employees. MPI's work and senior leadership allows individuals to learn the fundamentals of financial valuation & M&A analysis at a blazing pace, if individuals are willing to put the effort in.

    Cons

    Elements of MPI's infrastructure for completing financial engagements need improvement (something that senior management is currently working on). Hours can be long, but compensation almost always reflects this factor. The Company has a long history, but has not grown to its full potential just yet.

    Continue reading
    MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory2016-09-01
  4. "Friendly place to work that will teach you about how the real world works."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory

    Pros

    As an intern, I came to MPI expecting a certain amount of drudgery work. However, what busy work" I was assigned to do came with many of my supervisors and upper management thanking me for doing the work, as much of it was integral to MPI's future operations. The "real work", such as working on models or performing research, did an effective job of teaching me about valuation, which was a topic I had not yet explored in college. The workload was certainly bearable, and I was able to listen to music or a podcast on my phone while I worked, so the work was certainly more enjoyable than tedious. It was fascinating to see the "life cycle" of a job, from interns researching a topic, to senior management putting together more complex models, to a final report being drafted. In addition, I greatly appreciated the complimentary beverages in the break room.

    Cons

    Not so much a con but perhaps more of a personal inconvenience. MPI is located an hour and a half away from my home, which led me to rent a room at a house about 5 minutes away from MPI to reduce commute times. The rent I payed ensured I did not see as much of my earnings as I would have liked to see. Perhaps two or three times over the length of the internship, I found myself working anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour and a half longer than my allotted 40 hours per week. However, there was no overtime pay for interns, even when I was given a priority assignment 30 minutes before the end of the day. At the end of the day, I really enjoyed this internship and I will never forget the 12 weeks I spent at MPI.

    Continue reading
    MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory2016-08-08
  5. "Great Opportunities for Clever Self-starters"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've been with MPI for over 18 years. It is one of those increasingly rare companies where you can grow professionally; carve out a niche for yourself in the industry; and have a feeling of ownership, without the need to switch firms several times throughout your career. There is a great team here that will help innovative people create opportunities. The new generation of management and ownership is bold and decisive.

    Cons

    It is very much a trend nowadays for recent college graduates to change jobs every couple of years. I think one of our biggest challenges now is demonstrating the long term value of a career with us to recent college grads.

    Continue reading
    MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory2016-08-03
  6. "MPI Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Valuation Analyst in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory full-time

    Pros

    High exposure to challenging work, leaders within the firm, and C-suite leaders of client companies. The 2-year analyst program forces you to develop very strong core financial valuation/M&A and analysis skills and you gain deep knowledge of companies operating across a broad range of industries. If you gain the trust of those you work with, there is unlimited potential to take ownership of your own projects and grow even more quickly within the company and take on more complex assignments. Company is poised to grow.

    Cons

    Some of the boiler plate templates and processes need to be further standardized so that more time can be used doing constructive analysis. Hours can be long, but they reward well and the experience/exposure as an analyst right out of school

    Continue reading
    MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory2016-03-16
  7. "Valuation Analyst"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Valuation Associate in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot to learn in two year entry-level program. Can develop significant responsibility for engagements towards the end of the two year program. Get to work with analysts at all levels, as well as upper management on a daily basis. Get exposed to various industries and companies (based on size and stage of lifecycle).

    Cons

    Long hours, especially during two-year program... not unusual for industry and similar to big 4. Location isn't ideal for younger employees, but close enough to Philadelphia to warrant commute.

    Continue reading
    MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory2016-03-16
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Underwhelming Place to Work, No Advancement Opportunities"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    MPI has many very intelligent individuals working at the company. As a young employee, there is a great opportunity to learn from them. MPI conducts valuations for many different types of companies, so employees can learn a great deal about different types of industries and business procedures. One of the best and most exciting aspects of working here is performing on-site due diligence and communicating with upper management of clients.

    Cons

    Much of the work becomes very repetitive, tedious and somewhat mindless. The company's revenue has been stagnant for several years and there is not very much room for growth. Management tends to treat junior-level employees as drones, most likely due to the fact that upper management and successors are pretty much set in stone for the next 15-20 years. Between the latter, lack of future growth opportunities and very obvious favoritism within the company, there is almost no ability to advance within MPI. Despite all of this, if an employee chooses to leave the company and pursue other opportunities, upper management seems to take it as a personal sleight. Upper management is also unnecessarily and bizarrely secretive about many things, including fairly inconsequential items. Furthermore, their interactions with one another often resemble the movie "Mean Girls."

    Continue reading
    MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory2012-10-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great small firm to work at, but limited career growth and exit opportunities"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Financial Analyst in Princeton, NJ

    I worked at MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory

    Pros

    Small firm feel, colleagues are respectful and helpful, princeton new jersey is a good place for new families. Individual effort is really visible and senior management can recognize and applaud superior performance. Recent infrastructure overhaul and focus on long term growth of company is a good sign. Everyone has a change to give input and contribute to larger company decisions. Privately held company with profit sharing package for upper level management. Good transparency between different pay-grades. Relaxed but focused atmosphere creates a good environment for over-achieving. Many employee events for moral and work breaks during the year. Decent postgraduate pay.

    Cons

    The business is somewhat commoditized, and the day to day assignments tend to be somewhat of a chore. Proprietary models could use improvement, and the nature of the tax consulting business for clients opens up many potential conflicts of interest that have resulted in MPI having to defend its valuations for hedge funds and private equity groups obviously set up with multiple entities to evade taxation and violate the spirit of the law. The recent branching out of MPI's business to serve investment banking needs is somewhat trivial and not a core competency that can add value to the company. The small size and limited scale of operations does not create many attractive exit options. Princeton NJ is not known for its financial centers, although there are many hedge fund groups in the area. The city is not too favorable for younger workers who prefer the atmosphere of new york city, which is nearby

    Continue reading
    MPI - Business Valuation & Advisory2008-06-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews