Mack Trucks Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Mack Trucks Reviews

Updated 15 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Mack Trucks CEO Denny Slagle
Denny Slagle
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "good benefits good pay overtime if you like(in 9 reviews)

  • "Lots of time off and great benefits(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hours, holidays, shift work, communication to upper management(in 8 reviews)

  • "The company is owned by Volvo and has changed operational strategies/procedures(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best first job I could have asked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mack Trucks

    Pros

    True team-working atmosphere and everyone wants to help one another succeed. Challenging and exciting work and my supervisor always encouraged me to contribute new ideas.

    Cons

    A bit bureaucratic due to the size of the organisation.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on being so supportive of new hires.

    Mack Trucks2017-11-02
  2. "Great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Technician in Winnsboro, SC

    I worked at Mack Trucks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay and great benefits.

    Cons

    Supervisors, Engineers, Upper Management expectations at times unrealistic.

    Mack Trucks2019-02-15
  3. "Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Mack Trucks full-time

      Pros

      I really care about their employees

      Cons

      Long nights and What’s the maintenance

      Mack Trucks2018-12-13
    • "Engineering Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mack Trucks full-time

      Pros

      Benefits, salary, work balance, career opportunities

      Cons

      Long time to take decisions

      Mack Trucks2018-11-28
    • "Miss You Mack"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Mack Trucks full-time

        Pros

        Good Service, Great People. Good Food

        Cons

        Heavy downtime im the mornings

        Advice to Management

        Better aesthetic

        Mack Trucks2018-09-16
      • Helpful (1)

        "Production Engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Macungie, PA
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Mack Trucks full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Work life balance is good. There is pressure at times to get things done but usually the environment is laid back. With Volvo investing a lot of money into the Macungie plant, new business structures and ways of working are being implemented which are challenging the employees to deliver results.

        Cons

        As a Production Engineer, the physical working environment is bad. The GO team desks on the production line aren't a good idea without any sound isolation. The working environment is noisy, dusty and it is very difficult to focus on getting things done. We talk about 5S all the time but we aren't very effective in keeping our work areas clean. There are no travel opportunities for the Production Engineers. The higher...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Think about inclusion starting from the lowest (Production Engineers) level. I always felt left out, even though I raised my concerns numerous times. I wanted to travel, see other plants, benchmark their best practices and implement those best practices on the shop floor. I never got that level of exposure. Get more technical training for employees to develop their competency. I requested multiple times to get trained...

        Show More
        Mack Trucks2018-09-21
      • "Production technician"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Mack Trucks full-time

          Pros

          Good pay and great benefits.

          Cons

          Hard to get time off

          Mack Trucks2018-08-29
        • Helpful (1)

          "Production Engineer"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Production Engineer in Macungie, PA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No Opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Mack Trucks for more than a year

          Pros

          Lots of opportunities to make improvements and learn what's involved with making changes in a manufacturing environment. Freedom to choose my own priorities and activities. Good benefits and opportunity for overtime.

          Cons

          Little personal/career development from management. More problems to solve than will ever be solved, causes frustration and tension with production. Lots of finger pointing.

          Advice to Management

          Spend more time understanding what your employees do. More charts and processes do not solve problems. Keep it simple and help organization work more efficiently.

          Mack Trucks2018-07-09
        • "Wouldn’t bother"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook

          I have been working at Mack Trucks full-time

          Pros

          Great pay, some overtime

          Cons

          Management, high possibility of lay off, no parts ever

          Advice to Management

          Get new management

          Mack Trucks2018-05-23
        • "Great environment"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Supervisor in Macungie, PA
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No Opinion of CEO

          I worked at Mack Trucks full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Team environment, employees very dedicated to product.

          Cons

          Hours, holidays, shift work, communication to upper management.

          Advice to Management

          Listen to employees

          Mack Trucks2018-02-06
        Found 60 reviews