Mack Trucks Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Mack Trucks Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
71%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Mack Trucks CEO Denny Slagle
Denny Slagle
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay and great work to life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hours, holidays, shift work, communication to upper management(in 8 reviews)

  • "Not much room to move up the rings unless you change to different parts of the Volvo company(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best first job I could have asked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mack Trucks

    Pros

    True team-working atmosphere and everyone wants to help one another succeed. Challenging and exciting work and my supervisor always encouraged me to contribute new ideas.

    Cons

    A bit bureaucratic due to the size of the organisation.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on being so supportive of new hires.

    Mack Trucks2017-11-02
  2. "Human resources unresponsive, inept."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Macungie, PA

    I have been working at Mack Trucks full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent health benefits. Used to be free.

    Cons

    Since 1997 hiring my wages have not kept up with inflation to the tune of $3/hr.

    Advice to Management

    Human resources lost paper work from me twice, then wanted updated signatures on the third submission six months later. After that, I was told other info was missing. Calls to hr frequently go unreturned.

    Mack Trucks2019-11-19
  3. "Good benefits but hard to progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mack Trucks full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, lots of work, flexibility, good benefits, well known industry

    Cons

    Small department sizes, do more with less- means a few people do a lot. Not much room to move up the rings unless you change to different parts of the Volvo company

    Advice to Management

    Plan better for succession

    Mack Trucks2019-11-02
  4. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counter Sales Representative in Avon, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mack Trucks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They treat people right the first time

    Cons

    Some employees are a little tough to handle.

    Mack Trucks2019-10-16
  5. "Greedy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Production Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mack Trucks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ok pay, low cost health insurance

    Cons

    No PTO, vacation days. Some areas do not have proper equipment to do the jobs.

    Mack Trucks2019-10-23
  6. "Play the game."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Final Technician in Macungie, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mack Trucks full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits and pay after you reach the top of progression. Took me three years to reach top rate, not sure what it is now for new hires.

    Cons

    Union picks and chooses whom it fights for. Company will prey on those whom the union chooses not to represent.

    Advice to Management

    Learn the mack culture.

    Mack Trucks2019-09-03
  7. "Great stable company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mack Trucks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, great pay, generous time off, holidays off

    Cons

    Warehouse work isn’t for everyone.

    Mack Trucks2019-08-16
  8. "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operations Intern in Macungie, PA

    I have been working at Mack Trucks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very helpful people focused on your growth

    Cons

    Internship projects are not decided initially

    Mack Trucks2019-07-21
  9. "Great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Technician in Winnsboro, SC

    I worked at Mack Trucks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay and great benefits.

    Cons

    Supervisors, Engineers, Upper Management expectations at times unrealistic.

    Mack Trucks2019-02-15
  10. "Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Mack Trucks full-time

    Pros

    I really care about their employees

    Cons

    Long nights and What’s the maintenance

    Mack Trucks2018-12-13
Found 67 reviews