Madewell Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Madewell Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 619 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Madewell CEO Millard Drexler (no image)
Millard Drexler
190 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There aren't many other part time workers so it can be hard to switch shifts if conflicts come up(in 28 reviews)

  • "low pay compared to competitors, corporate not responsive to store feedback(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Madewell part-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, loved the other staff

    Cons

    Non-consistent hours found out only a week before what your next weeks scheduling would be

    Madewell2019-03-10
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Madewell part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, great atmosphere, good discount

    Cons

    None I just didn’t like retail

    Madewell2018-08-14
  3. "Good job love it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Madewell full-time

    Pros

    GOod place really good life

    Cons

    Not so great management

    Madewell2018-05-27
  4. "Sales Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England

    I worked at Madewell for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff, really exciting workplace. A lot of flexibility with schedules

    Cons

    Very few cons, great place to work

    Madewell2016-10-23
  5. "Best Job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Madewell part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun working environment, love the people that I work with and the customers.

    Cons

    not that many hours offered and pay is not so well

    Madewell2019-09-17
  6. "Overall a good experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Madewell part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you have fun coworkers, shifts can fly by! Interview was not too difficult. A lot of stores are always looking for additional help!

    Cons

    Depending on where you live/working laws in your state, shifts can be very long. Sometimes difficult scheduling.

    Madewell2019-09-05
  7. "Excellent discount, fun atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at Madewell part-time

    Pros

    Clear path to promotion if you choose that route

    Cons

    It can be catty like any retail environment, but top-down management attitude has a lot of impact on store vibe

    Madewell2019-09-18
  8. "Great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Madewell part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful management & kind employees! Hours were available to switch. Great discounts and product.

    Cons

    Had to advocate for learning new skills.

    Madewell2019-09-03
  9. "Nice to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Madewell part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The discount and flexibility

    Cons

    Lack of communication between management

    Madewell2019-09-12
  10. "Pursue at your own risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Distribution Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Madewell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brand that is working together to continue to grow Employee Discount

    Cons

    Very cliquey - to the point that people gossip about you in front of you Allocation team is very poorly managed and does not have a voice

    Madewell2019-09-01
Found 619 reviews