Magellan Health Care Manager Reviews

Updated 7 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
64%
Recommend to a Friend
Magellan Health CEO Kenneth J. Fasola
Kenneth J. Fasola
0 Rating
  1. "nurse care manager"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Nurse Care Manager 

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time

    Pros

    nice pay compare with peer companies

    Cons

    too much work, averagely 10 hours per day

    Magellan Health2020-05-08

    Magellan Health Response

    May 8, 2020Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review of Magellan Health as a place to work.

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Comparing two companies"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Care Manager in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Having worked for Magellan and now in my current role at another similar company, I can say, Magellan tried hard. If there’s a reward for company who tried the hardest, I would give it to Magellan. I witnessed so many new CEOs come and go; VP’s come and go. They cashed in and left. Sad. I have no clue what Magellan is like now, but I hope it’s better. The company I work for now is super. Well organized, great IT and hardware to work with. Solid processes in place. People get things done. Sadly, when I left Magellan, it was frustrating because policies and procedures kept changing. Hopefully, they are more settled now. I still have great friends from there, still working and nothing negative to say! I hope Magellan makes it! Lots of great memories! Awesome quarterly bonuses and annual raises!

    Cons

    Lots of change. High turnover in management and executives

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-02-13
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Care Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Caring, supportive coworkers. Ability to work holidays and afterhours shifts for additional income.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations regarding time to handle calls. Employees are penalized if they are unable to make it into the office during severe weather. Often required to work over to finish up calls.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2018-11-23

    Magellan Health Response

    January 18, 2019Vice President, Digital/Social Media & Employer Brand

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review!

  4. Helpful (4)

    "Was there a long time ... left NC of supervisor"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Manager in Maryland Heights, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits ... people on my team were great to work with

    Cons

    Some sups are not ready to be sups. Seemed to care more about the numbers than patient care

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2018-10-22

    Magellan Health Response

    October 24, 2018Vice President, Digital/Social Media & Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am sorry to hear you had a poor experience with a manager. Best of luck in your next role.

  5. Helpful (11)

    "Low company morale & disorganized processes"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Manager in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Good compensation and am able to work from home -Don't need to do anything physical -Some co-workers are very nice and willing to help

    Cons

    -Manager micromanages the teams every move. -Bad office culture where the members, your manager, and other staff finger point and blame the care managers. -Health benefits are so expensive and not good at all. -Some members are really difficult to handle, and the caseload of members are too much to deal with that you have to work at the weekends too, without any overpay. -HR dept. is not very hands-off, where you need to find everything through a job aid to figure out how to put in overtime hours, time-off, etc. -A disorganized company where the processes on how to do something changes every other week or month. -Orientation is horrible, you learn just how to use their computer software, but not how to actually manage a caseload of members and the actual problems that may arise from members. -Managers expect prompt email replies and when they call you, but they don't reply to emails or pick up their phones when there is an actual issue/need.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2018-07-20
  6. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Care Manager in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Health insurance benefits and good

    Cons

    Slow response from the HR department as lack of coordination between remote workers and the corporate office.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2018-04-26

    Magellan Health Response

    May 9, 2018Vice President, Digital/Social Media & Employer Brand

    Thank you for your review and feedback. We implemented a new digital HR Q&A tool last year with the aim of improving HR related questions and answers. We hear you!

  7. Helpful (5)

    "Care Manager"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent, competitive salary - its the sole reason people apply and keep this job, short term or long term. 9-5 office job Good CEU reimbursement/time off

    Cons

    High turnover. In the timeframe I worked at Magellan, the staff that I was assigned to train - usually left the role within 8 months. Most everyone is usually looking for another job. Purely telephonic call center -whilst this is clearly stated upon interview and offer, what is not stated, if you have never done such a role before is the degree of MICROMANGEMENT - logging in and out for bathroom breaks (really) need to be at your desk/logged in exactly at your start time and to leave no earlier than your leave time. 30 minute lunch and 2 - 15 minute breaks - Exactly that amount of time and no more. Staff who are OCD about phone call time, number of reviews conducted, speed of computer use vs. actual clinical experience, are usually rewarded, as metrics and productivity is paramount. Seated all day, NO ergonomics unless you advocate repeatedly for this. Many have repetitive use injuries, weight gain, back and neck problems, eyestrain issues. Management unresponsive to your professional development or leadership opptys in the company. You will be seen as, treated as, and become a drone. Its really demoralizing to see folks racing across the parking lot to the elevators in order to login on time - this is in a building with other call center businesses. As a clinician, many feel they've 'sold out' and that's what it is. This role is no better nor different than a high school graduate making cold calls for GEICO, telephonic sales, etc. While this was the healthiest pay ever for any mental health professional, the inequity between mgmt and staff, repetitiveness of role, arbitrary rewards and poor work-life balance, make this the UNHEALTHIEST place to work.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2017-10-30

    Magellan Health Response

    January 4, 2018Vice President, Digital/Social Media & Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We hear you, and appreciate your feedback. We will share this information with the right people.

  8. Helpful (10)

    "Would not recommend this company at this location to my worse enemy"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Care Manager in Alpharetta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent amount of vacation time if you get to schedule it. Co-workers were top notch & dedicated but undervalued.

    Cons

    They re-vamped our entire work structure for the worse & laid off the people who understood the system. Many left. The end result is primarily a system that not only doesn't work but takes 2-3 times longer to complete tasks with little accuracy. Employees treated like factory workers w/masters degrees, working 10-12 hours daily, no overtime pay and hard to get the time off when you want it. Daily confusion & frustration because management does not know what they are doing and therefore can't train new comers. Not supportive of employees. Little room for advancement or changing your position.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2017-09-13
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Typical call center and managed care atmosphere"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Manager in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. nice building. mostly good peers. hard to come up with 20 words! good pay. no and then bonuses but not much after taxes

    Cons

    You will be expected to just talk and type. not much respect from management to their employees. The health insurance benefits are not good either.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2017-04-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "good pay, good benefits, demoralizing environment the last few years"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Care Manager in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good benefits and good salary

    Cons

    not feeling valued by supervisor

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2016-09-21
Found 25 reviews