Magellan Health Customer Service Representative Reviews

Updated 6 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
94%
Recommend to a Friend
Magellan Health CEO Kenneth J. Fasola
Kenneth J. Fasola
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pro hours, company lunches

    Cons

    Management unfamiliar with the job/computer systems

    Magellan Health2019-06-07

    Magellan Health Response

    June 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review, we appreciate it!

  2. Helpful (2)

    "It is what it is"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Glen Allen, VA

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Two times and a half pay for holidays. Lots of schedule options. 40 hours. lots of overtime during peak season. decent location, right off the interstate.

    Cons

    The attendance policy is unreasonable, you wont be completely excused for court or being sick, even with a doctor'a note. There's no set rule on tardiness. some people get more chances than others. Also, they are always changing rules and regulations for calls and immediately begin coaching on it, rather than providing proper training. favoritism, nepotism. the health insurance is terrible, which is ironic because this is a health insurance company.

    Magellan Health2018-04-02
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Watch your back"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice people to work with. Give a lot of gifts

    Cons

    You have to make your goals. Can not leave your seat. And cannot be sick.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2017-06-08
  4. "Company Review"

    5.0
    Customer Service Representative in Scottsdale, AZ

    I worked at Magellan Health for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience working with customers all over the world in reference to health benefits.

    Cons

    Company outsource to another company , which caused a major lay off to all employees.

    Magellan Health2016-11-18
  5. "Call Center"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    lots of vacation time and managers willing to work with you

    Cons

    Not always in the loop on insurance updates

    Magellan Health2016-07-24
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great people, a lot of changes"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Alpharetta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people that I met during my time there were great and I built some lasting connections.

    Cons

    There were too many changes and a lot of great managers/directors were fired while they kept some who looked good on paper but did not live up to their title. No job advancement opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2016-06-01
  7. "Customer service"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company love the benefite

    Cons

    Management untrained and a lot of favoritism from senior staff

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2016-05-05
  8. "Customer Care Associate I"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Customer Service Representative ' in Glen Allen, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health for less than a year

    Pros

    If you have a great team leader, then you'll have a great experience. My team leader was compassionate, organized, realistic, and willing to go the extra mile to ensure each member of the team was properly trained. Our questions were answered and we were encouraged a lot as we learned how to serve new client.

    Cons

    Director is out of touch with what happens in the call center and, thus, Team Leads allow the representatives to "run wild". Company took on a client too big for them to service and then pushed untrained rep's to answer customer calls in unprofessional call center environment. My new team leader was unorganized, scatterbrained, and hypocritical so it was very difficult to get the training needed to serve new client.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2016-04-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Very Stressful"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Blue Ash, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with, great benefits package, hours of operation was nice, awesome cubical space. Training program was also very good.

    Cons

    The business of insurance is ever changing, so one thing I didn't like was how often processes of daily business changed often. Made it very hard to become an expert on your job because of all the new or changing processes you would receive. I also believe that the process in which a crisis call is handled should change and become more efficient.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2015-08-13
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Customer Service Representative"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Experience in the medical insurance industry is the ONLY pro if already do not have that.

    Cons

    Very, very, unethical and unprofessional management which leads to the corruption of professionalism on the floor with lower level staff. The company's structure is extremely disorganized and higher level management does not take into consideration the magnanimous negative response of providers and enrolled members to fix huge issues which make this plan a horrible plan...especially for people who have extremely difficult illnesses and providers who have not been getting paid and in turn are neglecting to see members. Advancement is only based on office politics. People who have the qualifications and work hard for a position will not move up. Be ready to be placed in a piranha tank if you interview for anything higher than your current position. You will be torn apart and it will make you not want to ever apply for anything else. Also, this company hires outside people first when it makes more sense to promote someone who already knows what is going on there. Pay does not compensate for the many different jobs that you will do which are not a part of your department and you do not have qualified certifications to perform. Management keeps adding on responsibilities and does not want to give raises. Training does not exceed a certain level of knowledge for all of the things that you will need to know. Most of anything that requires advanced knowledge you will have to somehow learn on your own. And learning on your own does not mean that the company has training modules on this level of subject matter. It means you will have to dig for information in the company's internal files or learn more about it in your own spare time at home by Googling and reading. Management does not want to hear about what you think even though they say that they do. If you come to them with a problem, they want you to tell them how to fix it. You tell them how to fix it and nothing gets done because it will not go higher than the Customer Service Department director.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2015-07-10
Found 11 reviews