Magellan Health Director Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Director

Magellan Health Director Reviews

Updated 12 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
0%
Recommend to a Friend
1%
Approve of CEO
Magellan Health CEO Barry Smith (no image)
Barry Smith
6 Ratings
  1. "15 years employed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    strong team culture and continuous improvement focus

    Cons

    leader priorities shift too frequently

    Magellan Health2019-08-12

    Magellan Health Response

    August 16, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review.

  2. Helpful (4)

    "Too Many Chiefs and Not Enough Indians"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked with some very committed colleagues at the director level and below. Flexible work hours/work at home arrangements.

    Cons

    Poor executive and senior leadership - they are out of touch with staff and the work loads/demands required to manage existing business. Significant staffing reductions in last 2-3 years along with staff attrition have made workloads impossible/unrealistic to manage.

    Advice to Management

    Stop making promises/commitments that you cannot keep. Focus on existing customers has been tainted by the companies financial outlook and pressures of shareholders. Employees no longer matter to this organization - more VPs are not the solution.

    Magellan Health2019-07-26

    Magellan Health Response

    July 29, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thanks for the review. Appreciate the comments.

  3. Helpful (16)

    "Used to be a good place to work. Still has potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people are great to work with. Most groups partner together to do the right thing. Flexible work schedules and locations. Good technology improvement to help employees collaborate when not co-located.

    Cons

    The company values are not demonstrated by the Executive leadership in the Operations team. There are many teams that have an excellent culture of accountability, respect, trust, and innovation. Even senior leaders in the operations team are not empowered to make the most basic decisions. There is no trust or respect of the leadership team or the staff below the C-level. Communication is missing - specifically... active, and empathetic listening by C-level leaders. Instead, they are defensive and dismissive. HR is more aptly called the non-human department - as it's impossible to reach a human. Adding technological methods to get answers and information is great, but not as a replacement for people.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen, really listen to your team, leaders and staff. Many of your best team members have already left or are actively looking. As a result, performance in critical areas has dropped and client's are complaining. Don't exclude and dismiss knowledgeable leaders and staff.

    Magellan Health2018-06-04

    Magellan Health Response

    June 20, 2018Vice President, Digital/Social Media & Employer Brand

    Thank you for leaving us such detailed feedback, I'll be sure to share it with the right team members.

  4. Helpful (12)

    "Messy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Avon, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good intentions and corporate values, a lot of high caliber co workers, work from home abilities, generous vacation time, desire to innovate is emphasized

    Cons

    Constant reorganization, lack of investment in process and project/program management, constant fires and onus put on a few capable people until they burn out and leave

    Advice to Management

    Invest in defining roles and align work to key priorities.

    Magellan Health2017-08-28
  5. Helpful (16)

    "This place is joke, don't walk... RUN!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Avon, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The paycheck was on time, telecommute options offered, and PTO was generous. That's not enough to stay somewhere. Benefits were otherwise horrendous.

    Cons

    Where to begin? The company has undergone so much change in senior leadership the last few years your head will spin. CEO, CMO, CTO, the list goes on and on. The company has NO IDEA what it is or where it wants to go. Understaffed and overworked, most quality staff just find another job elsewhere. The current leadership are narcissistic sociopaths. RUN away from this place.

    Advice to Management

    None. They wouldn't listen anyway.

    Magellan Health2017-09-13
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health for more than a year

    Pros

    Honestly, I can't think of any at this time.

    Cons

    Everyone I knew while working there have either left for a different job or more likely were laid off.

    Magellan Health2016-08-29
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Director in Florissant, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work and many opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    You have to have your education and skills in place.

    Magellan Health2015-10-27
  8. "Director Network Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director Network in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health for more than 10 years

    Pros

    For the past 20 years we have managed the behavioral health services and integration of physical health for our members. The team is passionate about our members and through outcome measures, incent our providers to give the best care possible.

    Cons

    We were not awarded one of the winning bids for Iowa Medicaid Modernization

    Magellan Health2015-08-18
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Keep on looking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Director in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Associates were great to work with. Medical benefits we good, but dental was horrible Very flexible with respect to telecommuting A handful of new executives are trying to refresh the organization

    Cons

    Horrible culture - executive team fosters an environment of distrust. Constant fighting / backstabbing amongst leaders (EVP and SVP level) which is very evident to lower level management. Incredible levels of micromanagement within the executive team - they are not willing to let their leaders lead. Product offering is not competitive

    Advice to Management

    Continue to shed your executive team of those from years past - they are roadblocks and promote the poor culture of the company.

    Magellan Health2015-01-27
Found 9 reviews