Magellan Health MFLC Reviews

Updated 15 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
61%
Recommend to a Friend
Magellan Health CEO Kenneth J. Fasola
Kenneth J. Fasola
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Some good some bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MFLC 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High level of Independence in work Supervision is not micromanaging Opportunities to take rotations overseas Very little paperwork.

    Cons

    The health plan is basically like not having insurance. The pay is 25000 per year less than other Professionals in the same location with the same credentials. There are only seven days of PTO and from time to time they get taken from you because of inclement weather. 7 Days also includes sick vacation and any other time off you would need. There is an extremely cumbersome system of logging in and out daily. Individuals are very disconnected and isolated there is no sense of teamwork or connection most people in this position do not know other people in the same position working for the same company at the same location. Aspects of HR are contracted out or you must search for your answers in and online Forum there is very little personal service when you have questions about benefits.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-12-15

    Magellan Health Response

    December 16, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for reviewing Magellan Health as a place to work!

  2. "Laid back job, it is what you make of it"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MFLC 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, no micromanaging, minimal and easy documentation, freedom to work with clients in various locations, opportunities to travel overseas. Most people who do this job can accommodate with a private practice or teletherapy

    Cons

    Adult positions are limited, there can be very slow days since your schedule isn't quite documented. Supervisors ask for a set schedule, but it is not realistic. Military contract so at the end of the contract many people were left unemployed. No room really to move up the ladder.

    Magellan Health2019-08-20

    Magellan Health Response

    August 23, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review. Appreciate your insight.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Would not recommend"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MFLC in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company allows for up to $800 for reimbursement towards training licensing etc.

    Cons

    Management spends a good amount of time stating was MFLC's are not allowed to do, what the company does not pay...very micro managed. Work in a middle school and as an MFLC with Magellan MFLC's are not allowed to participate in school functions such as dress up (jersey day, pj day, halloween, etc.). Magellan also does not want MFLC"s to be part of the school and participate in school functions -no personal friendships/relationships with staff. MFLC's are told they are supposed to be completely separate from school/staff environment just to name a few. In this environment it is difficult to build rapport with students & develop relationships when so many limitations exists. One is consitantky reminded of all the no's (when school calls a two hour delay, Magellan does not pay MFLC's and that time must be made up. Magellan is very strict on taking time off for training, sick days, etc. Also, vacation, training, sick, and mental health days are used with the same PTO which is a small accumulation. So much more to list... My personal and professional thoughts...would not recommend working for this company to anyone.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-03-20
  4. Helpful (2)

    "MFLC"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MFLC in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Get to work with military families.

    Cons

    Terrible leadership and they lie about pay. Try to tell you it pays 64k when in reality it pays 43k. Leadership in Colorado is bad with a Manager that is on the spectrum. and is not able to form relationships.

    Magellan Health2018-09-27
  5. Helpful (2)

    "MFLC"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MFLC 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility in schedule and work has the potential to be rewarding

    Cons

    Incompetent management , lack of accountability and poor communication from management& “ higher ups”, lack of job satisfaction; there is a lot of red tape/limitations around our role as a licensed professional. sites we were assigned to often undermined role of MFLC.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2018-07-21
  6. "MFLC"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - MFLC in Bremerton, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility of schedule is nice

    Cons

    Management, lack of proper orientation

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2018-06-19
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Poor management."

    2.0
    Former Employee - MFLC in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, good health coverage.

    Cons

    The company provided very little support to new employees and employees are openly discouraged from utilizing paid time off benefit.

    Magellan Health2018-01-16

    Magellan Health Response

    February 13, 2018Vice President, Digital/Social Media & Employer Brand

    We appreciate your review and want you to know we hear you. Our employees are truly the key to our success. We strive to create an environment where all employees feel they are respected, their contributions are valued, and they have equal access to growth and development opportunities.

  8. Helpful (7)

    "MFLC"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MFLC in Ocean Springs, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The ability to work with the military and their families.

    Cons

    Poor and unqualified supervisors. Being forced to enter information just to meet DOD qualifications. No vacation time. Low pay. Favoritism. Management does not listen to needs of employees.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2017-08-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "MFLC"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MFLC in Cambria, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent employee support in all areas of need. The supervision is supportive and positive and the technical and HR support is very good.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons for this company. It is an excellent company to work for especially for remote support that has to be done due to the traveling nature of the job.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2017-06-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "counselor"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    MFLC in Fort Hood, TX

    I have been working at Magellan Health

    Pros

    Great infrastructure and support for employees

    Cons

    very diverse and large organizational structure .

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2017-05-24
Found 26 reviews