Magellan Health Military Family Life Counselor Reviews

Updated 17 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
73%
Recommend to a Friend
Magellan Health CEO Kenneth J. Fasola
Kenneth J. Fasola
0 Rating
  1. "Meaningful job, not enough pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Military Family Life Counselor in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work itself is meaningful and enjoyable, great deal of autonomy, somewhat depends on individual rotational placement

    Cons

    Pay does not compensate fairly with regard to geographic location/cost of living, years of experience, or individual skill level. It is a flat structure, where everyone is paid equal regardless of performance.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2020-05-17

    Magellan Health Response

    May 18, 2020Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review of Magellan Health as a place to work.

  2. "love my job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Military Family Life Counselor in Tidewater, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    can have the summer off, flexible, good leadership,

    Cons

    poor training, better be seasoned or won't know what is going on

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-06-14

    Magellan Health Response

    June 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    We are so happy that you love your job! Thanks for the review!

  3. Helpful (8)

    "Intrinsic Reward"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Military Family Life Counselor in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The opportunity to support those serving our country. Fantastic supervisor, but her hands are tied ( she's to professional to ever say that though).

    Cons

    The company does not care about the employees. When hired they mislead you into thinking you will have a full time position all year. The health insurance is horrible. If you have a question about your health insurance there is no human resources, but health advocate who often do not know the answer. They have to ask VERN, the computer program and then wait to get an email response. So it takes days to get basic information. But it gets better. If your question is complex this could go on for days to weeks back and forth. No one will call you from Magellan human resources.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-02-12
  4. "Military Family Life Counselor"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Military Family Life Counselor in Twentynine Palms, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Serving service members and their families. Lots of autonomy and variety—not just sitting in an office seeing clients. Getting to learn a whole new culture. Excellent supervisor who is competent, supportive and appreciative.

    Cons

    The on boarding process is arduous and the staff who process the security clearance paperwork and applications aren’t that helpful and say “follow the directions.” Sometimes the directions conflict with what they actually want.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2018-08-27
  5. "Very Flexible"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Military & Family Life Counselor in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, not stressful, well paid.

    Cons

    Difficult to get time off.

    Magellan Health2018-07-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Military Family Life Counselor"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Military Family Life Counselor in Fort Hood, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with the military families

    Cons

    No paid holidays, no job security

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2017-01-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Family Military Life Counselor"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Military and Family Life Counselor in Fairview, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is decent and you are off for the summer while school is out.

    Cons

    You are not paid if you are not there. You don't get paid for holidays or sick days. You do get 6 paid time off days for the year.

    Magellan Health2016-07-10
  8. "MFLC-On Demand"

    4.0
    Current Contractor - Military and Family Life Counselor in Alexandria, VA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Magellan Health for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, good pay. Love providing services to military members and their families

    Cons

    Weekend on-demand jobs don't come up very often so it's difficult with a full-time job elsewhere.

    Magellan Health2016-04-09
  9. Helpful (5)

    "MFLC position"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Military Family Life Counselor in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great salary considering the expectations. Positive, upbeat regional supervisor.

    Cons

    Very confusing "on-boarding process". I received at least 30 emails before my start date, nearly every one from a different HR/personnel person; some appeared to be automated emails asking me to complete tasks that I couldn't complete until after my start date. Also, IT is not very helpful. They seem overworked and understaffed. Lots of technical issues much of the time. The majority of the times that I have called or attempted to contact IT, they have redirected me back to HR. For example, I recently called IT because I couldn't logon to the internal training website. They (very courteously, mind you ), told me to call the main Magellan HR number "and press 2 at the prompt" to get help with that issue. ??!

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2015-10-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting Opportunities"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Military Family Life Counselor in Avon, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As healthcare companies go, this one has some kind and smart leadership. They are mission centric focused on the wellbeing of their customers and make sure their employees are supported

    Cons

    Poor compensation and benefits with no ability to schedule time off

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2014-11-12
Found 12 reviews