Magellan Health Reviews

Updated 21 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Magellan Health CEO Kenneth J. Fasola
Kenneth J. Fasola
6 Ratings
  1. "work at home is the best"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician 

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time

    Pros

    work at home opportunity is available, security

    Cons

    drama with leadership everyday, not paid enough

    Magellan Health2020-02-13

    Magellan Health Response

    February 14, 2020Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review. Appreciate your insight.

  2. "Can sometimes be a challenging environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology Director in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Paid time off and work from home available

    Cons

    Sometimes flips direction and reorganization happens too frequently

    Magellan Health2020-02-07

    Magellan Health Response

    February 7, 2020Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for reviewing Magellan Health as a place to work!

  3. Helpful (4)

    "Bad management and no leaders!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director 
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health

    Pros

    Work from home and good PTO

    Cons

    Bad leadership and left the organization due to poor manager. There is no professionalism, empathy or team spirit! Managers lie to you straight on face and make excuses when caught. Incompetent leaders managing teams, esp. CI needs to go! There is no IQ/EQ or skills to run even a simple meeting.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2020-02-19

    Magellan Health Response

    February 21, 2020Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review.

  4. "Recommend to all looking for growth opportunities"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Provider Relations Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People move internally frequently. Opportunities for advancement. Good PTO

    Cons

    Insurance plan is not great

    Magellan Health2020-01-06

    Magellan Health Response

    January 10, 2020Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank for the review of Magellan Health as a place to work.

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible Manager"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The job itself wasn't bad. As a matter of fact, the experience I got, I was able to use that to secure my next position. I met some very nice co-workers. The hours were standard 8-4:30. The commute wasn't bad. Plenty of places to go grab a meal on lunch in the area.

    Cons

    Officially this is a 1 star review, but only because I can't do 0 stars. Unofficially this is a 0. My manager was that bad. Arrogant but incompetent....was asking ME questions on how to do things my first week. I can't make this up. This is a person who has no business managing people and would be better off doing a job with little to no human interaction. If not for this person, this is easily a 4 star review.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2020-02-06

    Magellan Health Response

    February 7, 2020Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for your review, so sorry you had a bad experience with your manager. Magellan Health is a fantastic place to work and unfortunately we are sorry to hear that one bad manager ruined it for you. Thank you!

  6. "Initially - great place to work. Overtime - challenges in leadership and direction."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Construction Management Trainee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    teamwork, commitment - longevity in employees

    Cons

    constant change in leadership, temporary leadership

    Magellan Health2020-01-17

    Magellan Health Response

    January 17, 2020Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review of Magellan Health as a place to work.

  7. "Good Company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed work atmosphere , remote positions

    Cons

    Loss of clients , high upper mgt turnover

    Magellan Health2019-12-31

    Magellan Health Response

    January 2, 2020Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review of Magellan Health as a place to work.

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Director"

    1.0
     

    I worked at Magellan Health

    Pros

    Work from home policy and travel restrictions mean you have decent work life balance. A few talented and good people (who are likely to jump ship fast)left in the company try to work hard and make an impact.

    Cons

    Business is in freefall, significant senior leadership turnover, lack of investment in systems and talent erosion at all levels. Company lost its strategic direction and growth ambitions and hit a low point when a series of incompetent middle managers and inexperienced VPs came onboard. These leaders then in turn brought in even less competent talent and relegated top performers to fend for themselves or worse. In one instance the exiting senior most executive brought his friend who had no experience in the industry and made him responsible for key improvement activities. Needless to say improvements were realized and top talent left leaving behind an inexperienced and u skilled PowerPoint rookie crew. Exact same pattern repeated in MCC and shared services like Network, Claims IT, BTO

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2020-01-31

    Magellan Health Response

    February 6, 2020Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review. Appreciate your insight.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Work Elsewhere"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nope. I have no pros for this place.

    Cons

    Health plan is an absolute joke (especially for a healthcare company) Poor/no work is rewarded; hard work and morality are passed over If you find yourself on a mismanaged team, or with a team member who does not carry their weight -- that will never change; there's no accountability The salary structure is laughable, and most of the time men are paid much more than women doing the same amount (of or more) work

    Magellan Health2020-01-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Some good some bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MFLC 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High level of Independence in work Supervision is not micromanaging Opportunities to take rotations overseas Very little paperwork.

    Cons

    The health plan is basically like not having insurance. The pay is 25000 per year less than other Professionals in the same location with the same credentials. There are only seven days of PTO and from time to time they get taken from you because of inclement weather. 7 Days also includes sick vacation and any other time off you would need. There is an extremely cumbersome system of logging in and out daily. Individuals are very disconnected and isolated there is no sense of teamwork or connection most people in this position do not know other people in the same position working for the same company at the same location. Aspects of HR are contracted out or you must search for your answers in and online Forum there is very little personal service when you have questions about benefits.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-12-15

    Magellan Health Response

    December 16, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for reviewing Magellan Health as a place to work!

Found 652 reviews