Magellan Health Reviews

Updated 21 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Magellan Health CEO Kenneth J. Fasola
Kenneth J. Fasola
6 Ratings
  1. "Meh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Utilization Management in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working from home, small team make it feel like theres job security (if that makes sense), salary very decent, if days are available then the time off is nice

    Cons

    Poor training, unrealistic workload expectations, stupid PTO rules that are not stated and are very inconvenient

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-12-15

    Magellan Health Response

    December 16, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "School MFLC"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Military and Family Life Counselor (MFLC) 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    School schedule/calendar year, school administration, faculty and staff can be awesome to work with. Working with school-aged children can be very rewarding.

    Cons

    You only get paid during the school year (no pay/work over summer). Organization lies about amount of pay you receive, limits PTO accrual to 10 days per calendar year, requires MFLC's to meet performance metrics, and only provides a HDHP as a medical plan option.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-12-14

    Magellan Health Response

    December 16, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Appreciate the review of Magellan Health as a place to work.

  3. "Good opportunity for growth."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Service Owner in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you’re willing to put in the work and be open to change, it’s a good opportunity to grow your career.

    Cons

    The organization was experiencing some toxic immune response to new leadership. This made it difficult to get things done as a company. This may have leveled out over time.

    Magellan Health2019-11-28

    Magellan Health Response

    December 2, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review of Magellan Health as a place to work.

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Beware If Magellan Acquires Your Company!"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Administrative 

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time

    Pros

    I have no good things to say about Magellan.

    Cons

    Magellan acquires companies, transfers the employees to terrible health insurance that will put you into debt if you ever have to use it, and then lays off entire departments at once. We were acquired 1.5 years ago and lay offs are still happening.

    Magellan Health2019-12-12

    Magellan Health Response

    December 16, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    So sorry you have had a bad experience working here. Thank you for the review.

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Case Manager Reviewr"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ralph's Taco truck, parking lot, some windows in the building,

    Cons

    Where to start?? Gosh there is so much wrong with Magellan/NIA one can hardly get it out. Management is horrid and create a toxic environment. Retribution and reprisals are their management style. If co workers become too friendly and start visiting during their 30 minute lunch management will change schedules so they can't talk during breaks. Listen to every phone call. HR is awful - never available to answer questions. Lots of promises when hired. None of them followed through. Easily the worst company I've ever worked for. Truly nasty managers and executives.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-12-03

    Magellan Health Response

    December 9, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    So sorry you felt this way about working at Magellan Health. We appreciate the review.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Needs improvement"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Associate in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Variety of schedules which are convenient

    Cons

    They care more about the call volume than their employees

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-11-04

    Magellan Health Response

    November 5, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review, so sorry you did not enjoy your time working here. At Magellan we strive bring our A-Game only and be compassionately curious with those we serve. Thanks!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with room for growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent opportunity to grow and get promoted

    Cons

    Nature of work can be tedious if you don't like working with numbers all day

    Magellan Health2019-10-16

    Magellan Health Response

    October 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review.

  8. "Remote"

    4.0
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager 

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time

    Pros

    Autonomy. You are not micromanaged

    Cons

    No upward mobility. Nothing else I can think of

    Magellan Health2019-10-15

    Magellan Health Response

    October 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for review Magellan Health as a place to work!

  9. Helpful (4)

    "A Company that Cares about Work/Life Balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Consultant in Avon, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Flexibility -Leadership -Location -Overall company mission -Values -Access to leader's within the corporate structure -Commitment to Technology

    Cons

    -Communication -Change Management -Management's Reception of Feedback

    Magellan Health2019-09-17

    Magellan Health Response

    September 19, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the great review of Magellan Health. We do pride ourselves on providing a health work-life flow!

  10. "Hired in December 2018"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Pharmacy Technician 

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love everything about magellan health

    Cons

    I can't think of anything wrong with this company so far

    Magellan Health2019-09-30

    Magellan Health Response

    October 3, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the fantastic review of Magellan Health!

Found 652 reviews