Magellan Health Reviews

Updated 21 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Magellan Health CEO Kenneth J. Fasola
Kenneth J. Fasola
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Charged me $50 to rollover my 401k"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Allows employees to work from home

    Cons

    The benefits were substandard. Too much out of pocket for employees. They only offered HDHP with no HSA funding. HR moved to a self serve platform which would be OK if they would get back to EEs with answers. Days later employees still didn't have answers to their HR questions after submitting a ticket.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-11-01

    Magellan Health Response

    November 5, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review. We strive to answer every HR question submitted, so apologizes if you feel you didn't get a response. Regarding the 401K, all the fees are in the fee disclosure, of which one of them is a distribution fee for any type of distribution. Magellan itself doesn’t get any of that money—it’s paid to the administrator of the plan. 401k administrative fees under our previous 401K partner were higher and with our new 401K partner, the fees charged to all participants are much lower and it’s only when you have a transaction (loan, rollover, hardship, QDRO, etc) where as an individual you are charged. This keeps the admin fees lower for everyone. Hopefully that helps to explain how Magellan's 401k works. Thanks!

  2. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EAP Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good salary, lots of independence, varied clients, good supervision

    Cons

    Not much room for internal growth

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-09-29

    Magellan Health Response

    September 30, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thanks for the review of Magellan Health as a place to work!

  3. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Coordinator 

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is good.

    Cons

    Case load can be heavy sometimes

    Magellan Health2019-09-27

    Magellan Health Response

    September 30, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thanks for the review!

  4. "Great place to work!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Ability to work from home with certain positions. Conducts internal surveys on how the company can improve overall AND actually considers as well as enacts widely agreed upon changes. Opportunity to earn bonuses.

    Cons

    Little to no training. While a lot positions depend on industry knowledge, training regarding specific organizational structure and policies is needed. A little more transparency as to corporate changes. Understand company policy is not to comment on rumors so as not to cause panic and a mass exodus but having to find out about the possibility of major org changes yields that result anyway.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-09-18

    Magellan Health Response

    September 19, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review!

  5. "Okay"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Exceptions Coordinator 

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay, diverse, quiet, great supervisor

    Cons

    lots of drama, age gaps, seniors are unhelpful

    Magellan Health2019-10-02

    Magellan Health Response

    October 3, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thanks for review Magellan Health!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "The most frustrating place to work.... no one has a clue and every answer is different."

    2.0
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health

    Pros

    Cool people but no pride

    Cons

    Doing your job correctly will get you in trouble

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-09-30

    Magellan Health Response

    October 3, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Sorry to hear you did not like your time at Magellan Health. We strive to create an environment where all employees are valued and appreciated!

  7. "It's fine if you enjoy healthcare"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing & Events Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from Home days + flexible schedule

    Cons

    Everyone is related + the office is very sad

    Magellan Health2019-09-26

    Magellan Health Response

    September 27, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for review Magellan Health as a place to work.

  8. "Give this company a chance. Still down to earth and not cold corporate like others."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, great work/life balance and the company likes to invest in technology.

    Cons

    Nothing to complain about really.

    Magellan Health2019-09-07

    Magellan Health Response

    September 9, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for reviewing Magellan Health as a place to work.

  9. "Nice place"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Appeals Coordinator in Cambridge, MA

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is great nice very

    Cons

    Job growth is slow but nice place

    Magellan Health2019-09-06

    Magellan Health Response

    September 9, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank for you the review!

  10. "Excellent company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flextime, IT teams, PTO and ethical intent

    Cons

    None that comes to mind really

    Magellan Health2019-09-05

    Magellan Health Response

    September 6, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the positive review of Magellan Health!

Found 652 reviews