Magellan Health Senior Care Manager Reviews

Updated 13 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
92%
Recommend to a Friend
Magellan Health CEO Kenneth J. Fasola
Kenneth J. Fasola
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Comparing two companies"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Care Manager in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Having worked for Magellan and now in my current role at another similar company, I can say, Magellan tried hard. If there’s a reward for company who tried the hardest, I would give it to Magellan. I witnessed so many new CEOs come and go; VP’s come and go. They cashed in and left. Sad. I have no clue what Magellan is like now, but I hope it’s better. The company I work for now is super. Well organized, great IT and hardware to work with. Solid processes in place. People get things done. Sadly, when I left Magellan, it was frustrating because policies and procedures kept changing. Hopefully, they are more settled now. I still have great friends from there, still working and nothing negative to say! I hope Magellan makes it! Lots of great memories! Awesome quarterly bonuses and annual raises!

    Cons

    Lots of change. High turnover in management and executives

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-02-13
  2. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Care Manager in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Health insurance benefits and good

    Cons

    Slow response from the HR department as lack of coordination between remote workers and the corporate office.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2018-04-26

    Magellan Health Response

    May 9, 2018Vice President, Digital/Social Media & Employer Brand

    Thank you for your review and feedback. We implemented a new digital HR Q&A tool last year with the aim of improving HR related questions and answers. We hear you!

  3. Helpful (10)

    "Would not recommend this company at this location to my worse enemy"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Care Manager in Alpharetta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent amount of vacation time if you get to schedule it. Co-workers were top notch & dedicated but undervalued.

    Cons

    They re-vamped our entire work structure for the worse & laid off the people who understood the system. Many left. The end result is primarily a system that not only doesn't work but takes 2-3 times longer to complete tasks with little accuracy. Employees treated like factory workers w/masters degrees, working 10-12 hours daily, no overtime pay and hard to get the time off when you want it. Daily confusion & frustration because management does not know what they are doing and therefore can't train new comers. Not supportive of employees. Little room for advancement or changing your position.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2017-09-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "good pay, good benefits, demoralizing environment the last few years"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Care Manager in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good benefits and good salary

    Cons

    not feeling valued by supervisor

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2016-09-21
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Good company overall, lack of medical experience is hurting them in Medicaid contracting"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Care Manager in Iowa City, IA
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time

    Pros

    I've been with Magellan for over 9 years. Good benefits, good PTO, health insurance has been good. Pretty flexible with schedule and accommodating sick time for kids, etc. After 20 years, we lost our Medicaid contract when Iowa restructured it's Medicaid contract and we were not selected in the RFP process. Too bad, but the fact is, Magellan was not established enough in the medical realm (focus has always been on behavioral health niche) to get the contract. New contracts are always difficult, so don't put too much stock in naysayers who are in a new role involving a new company/contract. Our focus, at least in my state contract, has always been what's in the best interest of our members/clients. I hope that focus can continue as the world changes and dollars become more scarce. We worked very hard to do the right thing and help the people who wanted help to get it, and did our best to get the people who didn't want to do anything for themselves the resources to help them change their perspective to get the help that they needed.

    Cons

    As in any corporate, stock driven situation, money is the driving force from the top down. You will see this pretty much anywhere in managed care. Sometimes decisions are made in "corporate" that are attempts to save money, when a better solution could have been implemented months or years earlier through IT changes, or more well defined guidelines/processes and better provider relations/education. You may find yourself "overworked" when part of your team is on PTO, or on maternity leave and there are not enough "per need" (PRN) staff available to fill in the gaps. Traditionally, hiring has been an issue (can take months to fill an open position) and I don't think marketing is aggressive enough in that department. They rely too much on word of mouth and internal referrals for prospective employees. This is hard on staff when a team is short by a person or two on a team of 5 to 8 people. All of that aside, in my location, and on my teams (I've been in 3 different departments/teams in my 9 years), my co-workers and overall, my direct supervisors have been fantastic and all work to cover each others' backs and help each other out. I think the difficult part, as I stated initially, is the stock driven money, component. Right now, as our contract is ending, I believe the bean counters and the corporate higher ups have been very very slow in considering giving us the resources we need to finish out the end of our contract without doing a disservice to our members. I am disappointed by (at least my perceived) lack of support and really did not expect it.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2015-10-23
  6. "mostly good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Care Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Feel like I'm making a difference. Good pay for social services field. Good benefits. Great relationships are built. There is a good value system and the St. Louis office makes a point of giving back. Good succession planning program. Flexible regarding needing to take time off.

    Cons

    No opportunity for growth unless you are part of the "in" crowd. Promotion is based more on personal preference rather than ability to lead. Thus, some of the middle management lacks good management skills and sometimes good work ethic.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2015-01-17
  7. "Overall, it was a good opportunity and experience."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Manager Senior in Parsippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There were many people who worked there for many years who had a lot of knowledge. Also, there was a lot of effort put in to keep the energy and morale high.

    Cons

    Often co-workers were too busy on phones to help you when you needed help with clinical case questions.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2014-09-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good for Awhile Then Poor Work Atmosphere"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Care Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent salary and pleasant co--workers

    Cons

    unreasonable workload; toxic supervisors; work environment is not supportive

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2014-06-07
  9. "Clinical Social Worker, Care management, MH intake and concurrent reviews"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Care Manager in Parsippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    salary and benefits are better than average in this area...

    Cons

    the company seems to want to shed the MH MCO business and is scrimping on hiring and especially in supporting current staff

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2014-05-26
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Not a good place to work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Manager Senior in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good overtime pay and vacation time

    Cons

    Management was abusive and not interested in employees.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2014-01-11
Found 14 reviews