Magellan Health Employee Reviews about "high turnover"

Updated 1 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Magellan Health CEO Kenneth J. Fasola
Kenneth J. Fasola
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The poor leadership and the perpetuation of poor leadership by upper management for years(in 25 reviews)

  • "High turnover rate of productive employees(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "high turnover"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I Cannot Recommend Magellan At All - Very Stressful and Very Poor Management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time Employee in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time

    Pros

    There are many work from home opportunities so no commute

    Cons

    Unethical leadership, disorganized, poor reputation due to high turnover and weak internal systems, low emphasis placed on rewarding or taking care of employees

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2020-05-01

    Magellan Health Response

    May 4, 2020Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for your review of Magellan Health as a place to work. We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience working here.

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Comparing two companies"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Care Manager in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Having worked for Magellan and now in my current role at another similar company, I can say, Magellan tried hard. If there’s a reward for company who tried the hardest, I would give it to Magellan. I witnessed so many new CEOs come and go; VP’s come and go. They cashed in and left. Sad. I have no clue what Magellan is like now, but I hope it’s better. The company I work for now is super. Well organized, great IT and hardware to work with. Solid processes in place. People get things done. Sadly, when I left Magellan, it was frustrating because policies and procedures kept changing. Hopefully, they are more settled now. I still have great friends from there, still working and nothing negative to say! I hope Magellan makes it! Lots of great memories! Awesome quarterly bonuses and annual raises!

    Cons

    Lots of change. High turnover in management and executives

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-02-13
  3. Helpful (14)

    "If you have another job opportunity, go with that opportunity"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent healthcare benefits and benefits in general

    Cons

    -The poor leadership and the perpetuation of poor leadership by upper management for years. -Perpetually understaffed in all departments. -Ineffective Human Resources Department. The HR Department does not respond to employee questions or concerns with applicable information. You cannot talk to anyone in HR and must electronically correspond with people who provide non-answers or do not respond at all. -Full-time means significantly more than 40 hours a week is required while the company preaches the balance of work and life. -Poorly organized and executed projects and initiatives -Company culture of blame -High turnover rate of productive employees -Employees are continually over-burdened by their workload -Poor training at the onset of employment and almost none afterwards -No this company does not seek to better healthcare and well-being; they lose money and accounts and try to make up for the lost revenue by tightening utilization.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-01-31

    Magellan Health Response

    February 12, 2019Vice President, Digital/Social Media & Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review. I'll share your feedback internally.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Magellan Health Inc Operations Supervisor"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time

    Pros

    Multi-faceted company with lots of opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    High turnover rate Lack of consistency between teams/departments

    Magellan Health2018-08-22
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Do not work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Little Rock, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great learning and skill building position

    Cons

    Everyone is not treated fairly. There is no room for advancement within employment. Over worked/under paid. Supervisor position had a high turnover rate.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2018-08-21
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Not enough time in training."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and great management. They really care about the quality they give to their callers. Beautiful building and amenities.

    Cons

    Claims are difficult and barely had training. You feel your inconveniencing them when asking for assistance. Not enough time in training and unsure if you’ll succeed because of it. High turnover rate in employees.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2018-03-09
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Behavior health care coordinator"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BHCC in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    salary is competitive; ability to work from home

    Cons

    supervisors have not really provided accurate assistance in regard to BHCC or members questions. There is a high turnover rate. Constant changes and unrealistic expectations.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2018-02-06
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Care Manager"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent, competitive salary - its the sole reason people apply and keep this job, short term or long term. 9-5 office job Good CEU reimbursement/time off

    Cons

    High turnover. In the timeframe I worked at Magellan, the staff that I was assigned to train - usually left the role within 8 months. Most everyone is usually looking for another job. Purely telephonic call center -whilst this is clearly stated upon interview and offer, what is not stated, if you have never done such a role before is the degree of MICROMANGEMENT - logging in and out for bathroom breaks (really) need to be at your desk/logged in exactly at your start time and to leave no earlier than your leave time. 30 minute lunch and 2 - 15 minute breaks - Exactly that amount of time and no more. Staff who are OCD about phone call time, number of reviews conducted, speed of computer use vs. actual clinical experience, are usually rewarded, as metrics and productivity is paramount. Seated all day, NO ergonomics unless you advocate repeatedly for this. Many have repetitive use injuries, weight gain, back and neck problems, eyestrain issues. Management unresponsive to your professional development or leadership opptys in the company. You will be seen as, treated as, and become a drone. Its really demoralizing to see folks racing across the parking lot to the elevators in order to login on time - this is in a building with other call center businesses. As a clinician, many feel they've 'sold out' and that's what it is. This role is no better nor different than a high school graduate making cold calls for GEICO, telephonic sales, etc. While this was the healthiest pay ever for any mental health professional, the inequity between mgmt and staff, repetitiveness of role, arbitrary rewards and poor work-life balance, make this the UNHEALTHIEST place to work.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2017-10-30

    Magellan Health Response

    January 4, 2018Vice President, Digital/Social Media & Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We hear you, and appreciate your feedback. We will share this information with the right people.

  9. Helpful (18)

    "Room for Improvement- Struggling to Keep the Hope Alive"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Behavioral Health Care Coordinator in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is great and the work done being supportive to members and connecting them with resources is rewarding. Not to mention there is a cafeteria and gym onsite. A great perk of working at Magellan.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations to manage work load; constantly working additional hours to keep up with the workload (unpaid); frequent changes of work expectations; high turnover of frustrated staff; lack of adequate support to staff; permanent weekend/evening schedule and shamefully the health insurance is horrible (HSA only option).

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2017-02-03
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Do not take this job"

    1.0
    Behavioral Health Care Coordinator in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health

    Pros

    The money is good for a social worker

    Cons

    I couldn't be happier to be out of this job. Coworkers refer to the company as "majailen". Everything you do is monitored but not for quality. All that matters is quantity and profits. Members and their needs are irrelevant. It's impossible to get good treatment for people with carefirst/Magellan insurance as very few providers accept their low rates. You will be frustrated by the constant demands of management that make no sense and change almost daily. You will get emails from management telling you to stop talking and laughing in the office. You will never feel appreciated by management and they publicly shame everyone. Turnover has been among the worst I've experienced, management continues to justify the high turnover as "growing pains" of a start up. Watching 30+ clinicians leave in less than a year is a problem but nobody at Magellan seems to care. They just continue to hire new clinicians through temp agencies. The worst part about this company is that they review their own employees mental health claims. Your coworkers, boss, etc could know exactly what type of treatment you've had and your diagnosis. Magellan could care less about this and likely continues this practice to intimidate their employees. I could go on and on about this company and my experience. It has truly been traumatizing. The money is good but it's not worth the poor treatment not to mention the many ethical dilemmas you will find yourself in.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2016-09-11
Found 14 reviews