Magellan Health Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 21 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Magellan Health CEO Kenneth J. Fasola
Kenneth J. Fasola
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The poor leadership and the perpetuation of poor leadership by upper management for years(in 25 reviews)

  • "High turnover rate of productive employees(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Job and people was good."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Maryland Heights, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some really great people in the trenches to work with, pay was good, and work/life balance was good.

    Cons

    Upper management was the only Con. No direction, didn't pay attention to reporting staff, keep trying everything under the sun with nothing really working.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2020-02-21

    Magellan Health Response

    March 16, 2020Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thanks for the review!

  2. Helpful (7)

    "Poor infrastructure"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time

    Pros

    Supportive coworkers. Flexible work schedule.

    Cons

    Culture was much better prior to being acquired by Magellan. Management resistant to instituting remote work policies (one of the few perks post-Magellan, given shoddy high deductible plans, lack of transportation benefits, and increased workload). Upper management focused solely on own career growth and devoting little time to mentorship and staff professional growth.

    Magellan Health2019-03-07
  3. Helpful (14)

    "If you have another job opportunity, go with that opportunity"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent healthcare benefits and benefits in general

    Cons

    -The poor leadership and the perpetuation of poor leadership by upper management for years. -Perpetually understaffed in all departments. -Ineffective Human Resources Department. The HR Department does not respond to employee questions or concerns with applicable information. You cannot talk to anyone in HR and must electronically correspond with people who provide non-answers or do not respond at all. -Full-time means significantly more than 40 hours a week is required while the company preaches the balance of work and life. -Poorly organized and executed projects and initiatives -Company culture of blame -High turnover rate of productive employees -Employees are continually over-burdened by their workload -Poor training at the onset of employment and almost none afterwards -No this company does not seek to better healthcare and well-being; they lose money and accounts and try to make up for the lost revenue by tightening utilization.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-01-31

    Magellan Health Response

    February 12, 2019Vice President, Digital/Social Media & Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review. I'll share your feedback internally.

  4. Helpful (11)

    "lop sided reviews"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time

    Pros

    I can't think of one Pro for working at Magellan

    Cons

    As I looked through these reviews, most of the positive reviews come from HR, middle , or upper management. Most of the negative reviews comes from the front line staff. A reasonable assumption would be that upper management does not listen.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-02-28
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Poor Leadership, Poor Training,No Human Resources."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home but work all the time. A few good workers but not recognized.

    Cons

    Too many leaders and would be leaders,too many new initiatives that don’t get followed through on. Dirty office politics. Working remotely is a great disadvantage. Blame shifting and work dumping occurs regularly from home office employees. Shaming employees for resting on weekends or getting a full nights sleep or exercise is common. Bragging about staying up all night is common. Days can be filled with meetings that seem to exist more to affirm status, loyalty and position rather than getting work done. Upper management takes offense easily accepts worship easily and is manipulated easily because of it. Gross political correctness towards the left affecting employee advancement. All this without an HR. I don’t mean an ineffective HR. I mean never ever talk to a human, HR.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2018-08-02
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Bonuses slashed by 60%, but not for the C suite"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Colleagues are good to work with

    Cons

    Management looked at the big corporate tax cut and thought, hey, I will reward my hardworking employees by cutting all their approved incentive bonuses by 60% and not telling them until a couple of days before the bonuses were deposited. Of course, upper management did not cut their own bonuses.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2018-06-06
  7. Helpful (6)

    "DO NOT WORK HERE"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a job. paychecks are regular.

    Cons

    Benefit Coverage. HR - unknowledgeable Upper Management does not care.

    Magellan Health2018-04-25
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent salary and good benefits

    Cons

    Hostile work environment, HR unresponsive to complaints, Leadership not supportive of staff, cliquish upper Management, unrealistic expectations & demands, poor work-life balance

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2018-02-25
  9. Helpful (17)

    "Struggling to keep talent"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Professional 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great PTO package, opportunities to work remotely

    Cons

    Disorganized upper management, disorganized approach to innovation, poor transparency

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2017-11-09

    Magellan Health Response

    January 4, 2018Vice President, Digital/Social Media & Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are sorry to hear about your issue with IT current/past management. We know our employees are our most valued asset and strive to cultivate a culture of inclusivity, collaboration, and curiosity. We will make sure you are heard.

  10. Helpful (17)

    "Burn baby Burn"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time

    Pros

    PTO is last of the good benefits.

    Cons

    Health Benefits suck. Upper Management lost and are to busy patting themselves on the back and tell all the rest of the lower worker bees how great they are. CTO is so lost, does not know where he is or where he has been. For a regulated company in the Health Care industry, CTO does not understand his role. His lackeys he brought in have done their due diligence in getting rid of all the top talented IT staffed they had. IT department is became a ghost town, and those left are trying to hold up the foundations that have to many cracks to deal with, and they too will leave the sinking ship. CTO decided Magellan IT should go agile, great thought, however, instead of working and getting coding done, they are having meetings to discuss what should be done. And then another meeting to discuss how they should do the next meeting and so on. Another words meeting by death of code. So business done by meetings not actually getting any work done. Worker bees tossed from one team to the next, changes is constant making hard to trust one another. When I started I was on a great team before CA man came in, and we did get a lot done. We took care of the customers, we took care of each other. This has been lost. CTO/managers pitted teams against each other instead of collaborating together. Again making the work environment hard for all. Agile coaches talk a good game, however, they are just as destructive as management. It's like they are in charge, instead of the team leads. Again making hard to do work, to many chiefs. CTO brought in his pet projects, such as work place, a waist of time and money unless you a sycophant and live on it to suck up. He brought in other projects in as well, using up all the cash reserves...meaning no raising or bonuses unless you are one of the yes men. With all that has happened ones has to give pause, does the rest of the C's understand what the CA man has done to their company or do they really care, or is this the plan from the beginning. It is really to bad, they made a bad choice and the worker bees now suffer from there actions. Now those left have to many balls to juggle, they only thing they can do is let them drop. They are set up for failure. So Congratulations to CA man and his lackey's , you took a wonderful IT group and destroyed it. You met your goals and achieved them better then anyone could have seen. Before long you will jump and do it all over again. You and lackeys have no honor, nor loyalty, this obvious in your treatment of the rest of the those who left, who will leave and those who stay on the sinking ship.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2017-11-13

    Magellan Health Response

    January 4, 2018Vice President, Digital/Social Media & Employer Brand

    Thank you for your hard work and dedication. We at Magellan appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback - We Hear You. We are sorry to hear about your experience.. We support our employees and understand that our people are our most valued resource. We will make sure your feedback gets to the right people.

Found 25 reviews