Main Street Hub Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Main Street Hub Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 490 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Main Street Hub CEO Andrew Allison; Matt Stuart
Andrew Allison; Matt Stuart
335 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work environment is good, great people to work with(in 29 reviews)

  • "You meet a lot of creative/cool people(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "100 cold calls a day to small business owners who are trained to avoid solicitors(in 25 reviews)

  • "You should know that people become close friends here because you're truly huddled together for comfort in the storm that is upper management(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company, lots of room for growth -- fast pace, transaction sales!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Media Advisor in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Main Street Hub full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Clientele can be very emotional and hard to get a hold of on a set schedule. Small business owners have random schedules.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Try to train leadership to develop more than apply direct help.

    Main Street Hub2019-06-13
  2. "More Focused On Being A Cool Start Up than Creating an awesome product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Main Street Hub full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    fun co-workers and chill sales environment

    Cons

    sucky product and hard to sell

    Main Street Hub2019-06-08
  3. "Pretty Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Social Media Manager 
      Recommends
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Main Street Hub full-time

      Pros

      Fun people and snacks and beer

      Cons

      Low pay and too many clients

      Main Street Hub2019-05-20
    • "Don't do it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Main Street Hub full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      They incentive you with electronics

      Cons

      Cold calling center - 100+ calls everyday or you're expected to stay late Micromanaging - one time a manager threatened to duct tape a person to a chair because they were using the restroom too much In no later then 8 am, lunch strictly 12-1 (can't do 12:30-1:30), leave no earlier then 5:30 or they give you looks

      Advice to Management

      Encourage - don't threaten employees

      Main Street Hub2019-06-11
    • Helpful (5)

      "Unfortunately, MSH is a joke in the Austin tech community"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Austin, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Main Street Hub full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good people to work with Decent office downtown Barista - but who doesn’t have a barista now? They do provide jobs for people who are unhireable anywhere else.

      Cons

      ITS A TRAP! You cold call all day long. The product isn’t great and has a horrible retention rate. The position doesn’t qualify you for anything besides getting back on the phone at another company. They promote anyone who will shut up and stay along for the ride. You can’t be one minute late back from lunch or in the morning. Micro management for your entire tenure. Small deal size ~$500. $20,000 base. Low morale...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Please don’t leave a cheesy comment that’s recycled around the rest of the bad reviews. You’ll notice that the way these comments are responded to are cut, copied and pasted from past responses. Just acknowledge that the company was $100,000,000 was in debt before they closed in a fire sale to GoDaddy and you would rather sell off and keep hiring 60 reps a month to keep up with everyone that quits or is fired.

      Main Street Hub2019-04-13
    • "There’s a reason they shut down their SF office"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Main Street Hub full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      - Virtuosic mission - Use of technology to aid sales team

      Cons

      - Very poor management - Product is a great idea but is poorly executed - Virtually no meaningful HR support - Major culture issues - In a career in sales spanning over 20 years, this is the only job I had where I couldn’t sell. The “frat bro” culture that was allowed to permeate was distracting at least, and fully hostile at its worst.

      Advice to Management

      Watch out who your managers are. A positive workplace culture is essential to positive sales metrics

      Main Street Hub2019-05-09
    • "Plenty of opportunities to earn and advance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Manager in Austin, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Main Street Hub full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great culture and work environment

      Cons

      Communication between departments can be slow at times

      Main Street Hub2019-03-28
    • "A good place to coast"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Community Manager in Austin, TX

      I worked at Main Street Hub full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -Once you get ahold of your workload, you can enjoy the easy job while working on other project. -You meet a lot of creative/cool people

      Cons

      -Moving up is very political- in an office full of women somehow all the men are leads? -Salary range is very, very low -Account Management team is essentially conning small/broke businesses into spending money on a service they may not need -There is no standard as far as who they will take on. "As long as they haven't broken the law.," they will agree to work with these people. This means many of the clients you're...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Leave.

      Main Street Hub2019-04-05
    • Helpful (3)

      "Worth trying for a few months to learn basic cold-calling skills"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Austin, TX
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Main Street Hub full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Positive, energetic, young environment. They have a decent sales pitch that you can use in future sales positions. Beautiful office space. They provide leads!

      Cons

      There are too many young and inexperienced sales manager. Unfortunately, my sales manager was aggressive, impatient, and unable to effectively develop talent of new sales reps. I was told that I should not worry about growth opportunities until I was one of the top sales reps of 250 (when I graduated at the top of the training class).. then what was I in the grind for?

      Advice to Management

      I left due to the relationship I had with my manager. Words to management: please be more cautious of employees concerns so that you can quickly find them a team that is conducive to their success.

      Main Street Hub2019-03-19
    • Helpful (3)

      "Worst Job I Have Ever Had"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Content Specialist in Austin, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Main Street Hub full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Free coffee and snacks and nice desks

      Cons

      Everything else. Pay, management, factory work.

      Advice to Management

      I would not wish this job on my worst enemy. I have worked in retail, fast food, serving, business and more and this is by far the worst job I have ever had. I worked here as a Content Specialist and came in with so much enthusiasm and eagerness but quickly realized I was just a number and expected to pump out design work like a factory worker. This company is just cubicle work without the cubicles. On top of this, management...

      Show More
      Main Street Hub2019-04-09
    Found 490 reviews