Majestic Wine Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 381 of over 403 reviews

4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Found a new love in wines too, always have(in 35 reviews)

  • "Lovely people in store, great staff discount(in 31 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, especially around Christmas Time, but time comes back to you after Christmas is finished(in 75 reviews)

  • "Head office management we’re very poorly trained(in 42 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great job when you dont have kids harder if you do.

      Oct 22, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Farnham, South East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay for trainee and sales assistants drivers Great working teams

      Cons

      Hours are long Days are usually the same old

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Majestic Wine Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for your feedback, we truly believe it is our people that makes Majestic a great place to work! Given the nature of the business, retail hours are of course part of the role - but we work with our Store and Regional Managers to ensure that this is fair and flexible across our teams.It’s disappointing to hear this was not the case in your experience, and would welcome you getting in touch in confidence so we can discuss this further via confidentialpeoplesupport@majestic.co.uk Thank you for being part of the Majestic Team!

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      .....

      Oct 20, 2021 - Management Trainnee in City of London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      opportunity for wine and beverage education

      Cons

      long hours and more responsibilities added with less employees

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Majestic Wine Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly striving to improve Majestic for our colleagues, to be a leading retail employer. In 2020 we hired over 400 Temporary staff to support our business and growing parts in Retail and we have created a number of additional retail roles recently to support our Team Colleagues. Given the nature of the business, retail hours are of course part of the role - but we work with our Store and Regional Managers to ensure that this is fair and flexible across our teams.It’s disappointing to hear this was not the case in your experience, and would welcome you getting in touch in confidence so we can discuss this further via confidentialpeoplesupport@majestic.co.uk Best of luck for your next chapter.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Company with a heart

      Oct 14, 2021 - Driver in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, work-life balance, range of products, fast-pace, good opportunity to start in retail. Lots of friendly staff. Store Manager are supportive with work life balance and fair with Rota. Under new management there is alot more support, we are working for a fun culture again - thank you to our CEO, Mr Colley!

      Cons

      Can be hard work sometimes, especially when colleagues in store are off as then it becomes too lean

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Majestic Wine Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for taking time to leave a review, we are glad to see you have highligted so many positves and that you can't think of any negatives. Thank you for being part of the Majestic Team, we truly believe it is our people that makes Majestic a great place to work!

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Smooth

      Oct 11, 2021 - Trainee Manager in Henley, South East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Had a really friendly recruiter Sasha checking up on me every step of the way. She is a fantastic assets to the team. She made me feel welcome wanted and encouraged me throughout the process. And kept me posted with everything as soon as things happened. And never felt like I was waiting for

      Cons

      I have nothing bad to say

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Majestic Wine Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for taking time to leave a review, we are glad to see you have highligted so many positves and that you can't think of any negatives. Thank you for being part of the Majestic Team, we truly believe it is our people that makes Majestic a great place to work!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Recruitment Feedback

      Sep 30, 2021 - Trainee Retail Manager in Petersfield, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Super friendly staff, reasonable working hours and generous perks.

      Cons

      I have not yet begun working for Majestic, and hope I never have anything to put in this box!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Majestic Wine Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for leaving such a lovely review and for highlighting your positive overall experience during the Recruitment and Interviewing Process. We truly believe it is our people that make Majestic a great place to work. Welcome to the Majestic Team!

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Tough life in the stores

      Oct 15, 2021 - Trainee Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very solid employer, I managed to get a mortgage with their contract, I had SSP when I injured myself quite badly and overall, at the head-office level, things seem to generally work fine.

      Cons

      Very bad culture in stores, and very little control on the managers' doing. When I started I had no manager, the store was in shambles, and I receive no training from the assistant manager, whom after all wasn't able to provide it. He got promoted to Manager, and is as incompetent as ever. I had managers keeping 50% of the bonus pot and split the other half unevenly among 4 other members of staff. After I complained, that same manager happened to knock on my door while I was on the toilet, just as a way to target me, and when I complained about it vibrantly but politely, she left the store in the middle of the shift without even telling anyone. No one did anything about it, upper management would cover their ears and eyes and get on with the day. It's probably entertaining to read these stories and I'm laughing at it myself now that I am leaving, but I had a really tough time. It's a good place to start in the wine business, but don't expect to progress through your hard work, punctuality, or competence. You will progress smiling, agreeing, and sending embarrassing private messages. If you have already decided to put your integrity on sale, for the love of god, at least don't do it for 30k and 50hrs of work per week.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Majestic Wine Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly striving to improve Majestic for our colleagues, to be a leading retail employer. You have highlighted a number of Cons that we would like to discuss with you further, although we encourage all feedback it is very difficult for us to deal with these concerns if we only find out once a colleague has left. We 100% recommend that all our colleagues discuss concerns with their line managers and if they don't feel comfortable to do so, you can reach out to the People team directly, in confidence please do get in touch via confidentialpeoplesupport@majestic.co.uk. We regularly, anonymously, survey all colleagues so they have the opportunity to directly ask questions of the Board and our Senior management team so that we can truly understand how everyone is feeling and our aim is to be as transparent as possible as a business. At our monthly business updates we also aim to answer as many of the questions raised as we possibly can and would like to reassure you that all feedback from our Colleagues is taken seriously and addressed by the Board and the Leadership Team across the company, so if this has not been your experience, we would like to understand that more fully. We wish you the very best for the future.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Much better than it has been but work still to be done

      Sep 19, 2021 - Senior Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discounts, bonuses for those willing to graft for them, excellent recruitment means store teams are fantastic people, product training.

      Cons

      Long hours, terrible work life balance, lack of compassion from head office, limited development prospects beyond stores, no certified investment in staff development beyond product learning, IT systems not fit for purpose

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Majestic Wine Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly striving to improve Majestic for our colleagues, to be a leading retail employer. We have always encouraged internal career progression, the majority of our Leadership Team have come from working at Trainee Manager level and progressed upwards, and we are constantly looking at new opportunities for all colleagues across the business. We have a number of Retail Colleagues who moved from Retail to Support centre, joining our People, Supply Chain, Marketing, Retail Operations and Buying Teams, our Head of HR Business Partnering, Retail Operations Director and IT Director all started their careers in our Stores. Our people and the wellbeing of our teams is at the top of our People Agenda and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further as we are constantly looking at how we can lead the way.Given the nature of the business, retail hours are of course part of the role - but we work with our Store and Regional Managers to ensure that this is fair and flexible across our teams. We regularly, anonymously survey all colleagues so they have the opportunity to directly ask questions of the Board and our Senior management team so that we can truly understand how everyone is feeling and our aim is to be as transparent as possible as a business. We can categorically reassure you that all feedback from stores is addressed by the Board, the Regional Manager team and across the company so if this has not been your experience of working with us we would like to understand that more fully. Much of the feedback we have received from your colleagues has been that we have made some great improvements business wide including our new Systems, and we would love to discuss your concerns further to give us the opportunity to address these and also help us improve for the future; you can do this confidentially by contacting confidentialpeoplesupport@majestic.co.uk so please do get in contact.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to work

      Sep 14, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Varied role, fun, great people, good perks

      Cons

      Long working day, don’t get paid for the time you work after shift ends

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Majestic Wine Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we do love to hear from our people how they feel about working for us. In terms of your cons, we are constantly striving to improve Majestic for our colleagues, to be a leading retail employer. Given the nature of the business, retail hours are of course part of the role - but we work with our Store and Regional Managers to ensure that this is fair and flexible across our teams. We are fully committed to ensuring all our colleagues get the support and reward they deserve and it is disappointing to hear you feel this is not happening in your experience and would welcome you getting in touch in confidence so we can discuss this further via confidentialpeoplesupport@majestic.co.uk Thank you for being part of the Majestic Team!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Teamwork

      Sep 1, 2021 - Manager Trainee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Effective, helpful, kind, generous, complex

      Cons

      Hard to find any cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Majestic Wine Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for taking time to leave a review, we are glad to see you have highligted so many positves and that you can't think of any negatives. Thank you for being part of the Majestic Team!

    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Terrible

      Oct 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some great people work there

      Cons

      Some Management agave been around for far to long and are very stuck in their ways, most have been promoted from being store staff and are overpaid in roles that they have very limited experience in within HQ. It’s not what you know it’s who you know. It’s very interesting to see that many of the reviews left are for people who haven’t joined yet. I left majestic after being bullied by management which was handled really poorly internally when I reached out for help.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Majestic Wine Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly striving to improve Majestic for our colleagues, to be a leading retail employer. We could not agree more on your point regarding great people that work at Majestic, we truly believe it is our people that makes Majestic a great place to work We have always encouraged internal career progression, the majority of our Leadership Team have come from working at Trainee Manager level and progressed upwards, and we are constantly looking at new opportunities for all colleagues across the business to ensure that everyone has the opportunity to progress and develop in their career. Glassdoor is a platform for all, whether you are already working for us or due to start working for us - we welcome all feedback, we also have a few very good Glassdoor reviews from colleagues that have been with us for a number of years. Your point regarding being bullied by management is something we would like to discuss with you further. We regularly, anonymously, survey all colleagues so they have the opportunity to directly ask questions of the Board and our Senior management team so that we can truly understand how everyone is feeling and our aim is to be as transparent as possible as a business. At our monthly business updates we also aim to answer as many of the questions raised as we possibly can and would like to reassure you that all feedback from our Colleagues is taken seriously and addressed by the Board and the Leadership Team across the company, so if this has not been your experience, we would like to understand that more fully. We would really like to hear from you directly, in confidence please do get in touch via confidentialpeoplesupport@majestic.co.uk. We wish you the very best for the future.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 381 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Majestic Wine Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Majestic Wine? Share Your Experiences

    Majestic Wine logo
    or