Manpower "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Manpower Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated 5 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
55%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Manpower Managing Director Mark Cahill
Mark Cahill
73 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good hours good pay and opportunities(in 85 reviews)

  • "They are great people who help you by finding work when needed(in 69 reviews)

Cons
  • "No cons actually was a great time working with them(in 153 reviews)

  • "Risk of not getting full time offer at end of work assignment(in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Working for BT, West Bromwich, but employed by Manpower"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Welcome Advisor in West Bromwich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manpower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wage - The wage of £8.53ph to spend all day, working typically 8.5hr shifts (inc 30 min lunch + 2 15 min breaks) from 08:00 - 21:00 isn't too bad. Saturday is normal pay but Sunday is 1.5x (£10.66). Shifts - You have a few options of shift patterns - some do lates one week (starting at 11.30 - 12.30 and finishing at 20:00 or 21:00 respectively) and earlies the next (starting at 8 or 9am and finishing at 16.30 or 17:30). These vary in so much as you might start at 08:15 or 09:45. Some, including myself, have a varied shift pattern, working a mixture of early and late shifts each week. Manpower rep on site - Handy having a Manpower Rep, now on site full time (wasn't the case before 2018) as well as the BT management structure. Location - The location near central West Bromwich is good, Bus station is a slow 10 minutes or speedy 7ish minutes away, through New Square which has big Tesco etc (see New Square shopping in West Brom for more info). Benefits - Manpower staff get the same benefits as BT staff, i.e. free Infinity Internet (but you have to pay line rental (£18.99 assuming via direct debit), free BT Sport, Free BT TV, and a few other things.

    Cons

    No more conversions - I was told when I start last April/ May, as was everyone else that started at BT prior to 2018, that one would be employed by Manpower but then the contract would be converted to a BT contract in around 9 months, assuming not too many absences/ poor performance etc). BT staff, doing the same job, get paid thousands more (4 or 5,000 I think) and when one has a BT contract one could get out of the call centre and go to work in BT Sport, Openreach, etc. We were told a couple of months ago that no one else is being converted, and the only way to be employed by BT (and so get a permanent contract with more money) is when BT start advertising, which may not be in 2018. Manpower remain advertising and we constantly see newbies in the call centre, whilst experienced staff leave in search of a permanent contract. Some have worked for Manpower for 18 months having been told by Managers to wait until next month, next month. Temporary contract - Temp contract has the benefit of only needing a week's notice, but trying to get a loan or mortgage etc is tricky. BT staff get paid more - People that happened to have been employed when staff were converted, doing the same, no more senior role, get paid monthly and get paid, as I said above, at least £4,000 more, if not £5k. Manpower rep - Though it's nice having full-time rep on site she remains new to the role and so asking for information either takes some time to get or one gets it quickly but it's wrong. Manpower benefits - Manpower are larger than BT, but the benefits you get as a result of being employed by Manpower are dismal and I don't know anyone making use of them. Working late - I don't think anyone likes leaving at 21:00 for no higher a wage, though some don't like getting to work for 08:00, and sometimes you have a 21:00 finish followed by an 08:00 start. If you live outside West Brom this will mean maybe 6 hours sleep. Development - partly because of not being employed by BT I think, becoming anything more than a call centre advisor is tricky. There are some that are happy just coming to work that don't have my ambition, though.

    Manpower2018-04-06

    Manpower Response

    July 27, 2018Brand Leader, Manpower UK

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Our people are incredibly important to us and we always want to make sure the working environment is supportive of their development and career progression, when working with our clients. I am sorry that the changes didn't support what you've been told previously. I will share your feedback with the client and relevant Manpower account managers as part of our ongoing reviews into our on-site processes.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Massillon, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manpower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The application process is a breeze. They found me full-time employment very quickly. No hassle, just employment.

    Cons

    There are not any cons to address.

    Manpower2020-03-05
  3. "Great for foot in the door!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Freelancer - Wharehouse Worker in Brockville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Manpower for less than a year

    Pros

    Great communication and follow up. Quick placements. Timely scheduled direct payments. Temporary placements through to full time hire positions for those with the right mindset.

    Cons

    Work is work, but some onsite leaders can be obnoxious mostly due to lack of people skills training and stress of their jobs. This can lead to employee stress and be cause of the potential for accidents.

    Continue reading
    Manpower2020-02-04
  4. "Good Working Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Data Entry Clerk in Burlington, VT

    I worked at Manpower part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There was room to expand my role within the company, and room to get benefits.

    Cons

    The work hours were not always consistent. Personally, I enjoyed the flexibility added to my schedule due to this, but if I needed to work full time, I would have had some problems with it.

    Manpower2020-02-04
  5. "Great Job Great People , Awesome Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Coordinator in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manpower full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I've worked full time with Manpower & ManpowerGroup as a temp and permanent employee for 10+ years, and before that another long term job at another company started as a Manpower temp and became permanent for 10+ years. I've learned so much on the job, the people I've had the pleasure working with have been so amazing. Wonderful people who want you to succeed. If you work hard, do your job, have good attendance and come to work with a positive attitude , ready to do what it takes to the job, you will be rewarded and they will take notice. My only hope is to find another opportunity with Manpower where I have the ability to grow further in my career.

    Cons

    The only cons I'd say is that I wish more jobs would be temp to hire for temp positions. Also I wish better medical and dental benefits were offered for perm and temp employees . And for temp employees I would like to see some PTO offered or paid sick leave . As a working parent it's a very hard decision to make to stay home when you or your child is sick and then not get paid for that time off.

    Continue reading
    Manpower2020-01-14
  6. "I am a receptionist at Kraftheinz innovation center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Warrendale, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manpower for less than a year

    Pros

    I dont work there, but went thru them for employment. My experience with manpower has been nothing but positive.

    Cons

    My only con is waiting to work 1800 hours to get paid holidays. That is extremely long, considering that I'm employed full time and my coworkers get paid holidays. It makes paying my bills a struggle. It actually puts me in a position to seek better employment which doesn't include a temp agency and offers better pay, 401k, medical benefits, etc .

    Continue reading
    Manpower2019-12-27
  7. "Billy and Karla are ROCKSTARS!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Candidate Host - Google/YouTube in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manpower part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My team is amazing! I can always reach them and they respond to me promptly and they are super understanding when "life happens." I appreciate the fact that I am in constant contact with my recruiters, whereas most recruiters never check back with you after you start a position, unless it has to do with the position. There was a passing in my immediate family and my recruiters were so compassionate and understanding, I'm getting emotional just writing about it. It's very rare that you find a company and team that TRULY CARES! It's also very easy to do a great job when you have a great team supporting you.

    Cons

    I like my job so much, now I want it to be full-time None really fam, I'm happy lol

    Continue reading
    Manpower2019-12-14
  8. "ONe of the best temp agencies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Materail Handler in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manpower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Either if you're looking for extra income or are in school and can not compromise to an employer just yet, Manpower is an agency that provides you with the temporary stability of a full time income while you transition.

    Cons

    The contractors are in charge and are not always aware for the reason why a temporary employee is there helping them with their work load , which makes the temp agency hire temps in the first place. One must have a higher level of maturity or thick skin to be able to handle the rage coming out of permanent frustrated employees who asked for the temp agencies' aid to bring temporary laborers in the first place.

    Continue reading
    Manpower2019-12-05
  9. "Only thing that would"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Temp Worker in Henderson, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Manpower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They help you out as long as you show up for work and honest with them

    Cons

    I think they should give raises and paid time off and hoilday pay..... for the people that have been with them for longer than a year ...... because that show the temp that just because you are not full time with the company they you are working for does not we can not get hoilday paid just like they do when we show up to work the day before the day of or the next day I feel like that would SHOW your worker a lot and it would mean a lot because I have worked for 2 years as a temp to hire

    Continue reading
    Manpower2019-11-22
  10. "My first fulltime job thanks to manpower"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Services in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manpower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work many jobs and never workeda full time job until I experienced Manpower. They gave me my first full-time job, this is amazing program.

    Cons

    Need faster response when texting a question.

    Continue reading
    Manpower2019-10-11
Found 84 reviews