Maplin Electronics Employee Reviews about "head office"

Updated Sep 18, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 336 reviews

2.9
39%
Recommend to a Friend
13%
Approve of CEO
Maplin Electronics CEO Oliver Meakin
Oliver Meakin
89 Ratings
Pros
  • "Generous staff discount 25% sad they have gone(in 25 reviews)

  • "Work with great people sometimes(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Paid minimum wage for hard work(in 42 reviews)

  • "Head office don't know what they are doing(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "head office"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Sales advisor

      Jan 19, 2018 - Sales Advisor in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff discount, great work colleagues and manager,

      Cons

      not enough hours contract only 8hrs. Head office don't know what they are doing. Poor equipment. Low wages

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Bad leadership killed the company

      Sep 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great products, great people, focus on customer service

      Cons

      Bad upper managament, poor support teams in head office

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Will miss them a lot (the colleagues, not the customers)

      May 22, 2018 - Store Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good progression available for stand out staff that want it. 99% of your colleagues are lovely. Staff discount was more than adequate. Great place to learn about tech.

      Cons

      Dinosaur managers that were bitter and unwilling to adapt or leave the business. Almost clueless head office management that get by using "Buzz word" analogies to explain their direction.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fantastic Job - a crying shame it has to end

      May 2, 2018 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing team, full of character, skill and knowledge Working in an environment where the right solution is promoted over and above the one that made the most money

      Cons

      The inevitable price comparison - customers constantly demanding for us to price match against online items sold at next to no margin, or even at a loss, and still expecting high customer service and knowledge levels - how exactly do you expect to pay for that knowledge?? Poor investment decisions - was it really necessary to relocate to a London head office? With the impact on exchange rates after Brexit, was it really necessary to continue with Store of the Future rollouts and relocations when there was a clear and present challenge in the relative cost of purchasing stock?

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Angry review after 1.5 years of working.

      Apr 2, 2018 - Sales Assistant in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -You have to pay your bills. -Colleagues are friendly.

      Cons

      -Overpriced. -Staff prices are what retail prices should be. (Once I had to buy a network card in the next door company, because the staff price on identical product was higher than the next door retail price.) -Constant corporate values, in which nobody has an interest. Even managers understand that, but they also being pressed. -Products shall be protected by you! Personally! (You shall never risk your life with thugs! That's what they say. Also middle managers starting mental harassment if you don't do that.) My advice: risking your life is not worth minimum wage. -Treat people like idiots, expecting at the same time of excellent engineering skills and knowledge. (Offered generous 15GBP in-store voucher for creating big profit on dead day. Expected profit was 3 times higher than average.) -Setting up unachievable targets. Then being grumpy for not achieving them. -Rather hiring a nice pair of breasts to the head office, than taking own people with knowledge.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good Environment, Terrible Pay for Work Requirements

      Mar 6, 2018 - Retail Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Quite a fun place to work due to the management being reasonably relaxed in comparison to other stores, and there is a lot of product information available for colleagues to access online (supplied by Maplin head office).

      Cons

      - Awful pay, especially considering the specialist knowledge (in the fields of engineering, electronics and networking) required. Many customers ask for advice expecting you to have a degree in these areas, which makes it quite difficult for young employees to assist in all scenarios. - Lack of training (to the point of none).

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Store Manager

      Oct 18, 2017 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some great colleagues, some great products and honestly trying to help our customers and not just make money. The team I work with really really want to just do the best for our customers.

      Cons

      Current direction. Store managers have never had so much on their plates and have never had less resources to keep these plates spinning. A ban on overtime and recruitment during the build up to and the whole of peak (Xmas) trading is madness. Now I get that times are hard in retail I really do but asking a manager to lead his team to target hitting greatness with nothing but goodwill during your busiest months just feels like it was a plan devised by people not on the front line. Money at Maplin has been wasted for decades by head office and now it’s the stores and our fantastic teams who take the hit. Oh and they just cancelled (sorry postponed to the New Year) all our Christmas Meals/Nights out!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Maplin Electronics Response

      Retail Director

      It is very saddening that you feel this way when you have been with the company for such a long time. We do acknowledge that there have been a lot of changes which have directly impacted our store colleagues recently and are fully aware that without our colleagues in retail, we most definitely wouldn’t have been able to land some key strategic initiatives. Maybe there is more that we could have done to recognise this however, we are currently looking at a new reward and recognition structure which will enable more regular real time recognition to be given to colleagues at Maplin. I would hope that you and your teams understand the reasons why we are making these changes and the ultimate benefits these will make in the long term to our customers and colleagues. I would however, if you think there are things we still need to change or you have any feedback on recent changes, encourage you to discuss this with your line manager and feed this back constructively. If you would like to discuss this directly with me I am also more than happy to set up some time to see what I can do to support you further. Don’t forget that you also have your local DSM and DM who I know would be more than happy to have a discussion also. I hope that you will continue to stick with us and see the success and difference that you and your team will have made to Maplin. Thanks, John

    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Not a fun place anymore

      Oct 1, 2017 - Sales Advisor in Birmingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with, knowledgeable, and helpful. The odd customer makes your day better too.

      Cons

      Way too many cons. Right now is an absolute terrible time to work for Maplin. There's a mass of managers leaving because of the ever increasing unreasonable targets. Over-time is being dropped, stock is being taken out of stores reducing availability, we're running stores on minimum numbers; all because head office overspent on trying to modernise all the stores at once. Big stores have the same amount to spend on staff as the smaller ones. Targets are set way too high, 3k days used to be good days, now they're disappointing. Lack of stock, lack of staff, and the lack training with increased stress has made the job that used to feel great to help people has forced lots of us to rush customers and not give them the service we once famously gave. Staff discount used to be great, so did bonuses. Now 5-25% instead of the 25% on everything. Lots of products without discount. Bonuses used to be around the £100 mark, now for most staff if you're extremely lucky it will be around £20. Rotas are not planned as they once was. It was expected to be around four weeks in advance. Now its around a week. Managers can't plan for the increase in targets. When to expect the unexpected massive price changes in the middle of a promo.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee

      A rubbish place to work.

      Sep 29, 2015 - Sales Team Leader in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. This place is literally devoid of any pros worth mentioning.

      Cons

      The pay is terrible respective to the amount of sales and troubleshooting knowledge you must have. Managers are idiots who have become so demoralized by the company's brainwashing that they eat, sleep and breathe maplin and are devoid of any sympathy or humanity. There is no compassion here for anyone's issues, circumstances or problems. None of the staff really want to be there which explains why they are all so miserable and spend the day glancing at their watches. Head office looms overhead wagging their finger about complaining why sales were so low, why multisales are dropping, why this, why that.. .without the faintest idea what problems a real high street store has. In essence, they are basing their criticism and targets around a computer model, not reality. As 90% of the staff are male in every store, women get ogled at, harassed and marginalized and pretty much serve as nothing but eye candy at the till for middle aged no-lifers to drool over while they bag up their resistors and diodes. It's pathetic.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good, but not what great looks like

      Jun 29, 2015 - Sales Team Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Technology, customer interaction, trialing products, great exclusivity to new products, clear values, well structured business, higher management is fair and consistent, great head office team, CEO is a great guy who is very inspirational.

      Cons

      Salary is a big one, too many responsibilities and very high accountability. Mundane at times with repeated questions. Store management lacks direction and initiative and will happily take your ideas for their own. Poor rota planning, sometimes can only find out what your working the day before. The biggest con is as Saturday is a longer day if you don't work the shorter Sunday alongside you will be working 41 hours a week, which is 1 hour that you don't get paid for and are unable to take as lieu.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Maplin Electronics Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Maplin Electronics? Share Your Experiences

    Maplin Electronics logo
    or