Marathon Oil Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Marathon Oil Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
46%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Marathon Oil CEO Lee Tillman
Lee Tillman
120 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance was fantastic(in 48 reviews)

  • "They pay well and have a 9/80 work schedule(in 37 reviews)

Cons
  • "Company needs offshore exploration success(in 9 reviews)

  • "The new management does not value works done by geo-scientists(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Marathon oil are not 23rd best employer in top 100 Times review for nothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Offshore Process Operator in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Oil

    Pros

    Good people to work for !. Enough said.......

    Cons

    None so far. But need to be competitive salary wise with other similar employers.

    Advice to Management

    More feed back about what's going on future wise at staff level would be nice.

    Marathon Oil2008-08-31
  2. "A good company with a bad rota"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instrument Technician in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great crew and a great management approach

    Cons

    3/3 shift rota. Poor offshore facilities.

    Advice to Management

    Change the rota

    Marathon Oil2019-07-15
  3. "Aging platform"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Technician in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Oil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    On the rig there is a good bunch of guys, great banter

    Cons

    Find the accomidation old and tatty due to them being old platforms, bad food.

    Marathon Oil2019-06-14
  4. "Offshore Production Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Technician in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Oil full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Money and time off. The people I work with are a great bunch of blokes. Very friendly.

    Cons

    They changed rota from 2 weeks on 3 weeks off to 3 on and 3 of. Very long time away from family. We had no choice. This is extremely tiring and there is a lot of depression out here. People getting very down.

    Advice to Management

    Move back to better rota. As is has caused 2 people to be sick due to mental health problems, and countless others to have extreme family problems and divorce. Moral is terrible here.

    Marathon Oil2019-04-30
  5. "Marathon Oil offshore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Offshore Production Technician in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Oil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits package

    Cons

    Have a tendency to overcomplicate the job at hand and expect too much from their employees

    Advice to Management

    Have a more active role on the ground

    Marathon Oil2019-04-06
  6. "Overall a good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time

    Pros

    Good salary, bonus, and benefits

    Cons

    Poor culture at times from Corporate management

    Marathon Oil2017-10-21
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Amazing company ruined single handedly by CEO and CFO!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time

    Pros

    Great people - except new senior leadership team that new CEO brought in to surround himself with self praise.

    Cons

    It really was an amazing company, but the CEO has destroyed it by his incredible decisions to focus only on the US shale play (great job Lee!). You used to be able to speak up and give opinions, you now lose your job for doing so!

    Advice to Management

    Change Lee and JR, but I really think that too much damage has already been done for the company to survive. They can and do blame the oil price, but just look at how we compare to our peers - although we really don't have any peers anymore!

    Marathon Oil2016-01-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "oh no"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Technician in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    the management changes over the past 5 years have not benefitted the company it seems to have lost it's directions

    Cons

    To much experience and knowledge has been lost in such a short space of time.

    Advice to Management

    all new systems are not always the better ones

    Marathon Oil2015-11-30
  9. "Mixed experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work with some great people on interesting projects, value driven, - small enough company to 'get involved'.

    Cons

    Do not handle change well especially in terms of communication, as well as great people there are some non team players who are difficult to work with, a US focus means international often gets ignored.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate and listen!

    Marathon Oil2015-04-28
  10. "Drilling Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Drilling Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, opportunities, internship & recruiting program.

    Cons

    Cyclical business that layoffs are a regular part of.

    Marathon Oil2019-12-10
Found 275 reviews