Marathon Oil Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Marathon Oil Reviews

Updated 14 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 297 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Marathon Oil CEO Lee Tillman
Lee Tillman
125 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Company needs offshore exploration success(in 9 reviews)

  • "The new management does not value works done by geo-scientists(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Technical Safety Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Oil

    Pros

    Lots of exposure to a variety of tasks. Offshore experience gained

    Cons

    Few jobs opportunities post university

    Marathon Oil2018-10-26
  2. "A good company with a bad rota"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instrument Technician in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great crew and a great management approach

    Cons

    3/3 shift rota. Poor offshore facilities.

    Advice to Management

    Change the rota

    Marathon Oil2019-07-15
  3. "Aging platform"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Technician in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Oil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    On the rig there is a good bunch of guys, great banter

    Cons

    Find the accomidation old and tatty due to them being old platforms, bad food.

    Marathon Oil2019-06-14
  4. "Offshore Production Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Technician in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Oil full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Money and time off. The people I work with are a great bunch of blokes. Very friendly.

    Cons

    They changed rota from 2 weeks on 3 weeks off to 3 on and 3 of. Very long time away from family. We had no choice. This is extremely tiring and there is a lot of depression out here. People getting very down.

    Advice to Management

    Move back to better rota. As is has caused 2 people to be sick due to mental health problems, and countless others to have extreme family problems and divorce. Moral is terrible here.

    Marathon Oil2019-04-30
  5. "Marathon Oil offshore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Offshore Production Technician in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Oil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits package

    Cons

    Have a tendency to overcomplicate the job at hand and expect too much from their employees

    Advice to Management

    Have a more active role on the ground

    Marathon Oil2019-04-06
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Oil

    Pros

    Friendly workers and management in the business

    Cons

    Future in the North Sea doubtul

    Marathon Oil2018-06-22
  7. "Overall a good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time

    Pros

    Good salary, bonus, and benefits

    Cons

    Poor culture at times from Corporate management

    Marathon Oil2017-10-21
  8. "Accounts Payable Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Oil

    Pros

    Marathon treat their staff well and review the workload of individuals within a team and balance the work amongst all team members. They provide opportunities for staff to retrain within the company.

    Cons

    I do not have any negative opinions for this company. Like all organisations, they have to find cost efficiencies in today's low oil price environment.

    Advice to Management

    I believe you respect employees' work life balance and acknowledge when an individual adds value to the business.

    Marathon Oil2017-08-29
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Amazing company ruined single handedly by CEO and CFO!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time

    Pros

    Great people - except new senior leadership team that new CEO brought in to surround himself with self praise.

    Cons

    It really was an amazing company, but the CEO has destroyed it by his incredible decisions to focus only on the US shale play (great job Lee!). You used to be able to speak up and give opinions, you now lose your job for doing so!

    Advice to Management

    Change Lee and JR, but I really think that too much damage has already been done for the company to survive. They can and do blame the oil price, but just look at how we compare to our peers - although we really don't have any peers anymore!

    Marathon Oil2016-01-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "oh no"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Technician in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    the management changes over the past 5 years have not benefitted the company it seems to have lost it's directions

    Cons

    To much experience and knowledge has been lost in such a short space of time.

    Advice to Management

    all new systems are not always the better ones

    Marathon Oil2015-11-30
Found 297 reviews