Marie Curie Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Marie Curie Reviews

Updated 7 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Marie Curie CEO Jane Collins (no image)
Jane Collins
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "A Good cause , meet nice people(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great cause, really helps people who are at end of life(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management are not pleasant, or respectful(in 7 reviews)

  • "We’re at the very top of the corporate pyramid we call a charity(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Belsize Park, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Marie Curie part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Lovely staff - Easy and flexible hours - Enjoyment of volunteering

    Cons

    - Difficult Customers - Theft in store

    Marie Curie2019-09-07
  2. "Okayish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Scrum Master 

    I have been working at Marie Curie full-time

    Pros

    Can’t think of anything

    Cons

    Understaffed always pressured with more work

    Advice to Management

    Dobetter in recruitment

    Marie Curie2019-09-04
  3. "Great teamwork and orderly practice!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England

    I worked at Marie Curie part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a lot of different skills to learn at these retail outlets, this is one of the few charity stores that I have known to have structured methods which are used in all shops. Often staff can carry out a variety of jobs in the stockroom and on the shop floor so plenty of variety in an average day. Great for learning about retail from a more professional business.

    Cons

    Can be overwhelmed if there are not enough volunteers to help.

    Advice to Management

    Keep using professional methods, it gives each shop a high street feel rather than other charity stores than can be like a jumble sale or car boot event.

    Marie Curie2019-08-30
  4. "MC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Fleet Manager 

    I have been working at Marie Curie full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working for a good cause

    Cons

    Environment a bit too relaxed sometimes

    Marie Curie2019-08-02
  5. "great cause"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Executive 

    I worked at Marie Curie full-time

    Pros

    amazing people, great cause

    Cons

    quite a lot of contractors on very high salaries rather than retaining permanent staff

    Marie Curie2019-07-31
  6. "Set for change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Philanthropy Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marie Curie full-time

    Pros

    Exciting opportunities for change, excellent leadership.

    Cons

    Poor leadership locally, disjointed in parts, poor internal communications, lots f chiefs and not enough Indians able to get on with things, slow moving, reactive.

    Advice to Management

    Get stuff done!

    Marie Curie2019-08-01
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marie Curie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues. Great culture. Great ‘product’

    Cons

    No room for career development

    Advice to Management

    Need greater staff development in future

    Marie Curie2019-07-28
  8. "Poor workplace culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marie Curie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A wonderful cause with enthusiastic volunteers and supporters.

    Cons

    Very high staff turnover, no induction into the charity, and inadequate training seriously limited the scope of the work we could do. Managers were equally affected by these problems but did not speak out to more senior colleagues, which meant that the problems only worsened.

    Advice to Management

    The staff on the front line are dedicated and can offer insight into what works and what does not; please listen to them.

    Marie Curie2019-07-26
  9. "Bullying Senior Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Marie Curie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Met lots of different people. Had some fun times

    Cons

    They demand so much with very little support. Staff not valued or thanked for hard work. Controlling Management.

    Advice to Management

    Value your staff and stop the high turn over. Deal with bullying in the work place.

    Marie Curie2019-07-23
  10. "Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Care Coordinator in Newcastle, England

    I have been working at Marie Curie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rewarding, lovely place to work

    Cons

    Stressful, hard to get to if don’t drive

    Marie Curie2019-06-22
Found 70 reviews