Marie Curie Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Marie Curie Reviews

Updated 10 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Marie Curie Chief Executive Jane Collins (no image)
Jane Collins
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "it's a beautiful feeling working for a good cause(in 9 reviews)

  • "Great cause, really helps people who are at end of life(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "You don’t want your voice to be heard by senior management(in 8 reviews)

  • "The charity can be reserved in their approach due to the nature of our services(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great charity to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Fundraiser in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marie Curie part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great team enivronment - high level of support from managers - very competitive pay - flexible working hours

    Cons

    - targets can be stressful

    Marie Curie2020-03-10
  2. "All over the map"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Administration Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Marie Curie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to help the patients.

    Cons

    Extremely bureaucratic and bloated. Vague company strategy.

    Marie Curie2020-03-03
  3. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Downpatrick, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marie Curie part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good to meet people Nice to work for free sense of achievement and satisfaction

    Cons

    Can be boring when shop is quiet

    Marie Curie2020-02-25
  4. "Friendly feel good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Digital Channels and Development in Vauxhall, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marie Curie full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A shared responsibility to provide the best end of life care possible, no matter the individuals role Always lots going on and to get stuck into, starting to get more progressive and innovative in solutions around communications and fundraising Good working relationships and sense of pride to do the job well Good work/life balance and culture of flexible working, hours and at home to accommodate personal circumstances Being Digital we are able to react quickly and look at exciting solutions to meet consumer needs Opportunity to get involved in lots of different projects supporting Information and Support, Fundraising and Marketing

    Cons

    It can get very busy with a lack of direction around priorities which means people do get pulled around on different projects The charity can be reserved in their approach due to the nature of our services There can be a high staff turn over due to the flat nature of the organisation, not so much in Digital

    Continue reading
    Marie Curie2020-02-10
  5. "Poor support for staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marie Curie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues Brilliant for looking after patients Senior managers have very good intentions

    Cons

    HR support awful Sickness policy too generous Does not manage bad and incompetent staff Some staff abuse the sickness policy Staff bully managers Disconnect of senior managers in London to all other regions Wasting money Little recognition of any staff that are not clinical Pay is extremely poor for the workload

    Continue reading
    Marie Curie2020-02-08
  6. "Lovely company to work for, very supportive team and working for a great cause"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Website Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marie Curie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a really great atmosphere working at Marie Curie, everyone is very friendly and driven to support the greater cause. Working hours are flexible and I can work from home when I like. I have a really supportive team and management. I get to work across the organization, be involved in different working groups. I feel my opinion is always respected and valid. They are really supportive when it comes to mental health and wellness, which I have never experienced before within a company.

    Cons

    Dated ways of working Slow-moving projects

    Marie Curie2020-01-30
  7. "charity shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marie Curie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    it's a beautiful feeling working for a good cause

    Cons

    it really hard to progress within the organisation

    Marie Curie2020-01-30
  8. "Fulfilling work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Healthcare Assistant in Dumfries, Scotland
    Recommends

    I worked at Marie Curie part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with patients and families, coworkers

    Cons

    Substantial training, mainly night work.

    Continue reading
    Marie Curie2020-01-05
  9. "I worked at Marie Curie less than a year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Fundraiser in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marie Curie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The hospices are incredible The nurses, doctors and health care staff are incredible The service that Marie curie provides My manager and close team Matthew the new CEO has great vision, the staff under him let him down

    Cons

    As a charity, Marie Curie does incredible things however the way that it treats its employees does not align. I have worked for a number of organisations since graduating but Marie Curie is the first charity that I’ve worked for where they have 0 desire to take care of their employees. I cannot speak for the whole of Marie Curie as I worked in the Community Fundraising department, but if you are considering a job in Community Fundraising for Marie Curie please go elsewhere! Unless: 1. You want to work for an organisation with 0 internal comms, nobody talks to each other, nobody has any idea what other teams are doing. 2. You want to be underpaid with little chance of a pay rise/ progression unless you stay in the same role for 15 years. 3. You never want to be thanked for your hard work. 4. You don’t care about your mental health and well being (because Marie Curie sure don’t) 5. You don’t want your voice to be heard by senior management. 6. You enjoy repetitive processes where trying new / fresh ideas is frowned upon. 7. You enjoy working for a reactive charity who only change their ways of working/ outdated policies when their reputation is at stake. 8. You enjoy being completely overworked during the months of Feb- April possibly working every single day to maybe get a thank you from senior management and your target to be raised for the next year. Please note - my close team and manager were absolutely incredible so this post does not include them. I hope this helps anybody considering working for Marie Curie. Think about your mental health and well-being before accepting a job there.

    Continue reading
    Marie Curie2020-01-29
  10. "Appalling management and working conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marie Curie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's at least doing worthwhile work

    Cons

    Aggressive culture Very wasteful of donated money Lack of leadership or ability from heads of department Huge workload Poor salary

    Continue reading
    Marie Curie2020-01-29
Found 89 reviews