Marie Curie Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Marie Curie Reviews

Updated 26 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
40%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Marie Curie CEO Jane Collins (no image)
Jane Collins
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "A Good cause , meet nice people(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great cause, really helps people who are at end of life(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management are not pleasant, or respectful(in 7 reviews)

  • "We’re at the very top of the corporate pyramid we call a charity(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing Company to work for and amazing colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist/Administrative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marie Curie full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is really lovely and caring, genuinely care about the work they do

    Cons

    As receptionist there wasn't always much for me to do

    Advice to Management

    Stay being great x

    Marie Curie2019-10-22
  2. "A good charity to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends

    I worked at Marie Curie full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance and lovely people to work with.

    Cons

    Not much available on training.

    Marie Curie2019-11-26
  3. "Good Intentions, poor processes, awful HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Analyst 

    I worked at Marie Curie full-time

    Pros

    Most colleagues are good people, with semi good intentions.

    Cons

    Very siloed working. Very poor documentation across all teams. Lack of communication even within departments. Very pool transparency. Some ground level staff get paid next to nothing, and yet management are still surprised when performance is poor and turnover is high. HR processes and communication is the worst I've ever experienced. Have not had a single good experience with a single member of the HR team.... Constant chasing up, HR completely ignoring emails and messages, regularly not showing up for scheduled meetings without warning, and often providing wrong information

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Theres not much point as noone ever takes notice of these complaints on these sites, and things will go on as they are.

    Marie Curie2019-10-31
  4. "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I worked at Marie Curie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing at all is good

    Cons

    Everything is very bad. You've been warned

    Marie Curie2019-10-29
  5. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Belsize Park, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Marie Curie part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Lovely staff - Easy and flexible hours - Enjoyment of volunteering

    Cons

    - Difficult Customers - Theft in store

    Marie Curie2019-09-07
  6. "Okayish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Scrum Master 

    I have been working at Marie Curie full-time

    Pros

    Can’t think of anything

    Cons

    Understaffed always pressured with more work

    Advice to Management

    Dobetter in recruitment

    Marie Curie2019-09-04
  7. "Great teamwork and orderly practice!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England

    I worked at Marie Curie part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a lot of different skills to learn at these retail outlets, this is one of the few charity stores that I have known to have structured methods which are used in all shops. Often staff can carry out a variety of jobs in the stockroom and on the shop floor so plenty of variety in an average day. Great for learning about retail from a more professional business.

    Cons

    Can be overwhelmed if there are not enough volunteers to help.

    Advice to Management

    Keep using professional methods, it gives each shop a high street feel rather than other charity stores than can be like a jumble sale or car boot event.

    Marie Curie2019-08-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "great cause"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Executive 

    I worked at Marie Curie full-time

    Pros

    amazing people, great cause

    Cons

    quite a lot of contractors on very high salaries rather than retaining permanent staff

    Marie Curie2019-07-31
  9. "MC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Fleet Manager 

    I have been working at Marie Curie full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working for a good cause

    Cons

    Environment a bit too relaxed sometimes

    Marie Curie2019-08-02
  10. "Set for change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Philanthropy Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marie Curie full-time

    Pros

    Exciting opportunities for change, excellent leadership.

    Cons

    Poor leadership locally, disjointed in parts, poor internal communications, lots f chiefs and not enough Indians able to get on with things, slow moving, reactive.

    Advice to Management

    Get stuff done!

    Marie Curie2019-08-01
Found 74 reviews