Marie Curie Employee Reviews about "charity"

Updated Apr 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 of over 153 reviews

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Marie Curie Chief Executive Jane Collins (no image)
Jane Collins
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great cause, great culture, great colleagues(in 10 reviews)

  • "it's a beautiful feeling working for a good cause(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "You don’t want your voice to be heard by senior management(in 8 reviews)

  • "The charity can be reserved in their approach due to the nature of our services(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "charity"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Friendly feel good place to work

      Feb 10, 2020 - Head of Digital Channels and Development in Vauxhall, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A shared responsibility to provide the best end of life care possible, no matter the individuals role Always lots going on and to get stuck into, starting to get more progressive and innovative in solutions around communications and fundraising Good working relationships and sense of pride to do the job well Good work/life balance and culture of flexible working, hours and at home to accommodate personal circumstances Being Digital we are able to react quickly and look at exciting solutions to meet consumer needs Opportunity to get involved in lots of different projects supporting Information and Support, Fundraising and Marketing

      Cons

      It can get very busy with a lack of direction around priorities which means people do get pulled around on different projects The charity can be reserved in their approach due to the nature of our services There can be a high staff turn over due to the flat nature of the organisation, not so much in Digital

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good cause but a continuous money sink, wasting charity money on contractors/agencies with a constant blame culture

      Apr 9, 2020 - QA Manager in Vauxhall, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good cause that really helps those living with a terminal illness. Flexible working hours properly introduced in the last year which is great for those who are parents or provide care.

      Cons

      In my (almost) 5 years I have seen the same products re-written every year for little or no financial return. The cost of these projects is extortionate and quite disgusting when you consider the main revenue stream is from public donations and fundraising. Contractors are bought in for months at a time at a high cost and delivering an ok product which will then be written again the following year. Agencies are kept on retainer and used monthly at 4x the cost of what an internal development team would be but investment is never made in an internal team. Therefore there is a high turnover of staff each year and the domain/company knowledge is lost every few months. This creates more bugs, poor quality products and leads again to ... re-building the same products (but better apparently)! But there is usually a new member of staff leading this who will then leave the following year. There is a training budget that is never used on internal staff. There is no career progression or opportunities and therefore you have to leave to get a better role or more money. The project planning is poor and only short term considerations are made leading to money loss and poor products. There is a big blame culture, I have seen lots of bullying, people paid several months notice to leave the company and people in paid employment when they are not doing there job because that's easier than a disciplinary with HR. In 5 years, I saw a couple peaks where the team was happy and then key staff left, the problems began again and the morale continued to be low. In 5 years, I actually had 6 different tech leads, my line management changed 3 times , my department structure changed 3 times with two rounds of redundancies. That should give an indication as to how the upper management run things and how the main issues are never addressed. They are aware that each department works in silos's, causing planning and build issues, there's a new plan to address it every year but none of the staff are ever consulted on this so the key problems remain. While the leadership of my team did improve dramatically in the last year of employment under a new lead, the development team still did not feel valued and all decisions around development were made by management and non technical staff rather than consulting the experts. All the "good" work where the development team could remain up-skilled with the current industry standard, were always passed out to internal agencies. The development team were also paid vastly less than their equals in the industry (you'd expect a little less money at a charity) but were always expected to output 3x the amount of work. Roles were also allocated without them being made public internally for application. I have long list of constructive cons but no one asked me for an exit interview in order to improve the overall running of the company. If you want to work somewhere were you get paid for little work or paid little to do a lot of work, it's probably for you. If you want a challenge and to be listened to and valued, you should probably look elsewhere.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      I worked at Marie Curie less than a year

      Jan 29, 2020 - Community Fundraiser in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The hospices are incredible The nurses, doctors and health care staff are incredible The service that Marie curie provides My manager and close team Matthew the new CEO has great vision, the staff under him let him down

      Cons

      As a charity, Marie Curie does incredible things however the way that it treats its employees does not align. I have worked for a number of organisations since graduating but Marie Curie is the first charity that I’ve worked for where they have 0 desire to take care of their employees. I cannot speak for the whole of Marie Curie as I worked in the Community Fundraising department, but if you are considering a job in Community Fundraising for Marie Curie please go elsewhere! Unless: 1. You want to work for an organisation with 0 internal comms, nobody talks to each other, nobody has any idea what other teams are doing. 2. You want to be underpaid with little chance of a pay rise/ progression unless you stay in the same role for 15 years. 3. You never want to be thanked for your hard work. 4. You don’t care about your mental health and well being (because Marie Curie sure don’t) 5. You don’t want your voice to be heard by senior management. 6. You enjoy repetitive processes where trying new / fresh ideas is frowned upon. 7. You enjoy working for a reactive charity who only change their ways of working/ outdated policies when their reputation is at stake. 8. You enjoy being completely overworked during the months of Feb- April possibly working every single day to maybe get a thank you from senior management and your target to be raised for the next year. Please note - my close team and manager were absolutely incredible so this post does not include them. I hope this helps anybody considering working for Marie Curie. Think about your mental health and well-being before accepting a job there.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Poor workplace culture

      Jul 26, 2019 - Administrative Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A wonderful cause with enthusiastic volunteers and supporters.

      Cons

      Very high staff turnover, no induction into the charity, and inadequate training seriously limited the scope of the work we could do. Managers were equally affected by these problems but did not speak out to more senior colleagues, which meant that the problems only worsened.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee

      10+ yrs community

      Aug 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Patients, patients, patients!! A rewarding job.

      Cons

      In the beginning I felt valued for doing a job that I loved. We’re at the very top of the corporate pyramid we call a charity. Our wages have been frozen for years now it has been deemed that we deserve a megre 1% increase which does not go far towards the upkeep of the cars necessary to get us anywhere up to 25 miles for a shift. The rewards in this job certainly aren’t financial & not lavished on us by praise from above within the company. The truth is despite all senior management have thrown (& in my years I’ve seen more than I can list in this box) we do this job to the best of our abilities DESPITE not because of them. So for me the emphasis will remain on the patients. They are the reason I turn out at night. They are the reason I’ve sacrificed so much of my own life working unsociable hours, weekends & bank holidays. As far as Marie Curie as an employer is concerned I am 10 a penny.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A fantastic cause, but appalling employer

      Apr 8, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A wonderful cause, helping people at their most vulnerable. Committed, collaborative and caring colleagues.

      Cons

      Extremely poor senior management. No induction to the organisation - you could be working anywhere. Low staff morale and high staff turnover (except at senior level). Unrealistically long hours required to manage enormous, unfluctuating workload. Shabby working conditions (it's a charity, so you don't expect luxury, but 'basic' doesn't sum up quite how tired everything is).

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      it is a business and not a charity

      Mar 8, 2018 - Facilities in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work colleagues and local management. Hard work but enjoyable and can make a difference to people with terminal illnesses.

      Cons

      Unfortunately Head Office treat the charity as a business and it has got progressively worse over the past 3 or 4 years. The feeling of working as one big family has been eroded and working conditions have got progressively worse. Such a shame and have started to look for another job.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Contractor

      Best job in the world

      Jan 26, 2017 - Senior Healthcare Assistant Palliative Care in Grampian, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Marie Curie do what they say on the tin. they look after their employees they give families a service second to none. I would work for them for no money as the work is so rewarding and very very humbling. I have had more training and guidance from Marie Curie along with opportunity to progress within the Charity than I was given working with both local council and private agencies in the Homecare sector.

      Cons

      Not enough nurses as it is a Charity not funded by goverment or local goverment. Tired of being called Macmillan nurse both in the local media and by the families as they have better media support coverage as financial supported by local NHS.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Marie Curie Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Marie Curie? Share Your Experiences

    Marie Curie logo
    or